Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DAFT KYLIE!
Hot on the heels of her career saving LIGHT YEARS album/tour, Lady K releases her finest album to date. Highlights include the glorious first single, CANT GET YOU OUT OF MY HEAD, and the Daft Punk-esque LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT...perhaps her greatest moment, ever! While the album relishes some of the disco gloss of LIGHT YEARS, FEVER finds Kylie Minogue discovering and...
Published on 20 Sept. 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Fine Album!!!
This Album by Kylie sees a change in style, going less disco. The tracks are the same as the international version plus only one new song found also on 'Can't get you out of my head'(single). Butterfly is found on her 'Light Years' album.

All the songs are worth a listen, but I would recommend fans to buy the original version and then buy the first single...
Published on 8 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DAFT KYLIE!, 20 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
Hot on the heels of her career saving LIGHT YEARS album/tour, Lady K releases her finest album to date. Highlights include the glorious first single, CANT GET YOU OUT OF MY HEAD, and the Daft Punk-esque LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT...perhaps her greatest moment, ever! While the album relishes some of the disco gloss of LIGHT YEARS, FEVER finds Kylie Minogue discovering and defining a sound all her own. Future singles HAVE to include LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT, stomping jammer IN YOUR EYES, and the sexy, vocally stunning title track. It is finally appropriate to say look out, Madonna...Kylie Minogue IS the Queen of Pop. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't get her out of your head, 22 July 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
Kylie Minogue re-broke into pop stardom with "Fever," her eighth studio album. And it's somehow not surprising -- "Fever" is infectious, dancey and perpetually catchy. Despite the "lovey" tone of the songs, Kylie's album is dancepop in its purest form, and is probably the best example of the type.

It starts off on a rather middling note with the fast-paced "More More More," before launching into the sparkling "Love At First Sight," a more complex dance song that is surprisingly infectious. ("And everything went from wrong to right/the stars came up and filled up the sky/the music you were playin' nearly blew my mind/it was love at first sight!")

Things coast on from there, including the infuritatingly entertaining "Can't Get You Out of My Head," the funk-edged "Give It To Me," and the sultry "Love Affair." She also dabbles in softer electropop, in songs like the swoony "Fragile" and the swirling "In Your Eyes," both of which turn down the tempo and up the emotion.

It's always sort of nice when a guilty pleasure doesn't pretend to be anything but what it is. And "Fever" has no such pretensions. It's a fun, slightly suggestive album that you can dance to, with the forgettable lyrics of dancepop, and some truly enjoyable beats that have a tendency to stick to your mind like old bubble gum.

Even her most ardent fans can't claim that Kylie has a great voice -- she has a voice that is lightweight, wispy and pretty. It matches the music, and she knows how to use it, never overtaxing the ol' vocal chords. In other words, no Britney-style chord-straining yowls or screeches. Rather than exceptional vocal quality, Kylie gets props for knowing her limits, and working with them.

And the dancepop of "Fever" also gets props for unusual complexity. Rather than repetitive beats repeated on every song, several songs from "Fever" switch tempo, switch synths, and have their highs and lows. There are some distinct flavours to some of the songs, such as funk and a bit of disco, which add extra spice and memorability.

"Fever" is a guilty pleasure, but at least it's a fun, entertaining one. One of Kylie's best, and definitely worth "spinning around."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEVER ? HEATWAVE? YES , YOU WILL BE BURING UP, 2 Oct. 2001
By 
drew@glive.co.uk (london/highbury UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
being a kylie fan since "i should be so lucky" and growing up with her music ,she never failed to come up with something to knock me off my feet but this time ...wow... she really hit me off my feet !!!
the first single "can't get you out of my head" ( currently on its way to be the best selling single in the uk for 2001) gives u an idea what to expect from the whole album !
from the US garage disco style of "more more more" to the modjo-esque "love at first sight" u then glide over to her winning single "can't get you..." .then comes "fever" the title track ( no not a cover version , there are non on here ) . by the time u reached the next tune "give it to me " u probably already switched on the disco lights and dance under ur mini discoball in ur livingroom ! but behold ...what is that ? the album is getting better? u bet it is !!!!
it would take more space on here then permitted to tell u about all the tracks on here :-)
so are the other rewiews on here right by saying its her best album yet ?
it sure fever is !! with x-mas round the corner u have the perfect office party /home party /party record of the year and the next !!
so vicky B go home and look after brooklin ,cheers :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album!, 8 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
I had high expectations of this album, and when I first listened to it one or two tracks really stood out, but the rest seemed a little bland. However, after about three listens...wow! It's great...definitely Kylie's finest hour. There isn't a bad song on the album, they all eventually grab you and you just can't get them out of your head...(oops sorry that was a little predictable!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEVER, 11 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
I have to cut straight to the point fever is an out standing album, Kylie had her work cut out after "Light Years" but boy she done it. The classic Kylie disco element is still there but updated with funky electro tunes, she is a true princess of pop constantly adapting, moving and improving while still keeping the elements that we adore about her! While you have all the original tracks which are out standing on this limited addition you also get some amazing mixes including "cant get blue Monday out of my head", "in your eyes"- Roger Sanchez mix and best of all "Come Into My World" remixed by Fischerspooner.
This album can not be ignored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80's disco-tastic!, 13 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
This has got to be the best kylie album yet, i've just heard it and i was singing along straight away. Its starts on a great 80's disco sound and just doesnt stop, every track is up-beat, catchy and fantastic. It carrys on where light years left off, the best tracks have got to be 'love at first sight' which has a got a sort of modjo sound to it and 'come into my world' which was wrote and produced by the team that did 'cant get u out of my head' and it is every bit as good!! More, more, more sings kylie and so will u by the end of this album, more, more, more kylie please!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly Good, 7 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
My 13 year old daughter bought this home at the weekend and I thought I was in for another hour of the same nausea I experience with Britney Spears, Spice Girls etc. To my suprise, this is an absolutely brilliant album, probably the best album of the year. Perhaps Im just tired of all the doom and gloom in the world, but this album made me happy for a change. It has much more to recommend it than this however and is more than a throwaway pop record. Every track has something of interest even though it is pure dance music. Ive always liked the best in dance music over the years and this is right up there with the best of them. Buy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in business!, 9 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
I've never felt the need to write a review before but this album has proved to be an exception. Fever has Miss Minogue back in blistering form and producing songs most acts would kill for. While the majority of pop albums today have the requisite "couple of tear jerking over blown ballards", Fever travels down a completely different route. Every song is upbeat, catchy and most importantly fun. Stand out tracks have got to be Love at first sight, Fever, In your eyes and the current number one single, Can't get you out my head. Buy this CD, listen to how pop music should be made and enjoy yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Record of the year?, 26 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
This got to be the record of the year! Once again Kylie is burning us up with FEVER! This is a Great collection with "Come into my world" and "In your eyes" big favourates on this CD. Most of the songs take time to get used to, but after a while you can't get them out of your head! There is probable more than 5 songs on this CD to be future singles by the "Queen of pop" and once again she's outdone the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I like this!, 9 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
Have I totally gone crazy?? I usually can't stick pop or dance music, but for some reason I decided to go ahead and buy Kylie's latest offering. I suppose it's because "Love At First Sight" and "CGYOMH" are brilliant singles- and so is the rest of the album
There is a mixture of different songs, all strongly influenced by 70s dance beats. The best song for me is err...all of them except "Fragile", which is quite boring.
My favourite pop album of all time (well, apart from Britney, it's the only one I have!), definetly worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fever
Fever by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews