Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Is Here
It's strange how some albums just take longer to like. And it's strange how, reading the other reviews, it seems to happen to others as well! Often though, the ones that do take time, stay for a long time, too. I love this album! Walsh's vocals are staggering. They're strong, emotive, gritty, unique... In the last track, Coming Down, he reaches a sound that's a completely...
Published on 17 July 2006 by Justine K

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Personal Choice
It's OK as a reasonably cheap purchase but it's down to personal preference and this is neither very good or very bad. some tracks are good but others not to my taste.
Published 15 months ago by kelvyn,Bromsgrove


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Is Here, 17 July 2006
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
It's strange how some albums just take longer to like. And it's strange how, reading the other reviews, it seems to happen to others as well! Often though, the ones that do take time, stay for a long time, too. I love this album! Walsh's vocals are staggering. They're strong, emotive, gritty, unique... In the last track, Coming Down, he reaches a sound that's a completely different timbre from any other vocalist I've heard. Full of passion, it's a short, simple acoustic track, but the bareness just emphasises the superiority of his voice (I can't understand these people who think he cannot sing; are they deaf??). My highlights are Poor Misguided Fool - its strong, catchy, and has a beautiful piano accompaniment, Talk Her Down (for similar reasons), Love Is Here, and Coming Down.

But how can I not mention the other tracks? They are all so good. The way She Just Wept falls into Talk Her Down is perfect, and Walsh's vocals are also at their best in Talk Her Down. And throughout you have these shuffling, catchy beats, quite jazz-esque (which is Fever all over), well-placed piano parts, and fantastic vocals, akin to Richard Ashcroft. Did I mention that I love his voice?

A top quality album. It's a bit like a seed. You get it, you plant it, and it does nothing. So you forget about it. Then months pass, and it pokes its little head out of the soil (or in my case my appallingly messy CD rack). You decide to give it a go, then suddenly it blooms into a beautiful flower. Splendid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, excellent excellent!!!, 3 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
This is an amazing debut album from exciting new talent Starsailor. James Walsh and co are a blend of indie and folk with a pinch of rock and boy does it work. With heart renching lyrics, each track left me breathless as I stuck the album on repeat on my CD player. I had originally bought the album after hearing the delights of 'Good Souls' and then 'Alcoholic', both of which remain strong favourites of mine. Other highlights include 'Poor Misguided Fool' and 'Way to Fall' which leaves you awe-struck. The lyrics are at points painfull and sorrow-filled but there is no doubt whether this music will penetrate you, leaving you with that 'wow' feeling that only good music can. Buy this album immediately, don't even hesitate, it is an essential addition to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 5 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
I bought this album only very recently, after a friend recommended it to me. I reluctantly tried it, as his last 'must buy' album proved quite a dissapointment. This time he was spot on. 'Love is Here'is a stunning piece of work, and is one of the best debut albums I own.
The intro song, 'Tie Up My Hands', starts badly, and i thought this album would lack structure, but it changes into a wonderful acoustice piece, which i absolutly love.
It continues with some wonderful acoustic and heavier pieces, my favourite being 'Talk her Down'
I plead with people, if you dont own this album, buy it. It is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From the Heart, 24 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
Forget the media's cynicism. Forget Travis, forget Coldplay. Where Coldplay ventured on Trouble, Starsailor run riot. This is an album of 12 beautifully honest songs, of which many are potential singles. The heartbreaking 'Love is Here', the desolately tender 'She just Wept', the soothing 'Fever' & the anthemic 'Good Souls'. Simple songs that have been done before maybe, made sound as natural & easy as these guys do, maybe not. Although infants to the music industry, the potency in their songs (largely because of James Walsh's epic vocals) connects to that place the contemporary music industry likes to ignore - the heart. I had high hopes for this album & I am not let down. James Walsh's voice gets into your soul, shakes it up just like all the greats before him. If what turns you on is the Buckleys, the Verve, Neil Young or just plain ol' honest, touching, soul music from a guitar - you must hear this. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Emotion, 21 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
In a more and more faceless music scene, Starsailor really show their true-selves. Compared to the current nu-metal & bubble-gum pop offerings this is pure emotion. Just looking at the singles, there is a wide array of feelings: Fever, slowly brewing; Good Souls' rising anthemic status; Alchoholic, simple but full of meaning.
Add the other tracks like Coming Down and Tie Up My Hands, and this album is a hard hitter.
Add the fact that James voice is amazing (live and on record) and this record is going to be in the top ten of the year list easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 11 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
This album is a must have album for any music lover! The only words that can describe this masterpeice are 'Beautiful, Original, Class'. It's beatiful because of the clever lyrics about life (in songs such as 'Good Souls, Poor Misguided Fool and Alcoholic'). This albums is like a combination of Radiohead, Stereophonics, Travis and Coldplay all rolled into one. I can listnen to this album over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A shock to the system, 3 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
Finally, an albun that really makes you sit up and take notice. Starsailor are a relatively new band, but their debut album is incredible. All 11 tracks are brilliantly executed, and that mixture of acoustic and organ is amazingly soulful. 'Lullaby' is lilting and bordering on the insane - crazy and passionate - whilst 'Alcoholic' has a marvellously grim feel to it. But the gem in this album has to be 'She Just Wept,' a slow, sad, acoustic song, with a dull drum in the background that seems to go straight through your soul ... I know I'm ranting, but trust me, all in good reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Buckley meets Mike Scott (Waterboys)...awesome!!, 9 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
If you like a good melody , some beautifully crafted tunes , a meaningful lyric and the voices of Jeff Buckley and Mike Scott (Waterboys) then you gotta have this one! The 'orchestration' is masterful too. One of the best albums I've bought in 2001.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love has arrived, 24 April 2003
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
This album is depressive music according to my girlfriend but I love it. "Poor Misguided Fool" is a fantastic song and the slow but melodic "Lullaby" touches from the inside.
Personally I think the singer sounds a lot like the guy from placebo, but it works for me.
To sum up there's 11 great songs with at least four of those earning five stars alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic....., 9 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Is Here (Audio CD)
Forget the chilled out moods of bands like Coldplay and Travis. This year is the start of something really special..... Four good looking guys from Wigan have produced something of an epic album, which will not be surpressed this year or next!!!
From the opening track to the end song "Comming down" this truly is a masterpiece of emotional heartbreak and sorrow. Not many bands can produce such a sad album, and this is the best of the best.
Every track on the album is a stand out one- from the mellowdramatic bliss of Lullaby to the ear crushing chorus of Good Souls. Every song is special in its own way.
The perfect album for breakups with lovers etc. Stop feeling down, one listen and the mellowed mood with lift you straight up...
A truly special epic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Is Here
Love Is Here by Starsailor (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews