Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I know who you are!"
This is one movie that you definitely shouldn't watch alone at night! Dark and creepy, it manages to tingle the hair at the back of your neck and delivers several genuine untelegraphed shocks!

Simply put, it's a movie about a museum. On the eve of the launch of a new exhibition, a gruesome murder takes place and the forthcoming gala is thrown into...
Published on 19 Feb 2007 by Sheryl Jackman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Penelope Ann Miller and hormones
A ship that was supposed to transport some crates from South America to a museum seems to have a crew that lost their heads. The crates finally get flown in. One full of goodies the other just leaves. The museum's Dr. Margo Green (Penelope Ann Miller) is suspicious. Everyone else is happy until a guard seems to have misplaced his hypothalamus. Looks like Dr. Margo Green...
Published on 22 Aug 2005 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I know who you are!", 19 Feb 2007
By 
Sheryl Jackman "Wildstar" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Relic [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This is one movie that you definitely shouldn't watch alone at night! Dark and creepy, it manages to tingle the hair at the back of your neck and delivers several genuine untelegraphed shocks!

Simply put, it's a movie about a museum. On the eve of the launch of a new exhibition, a gruesome murder takes place and the forthcoming gala is thrown into uncertainty. As the body count rises, it quickly becomes clear that an ancient evil is stalking the corridors of the museum ....

The movie takes a while to get going, but once it does it doesn't let up for a second. There's a lot of creeping about in dark corridors and waving of flashlights - doesn't this museum have any lights?! - and the inevitable panic as the creature finally reveals itself to the gala guests. This leads to a typical movie cliche - "We must get out" vs "No, we have to stay here!" Guess which group comes off the worst!

Incidentally, the group who decide to escape are told to 'move quietly'. This must be the worst case of 'moving quietly' that I have ever seen!

The creature itself is only shown in shadowy glimpses until about a third of the way in and it's well worth the wait. Created by Stan Winston, the creature is unique as movie monsters go and stands up remarkably well when shown in full. But then, Stan Winston is a master in his field and none of his creations have ever disappointed.

Penelope Ann Miller looks suitably terrified when confronted by the creature in the archives room. This scene produces a pure squirm-in-your-seat moment as the creature sticks out a long, forked tongue to 'taste' her face. Urgh!

'The Relic' isn't a creature classic like, for example, 'The Thing', which boasts excellent special effects with outstanding character development. But if you don't mind switching your brain off for an hour or so, and letting yourself be taken along for the ride, then it's definitely worth a veiwing. But don't forget to fasten your seatbelt - things could get a little bumpy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monster of a movie., 25 Jan 2006
By 
Blue hunter (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Relic [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
This is a very good monster movie.It has good acting in it from the main characters and good special fx for the beast.
The story is of a monster on the loose in a museum killing people all over the place,but where does the monster originate from and why is it here?.
A good horror but nothing new.I'd put this film alongside the likes of mimic and mimic 2 the first of which is the better.
This is a review of the region 2 dvd version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pot's a misdemeanour. Decapitation seems a bit severe., 5 Feb 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Relic [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
The Relic is directed by Peter Hyams and based on the best-selling novel Relic by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. The film stars Tom Sizemore, Penelope Ann Miller, James Whitmore and Linda Hunt. The music score is composed by John Debney.

The Museum of Natural History in Chicago takes delivery of some crates from South America. Sent by an employee, John Whitney, one of the crates appears to be just full of leaves. However, just as the museum prepares to launch a major exhibition, where all the city's top brass will be present, a security guard is horrifically killed. Can superstitious cop Lt. Vincent D'Agosta (Sizemore) and evolutionary biologist Dr. Margo Green (Miller) get to the bottom of the mystery before it`s too late?

One from the bunch of creature feature movies that surfaced in the 1990s, The Relic may not win prizes for originality of plotting, but it scores high for tension and gloopy fun. Though the decent budget is evident ($70,000,000), the film has all the old fashioned values to make a creature feature work. Rank and file staples come thick and fast; boo jump moments, characters refusing to accept the un-normal, silly kids, silly coppers, a potential hero and heroine, possible romance, some sci-fi babble, a curse, and of course the creature itself; a big hybrid of god knows what! The "Kothoga" is a snarling, slimy monstrosity that goes about the museum lopping heads off inept human beings with carefree abandon. What`s not to like there?

Though Hyams is no genius director, he is, as his CV suggests, more than capable at crafting a polished movie. Such is the case here, where the B movie story is given good technical treatment. The lighting and editing serve the atmosphere well, while the sound work is of the required horror requisitional standard. More importantly though, Hyams is aware of building up the tension by not unleashing the creature too soon. We know it's the killer, and we get little snippets of it here and there, but it's not until all hell breaks loose at the big museum event that we see the monster. And it's not a let down. Part animatronic/part computer effect, the "Kothoga" is original and it is great fun. So much so it (thankfully) steers the viewers away from the pedestrian performances of the cast. Not bad exactly, but just doing grizzled and spunky beauty (Sizemore & Miller respectively) doesn't grab the attention. The best actor on show is Whitmore (tracing a lovely creature feature line from Them! in 1954 to here), but he is badly under written and under used.

Still, the minor acting issues matters not, for this is ready made for a Saturday night with beer and some snacks. Give it a go and you may just enjoy yourself. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Rewatchable, 12 Aug 2009
By 
Stephen Myers "steve7k" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Relic [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I really like this film. It's not a classic in any of the well-worn traditions and it does contain its share of fairly obvious horror monster movie moments that those in the know will see coming long before they arrive.

I think the strength of the movie is in the casting of Penelope Ann Miller in the lead role. She is a terrific actress, who should have lots more screen time than she's received - and she's not your typical scream queen. She starts out as a very believable forensic anthropologist and her reactions when she sees the carnage the creature has left are totally believable. And the ending, where she employs her scientific prowess to fight to the last, is great (though her last line is a bit 'get away from her you b*tch' from Alien 2.

The monster is also good, and never quite shown in full, which makes it all the more scary. You think you know what it looks like, then it changes a little and you mostly see glimpses rather than the whole thing.

Tom Sizemore also does a good job as a slightly jaded cop, who really doesn't want the job, but goes along with it. He's the Joe Public to whom all the stuff about DNA, strange leaves and the whole monstery thing needs explaining. He even has a lucky bullet.

But despite its origins in ordinary horror movie cliche, it does excite, baffle and make you think a bit, which is more than most do. And it has Linda Hunt in it. What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Penelope Ann Miller and hormones, 22 Aug 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A ship that was supposed to transport some crates from South America to a museum seems to have a crew that lost their heads. The crates finally get flown in. One full of goodies the other just leaves. The museum's Dr. Margo Green (Penelope Ann Miller) is suspicious. Everyone else is happy until a guard seems to have misplaced his hypothalamus. Looks like Dr. Margo Green is about to be consumed by her work.

This is a pretty spiffy well done formula movie. As with many contemporary movies they completely ignore the book and add all the standard clich's. We have the ruthless rivalry, missing scientists, and mysterious crates. Naturally no one does what they are supposed to do and you start rooting for the, lets just call it a, relic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a Relic just yet, 20 Aug 2007
By 
M. P. OKeefe "martinphilipokeefe" (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Relic [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
The Relic is quite a good film, part horror, part thriller with quite a few shocks delivered by good actors. The big scenes in the museum are really well shot and the sense of panic in the atmosphere is palpable. It's definately weathered well after ten years and is certainly one to watch with the lights out on a quiet night at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A monster movie must!, 19 April 2003
By 
J.S.Garry (highbridge, somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Relic [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
If your a monster fan and love to see movies with a good old fasioned human eating monster init, then this is your movie. Anyone who knows who Stan Winston is knows that he is the BEST! and this paticular film just shows exactly that. The beast is well portrayed in the dark corridors and long pitch black tunnels. This film is definately a must see for all you creature fans out there. The plot of the story will not be all to apparent at first but i found after watching it for a second time in detail the story was quite easy to grasp, so dont worry its not one of those realy weird science films just a good old fashioned makebelieve film with some realy good creature effects and cracking mythological storyline too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Relic [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
A really good film that i can watch time and again. Lots of scare suspense and a thoroughly good watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than average monster movie, 9 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Relic [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
THE RELIC R2 DVD 2007

Back in the 1980s I replaced most of my collection of 8mm movies with VHS and I have been going through a same process of upgrading to DVD for the last two or three years. This has given me the excuse to revisit many films that I have not seen for some time and to sample new films of the genre which have appeared over the past 20 years, I had missed this movie completely and ran across it by chance when refreshing my collection.

Based on the novel of the same title by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child who were part of the screenplay team this is one of the few movies that is actually recognisable as being taken from the book and actually comes close to delivering the same atmosphere and story impact on screen.

On the eve of the launch of a museum exhibition, a ghastly murder takes place on the premises and the forthcoming event arrangements are thrown into chaos as further killings follow and it becomes apparent that something evil is at large in the museum.

Penelope Ann Miller, Tom Sizemore, James Whitmore and Linda Hunt all give very credible performances and the modelling and effects for the `creature' are excellent and were created by Stan Winston who won an Oscar for Jurassic Park.
The performances are backed by plenty of noisy and colourful special effects to make the film enjoyable and full of scary moments and experiences.

Well worth adding to any horror film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good fun!, 21 July 2008
By 
B. D. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Relic [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
"The Relic" was on TV the other night, and I had never heard of it before then. I don't watch a lot of horror movies, but there was nothing else on, so I thought I might as well check this out, knowing that I could always turn it off if it was rubbish.

To my surprise, I actually quite enjoyed it. This is a fun film. It's nice to see a good old fashioned monster horror, in an age where most horror films are about psychopaths or ghosts, and take the psychological route. The Relic is just a visceral feast of violence and gore. The monster itself remains largely unseen for the majority of the film, with just flashes here and there, and when we finally do see it in all it's glory it is reasonably impressive. I liked the story, although I have two major complaints with it:

1) The twist at the end could be seen coming a mile off

2) I have no idea what the "relic" of the title had to do with the monster or the story!

Nevertheless, this is a fun movie with no pretension about it. It's easy to see why it's become a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Relic [DVD] [1997]
The Relic [DVD] [1997] by Peter Hyams (DVD - 2002)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews