Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anthologyitis.
Anthologies always leave the purists unhappy. It's a fact but at least this one makes a solid stab.
Its premise is that all the excerpts should fit together and sound like a single concert. It's a good idea and it does work. The editing is smooth enough and the material, whilst self-referential, does not exclude anyone. There's nothing worse than listening to comedy...
Published on 20 Nov 2002 by George Connor

versus
1 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Having heard a lot of positive recommendations, and hearing that Bill was an important anti-conventional political satirist, I was really disappointed by this collection. It's quite funny, but not really hysterical. Perhaps I should look at a complete set rather than this amalgam of 'best of' bits. Still, from what i gather from this collection, he was good, but liked to...
Published on 4 May 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anthologyitis., 20 Nov 2002
By 
George Connor (The Remote Parts of, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
Anthologies always leave the purists unhappy. It's a fact but at least this one makes a solid stab.
Its premise is that all the excerpts should fit together and sound like a single concert. It's a good idea and it does work. The editing is smooth enough and the material, whilst self-referential, does not exclude anyone. There's nothing worse than listening to comedy that makes a reference to a previous joke which you didn't hear.
Thankfully, that has been skilfully manouevred.
This CD has a lot of strong material and you could do a lot worse. The only people likely to be disappointed will be Hicks purists and they've probably got all this stuff already. This CD is definitely aimed at those who are new to the man.
As such, it's an excellent starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of The Best:, 15 Sep 2001
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of Bill Hicks for a number of years (although not when he was alive, sadly) and having many friends who are getting into some of Bill's material I can whole heartedly recommend this album to all (owning all the material on other CDs).
This CD is the CD to play for new fans to get them into his Philosphy and acts.
Buy this album if youre just starting to experiance this visionary comic. Although if (like me) you own all his work anyway, maybe you should think twice... but buy it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect introduction, 19 May 2003
By 
Simon Slator "coldsun" (Tamworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
Being a fan of George Carlin, a friend of mine pointed me in the direction of Bill Hicks. "Philosophy" was my first purchase and, on the first play alone, it left me in stitches! The hilarity of Bill's comedy has always depended on the listener - they'll either laugh themselves silly or take so much offence, the CD ends up being incinerated! "Philosophy", however, is a nicely balanced CD that fuses the best of his jokes (eg. "Confession Time", "Hooligans" and "Gideons") with the wittiest of his politically-minded rants (eg. "Step on the Gas", "The Elite" and "Odd Beliefs"). The CD serves up a healthy dose of controversy - nothing too shocking but totally non-conservative - so you at least get some of the good ranty stuff. So, if you like it, there's plenty more.
If you consider yourself a free-thinking, non-conservative individual in pursuit of a good laugh, then "Philosophy" will provide you with over 70min of Grade A comedy. However, if you like what you hear, "Rant in E-Minor" and "Dangerous" also come highly recommended. If you prefer a less potent form of ranty comedy, go for George Carlin's "Class Clown" or Denis Leary's "Lock N Load".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hendrix of Comedy, 25 Jun 2002
By 
Mr. Paul M. Morgan "Paul" (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
Here we have a man who wanted to try everything once, wanted to live life to the full and find his nirvana. His comedy told the tale of this journey, through the highs (literally) and lows, through living in America and experiencing other cultures.
Unfortunately this tale ended abruptly, cut short by cancer at the age of 32.
Yet, despite his early departure he made such a mark on so many peoples lives, his name will remain and tales will be told in years to come of how this one man from Houston, Texas, was able to open others eyes to world in which we live.
This CD takes some of the best bits (? were there any that weren't best?) of Bills recorded history and present them to you in one perfect package. These may have been recorded in the mid to late 90's but their message is still strong (and valid) today. Bill's passion and ironic wit cut through like a knife and hit you full force.
I cannot recommend this enough - buy it and it will remain in a prominent place amongst your favourite CDs.
Bill Hicks, we love you - RIP Sane Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prophetic Peerless Brilliance, 31 Jan 2009
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
Some say that there are only two prophets in the modern age - Carl Sagan and Richard Dawkins. What these theorists omit to mention is the other prophet of the 'trinity': Bill Hicks.

Although it has been 15 years since Hicks' death, his material is still profoundly insightful. Comedy ages quickly, but the way the routines are performed shows that his 'comedy club education' paid off in razor sharp wit and in the spectrum of ways he performs his material.

Starting with 'Greetings' ("I always enjoy being in... wherever I am!"), the album goes through a selection of his finest material, including the laugh-out-loud funny 'Please Do Not Disturb' one (with his 'hairy man []' porno routine) and also his 'Smoking' routines (though thankfully without the 'Play from your ... heart routine' comedown part).

As well as the usual stuff (that is on t'internet / DVD's), there is also rarer material such as 'Hooligans' and 'the Elite', both of which relate to past events but are peerless & rich in their content.

Of course, this particular rare material brings to mind a niggling criticism - that these bits aren't available on DVD format (even though there's footage). Furthermore, I think this CD was a perfect opportunity for an editor to play up Hicks' wittier, less puerile material (which it doesn't - instead pandering to his lusty side...)

However, if there is one thing about this CD, it is that it does exactly what it says on the tin by providing an excellent mixture of popular & obscure material.
If you haven't heard any of his stuff, learn my lesson and use this CD (& Revelations DVD) as a starting point. When you have done this, be ready to have your third eye squeegeed by the Greatest Secular Prophet of modern times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the genius that is hicks..., 10 Aug 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
i recall watching a few of bill hicks concerts as he became prominent in stand up circles, always finding him hilariously funny. a few years later, when i wondered what had become of him, i found out he had died of cancer, at the tender age of just 32! what this 'greatest hits' collection is absolutely a must have for anyone who thinks they know stand up. bill hicks stood and still stands head and shoulders above most, if not all others. his philosophy in various subjects was spot on and his timing, second to none. this is a case of wondering what happiness this eternally pissed off man could have brought into our miserly lives had he lived. at the end of every conclusion, no matter how absurd. you find yourself agreeing with him. a must have as every track is a laugh out loud riot. bill hicks, we salute you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest mind of our time, 8 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
Y'know why everyone with half a brain thinks bill hicks was the funniest man ever?
Cos he was, that's why!
If you're a christian, a politician, against pornograhy or any other so-called "immoral" institutions, avoid this cd. If you have a funny bone however, bow down to the godlike genius, and mourn his tragic passing with the rest of us. A true genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A start, but only scraping at the surface of Hicks., 3 Mar 2004
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
I'm starting to get seriously into standup, and have lately gotten many albums and videos, etc, so i thought i'd better start getting into Bill Hicks, as it is often said he was the best stand up that ever lived. I cannot say this yet, but maybe in time i will understand better. This cd is a bit of a mixed bag. It's got some great stuff on it, but it chooses to put absolute opposites next to each other on the disc, so that theres no linkage. The editing is terrible. Sometimes when the music comes in, it cuts out at the start of the next track, sounding amatuerish.
However, the material is great. He may be angry, and a ranter, but Bill is obviously the most intelligent guy to ever tell a dick joke. He is really trying to touch the audience with somethign he believes in, and when he does, you can almost feel the impact coming out of your speakers. I will definitely be buying more of his material after this, as it seems to me that he is a comic that works with a whole show, not just a single joke that can be removed as a soundbite. The cd isn't laugh-out-loud funny, like other throw away comics, but Hicks is the kind of comedian tha you'll think about during the day and start laughing, the kind of comic that puts an idea in your head that makes you think without ever losing the humour.
One of the better anthologies i've heard, but not the best. (That prize goes to the Richard Pryor anthology)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUNNIEST CD EVER!!, 6 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
I DIDN'T REALLY KNOW MUCH ABOUT BILL HICKS UNTIL I STARTED LISTENING TO TOOL. AND MY FRIENDS TOLD ME ABOUT HIM. BUT I SURE AM GLAD I BOUGHT IT ITS THE FUNNIEST THING I'VE EVER HERD!! BUY IT OR YOUR MISSING OUT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 4 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks (Audio CD)
Having heard a lot of positive recommendations, and hearing that Bill was an important anti-conventional political satirist, I was really disappointed by this collection. It's quite funny, but not really hysterical. Perhaps I should look at a complete set rather than this amalgam of 'best of' bits. Still, from what i gather from this collection, he was good, but liked to string out the observations a bit. My personal tastes are closer to Eddie Izzard Peter Cook, Woody Allen, and Chris Morris.
Having said all of that, there are some very astute observations here- i liked the what is pornography? question, and the great time on drugs bit. The rest is a little tired- has he dated? i dunno- i'm sure it was a very different experience live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks
Philosophy: The Best Of Bill Hicks by Bill Hicks (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews