Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stephen King adaptation, Romero's finest
I have to disagree with a lot of people who add this adaptation of a stephen king book to the existing badly executed king movies (children of the corn, the mangler, ... the list goes on). About 3 out of 4 King adaptations lack substance, style, performance and are just out to cash in on this writer's succes. This movie however, is a return to the likes of 'the dead zone'...
Published on 26 Sep 2003 by jackbower2

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its a cut throat Business...
Thad Beaumount has buried his alter ego George Stark, a pseudonym he used when writing fiction of a dark nature than he would using his real name.

When a local man is killed, evidence leads Sheriff Pangborn to George's grave, and he begins to suspect Thad.

Thad is beginning to have visions of sparrows flying, something that hasn't occurred for...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stephen King adaptation, Romero's finest, 26 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I have to disagree with a lot of people who add this adaptation of a stephen king book to the existing badly executed king movies (children of the corn, the mangler, ... the list goes on). About 3 out of 4 King adaptations lack substance, style, performance and are just out to cash in on this writer's succes. This movie however, is a return to the likes of 'the dead zone' and 'misery', a well crafted thriller that has a slow build up, but doesn't undermine the premise of the book. Romero (Night Of The Living Dead trilogy) collaborated with King on this movie (he worked previously with King on Creepshow and Knightriders) and delivers the goods; An intelligent movie that captures the essence of the book, the characters are beautifully outlined and the directing skills of this genre director pay off; Add to that the excellent performances of Timothy Hutton, who plays both Thad Beaumont and his 'dark half' George Stark, next to Michael Rooker as sheriff Alan Pangborn. The musical score by Christopher Young is also pretty amazing, allowing never a dull moment in the movie and keeping it at pace, like the suspence thriller it is. The whole movie is shot in Pittsburgh, hometown of Romero and this adds a nice touch to the scenery. The region 2 (european) dvd has the widescreen version which I prefer over the full screen region 1 (american) dvd. I would have liked a commentary by Romero, since there were some budget problems during last month of shooting, and I would like to have had his take on that. But all in all, this movie keeps amazing me; It's an example of what true horror is about, and that intelligent scripts do have a place in this often commercial genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and scary, 5 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dark Half [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of the better King adaptations with George A Romero, the master behind Night of the Living Dead trilogy directing a fine cast. Thad Beumont(Tim Hutton) has been writng under the name of George Stark but is forced to stop when someone threatens to blackmail him, but George Stark isn't happy and comes back to get revenge. This film has an excellent storyline and doens't slaughter the original book. It manages to scare and a lot of parts make you jump. Their is quite a lot of gore but not to much. The scares are more psychological. I would recommend this to any fan of the horror genre as it is an enjoyable but scary film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its a cut throat Business..., 17 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Thad Beaumount has buried his alter ego George Stark, a pseudonym he used when writing fiction of a dark nature than he would using his real name.

When a local man is killed, evidence leads Sheriff Pangborn to George's grave, and he begins to suspect Thad.

Thad is beginning to have visions of sparrows flying, something that hasn't occurred for twenty-three years since he had brain surgery. As the string of gruesome murders continue, someone claiming to be George Stark starts calling Thad on the phone.

Thad fears for his family's safety, and Pangborn can't decide whether or not Thad is the murderer.....

Another year in the nineties, and another generic Stephen King adaptation hits the screen. For every Shawshank, Misery, and Dolores Claiborne, you get a Lawnmower Man, Sleepwalkers, Langoliers, and this.

Hutton is great as Thad and his Doppelgänger, but as expected, the bad guy is more enjoyable, has lots of funny one liners and is hardly in it.

The rest of the film has Michael Rooker not shaking hands with Hutton one mi ute and then getting him beer the next.

And while all this is happening, there are lots and lots of sparrows flying around the place.

Romero starts the film off very promising, but as soon as Stark is introduced, the film, despite Stark being the highlight of the film, goes down the toilet.

If you are a King enthusiast, go ahead, ruin your day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Must watch again and again, a twist a mystery a puzzle. This film is so imaginative that it holds the viewers attention all through the film with surprising ending. It is definitely a must see Steven King story. Timothy Hutton plays a wonderful part as the hunted and the hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
great film but i recommend you read the book first as you get more out of the book, but the film was good and stayed fairly in line with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the dark half, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I like stephen king so this is no expception I liked it and expect to collect them all if I can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching., 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I had to persuade my husband to watch this film as he is not really into 'scary' movies. He thoroughly enjoyed it! Me too, though I was a little disappointed that it was not always true to the book - what films are? All in all, a good adaptation but I highly recommend that you read the book before buying the DVD - then you'll understand exactly what's going on.
Joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary film with excellent actor Timothy Hutton, 23 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I have read this book years ago and finally I got to watch the film, scary especially the birds...
Timothy is brilliant as the writer and can look really mean as the book caracter.
My advice see it but maybe not alone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very different!, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Anthony Cox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Stephen King..again-this time with a masterpiece!..Orion pictures ran out of money..so the film was delayed..This made me think...so eventually this film arrives..so nearly everyone missed it.. A very dark and brooding film..Two people involved here..two writers one,of which write's horror novels..the imaginative George Stark..there is no George Stark he is a Ghost writer..until the real author kills him off!...Wait for this..George Stark is still living and breathing..and one by one KILLS all his enemys...until the final sequence..the author or Jim Stark and those SPARROWS!..Haunting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very well done, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
The book of S. King is very well filmed here. In general King iis lucky: most of his books are filmed very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Half [DVD] [1994]
The Dark Half [DVD] [1994] by George A. Romero (DVD - 2001)
£5.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews