Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the kings
Over the past few years Saxon have made a dramatic U-Turn in the quality of their releases, ever since 'Solid Ball of Rock' the band has been releasing heavier and more thought out albums, a far cry from the depressing days of the too slick and polished 'Destiny', the album that some say should have buried them. Dogs of War, Forever Free and Metalhead are all good solid...
Published on 13 May 2002 by macc@madasafish.com

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Blip
I am not quite sure how they did it, but this album is no better than average. It has all the same ingredients as any other Saxon Album, (and let's face it, they don't change much), but just doesn't cut it. I have owned this for 3 years, but I could only name you 3 tracks if you asked me. One of these - Court of the Crimson King, I actively dislike.

The other 2...
Published on 29 Nov 2006 by longdirtyhair


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the kings, 13 May 2002
This review is from: Killing Ground (Audio CD)
Over the past few years Saxon have made a dramatic U-Turn in the quality of their releases, ever since 'Solid Ball of Rock' the band has been releasing heavier and more thought out albums, a far cry from the depressing days of the too slick and polished 'Destiny', the album that some say should have buried them. Dogs of War, Forever Free and Metalhead are all good solid HM albums bearing the tell tale Saxon riffery. This brings us up to date with the release of Killing Ground, again, a typical release bearing all the trademarks of a Saxon album, out and out rockers 'Dragons Lair', ballads (if you can call it that, the subject material is a bit morbid) 'Shadows on the wall' and anthems 'Rock is our Life' and 'Deeds of Glory' all this makes great listening and apart from maybe 'Running for the Border' I can't pick a bad one out of them. The bonus disc on some releases is re-recorded classics such as 'Princess of the Night, Crusader and Motorcycle Man' although a full re-recorded classic release entitled 'heavy metal thunder' is expected for release soon this does whet the appetite for it, the songs sound so fresh and vibrant, they could have been written yesterday. It does however make you think that the reason its included at all is to somehow show that this Saxon (not Oliver/Dawson Saxon who only play the first few albums material live) are the boys behind the metal and can prove it.
An excellent release from one of Britains most underrated bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saxon are back to their traditional best, 31 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This is one killer of an album. I was somewhat disappointed with "Metalhead", because it appeared that the band were deviating - rather unsuccessfully in my view - from what they do best: produce driving yet melodic metal. "Metalhead" saw them going down a path towards a less melodic but harder sound. This album thankfully sees Saxon back to the "Solid Ball of Rock" (and early days) form.
There are some great tracks on offer here: "Killing Ground" has an infectious riff and opens the album in fine style; "Court of the Crimson King" is an inspired cover of the 1969 song by King Crimson; "You Don't Know What You've Got" is a real party rocker with a blistering mid-song guitar solo; "Deeds of Glory" has a catchy melody and an even catchier chorus; "Running For the Border" is pure power metal through and through, and "Rock is Our Life" finishes the album with a rousing anthem.
I saw Saxon live in Tilburg recently and they were, suffice to say, awesome. Get the album and appreciate the traditional sound of British metal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Pt 2., 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing Ground (Audio CD)
Second studio album with Fritz Randow on the drums. One of the haviests albums by Saxon. Cout of the Crimson King, my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars saxon gettin heavy, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing Ground (Audio CD)
saxon getting heavy and it sounds realy good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Blip, 29 Nov 2006
This review is from: Killing Ground (Audio CD)
I am not quite sure how they did it, but this album is no better than average. It has all the same ingredients as any other Saxon Album, (and let's face it, they don't change much), but just doesn't cut it. I have owned this for 3 years, but I could only name you 3 tracks if you asked me. One of these - Court of the Crimson King, I actively dislike.

The other 2 - Killing Ground and Dragon's Lair are great, but you probably wouldn't find any of the remaining 8 tracks on a greatest Hits compilation. Somewhat disappointing against their usual high standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old metal recycles, 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Killing Ground (Audio CD)
Saxon return to try and re-kindle the old guitar-based magic that was WOS/SAOTL/D&L. A fair effort? Yes, but only made worth it by the promotional pack that contained the "Classics Re-recorded". This served as a great reminder as to how well they could string together a tune in thier heyday. It sounds just a bit strained however and does not stand up to comparison to the fire of the originals albeit in better quality format.
So overall some good tunes rather spoilt by cliches - nearly rescued by the re-recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killing Ground
Killing Ground by Saxon (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews