Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great puzzle
My 18month old loves this puzzle and asks for it all the time, more so than any of her other puzzles. As the other reviews state is good to store on a shelf as has no lid. Good quality and great for focussed play. Would say though is a good toy for 18mths-24mths and up as is probably a bit to easy by the time they are 3.
Published on 1 Jun 2010 by Bookworm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very solid product
A very good quality product, but a lid for the box would be good!! Bought for daughter, aged 2 and 2 months (product says from 2), and she does find it very simple, but still enjoys it!
Published on 7 Jan 2012 by Penmk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great puzzle, 1 Jun 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
My 18month old loves this puzzle and asks for it all the time, more so than any of her other puzzles. As the other reviews state is good to store on a shelf as has no lid. Good quality and great for focussed play. Would say though is a good toy for 18mths-24mths and up as is probably a bit to easy by the time they are 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, colourful and fun toy, 1 May 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
The box says 3 years + but my one year old can already can place the circle shapes in their places on the pictures and absolutely loves it. Colours are bright and shapes are fun. This is a very durable toy, can be played with in many ways, so I am sure there is still a lot to discover for my boy.
I agree though that the box could come with a lid for easier storage.
Other than that, excellent toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for young learners, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Outnumbered - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
My toddler likes puzzles so I thought this would be good for him to play with shapes. The shapes are large enough for him to grip confidently with one hand and the recessed spaces make it easy for him to fit in the shapes in properly (although he does need a little help sometimes).

I really like this set because he'll be able to see how shapes are used in context when he's a little older and he can actually hold and feel shapes (in flat 3D) as opposed to just looking at them in books. He's only 20 months so still too young to really get the full educational value of this but he does like playing with it and will sit happily with it for a good while, which is really just want I wanted for his age.

The only negative I can think of is that this doesn't come with a lid, hence 4 stars. I find this a bit strange with a toy that has lots of pieces since they can easily get lost if not carefully stored away, ideally on a shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy for 18 months old, 5 April 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
My son loves this puzzle, he still takes it out from the shelf from time to time, we had it now for close to 6 months.
He learnt to put the pieces together quite quickley, but still enjoys it. He learnt colours and shapes this way. It is of great educational value and fun and the same time.
Also played with by our 6 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very solid product, 7 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
A very good quality product, but a lid for the box would be good!! Bought for daughter, aged 2 and 2 months (product says from 2), and she does find it very simple, but still enjoys it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea but needs improvement, 24 Jun 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
The concept for this toy is great and at first my 2.5 year old son loved it. But many of the spaces they have carved out are not logical and confused both me and my son. The most frustrating thing to him was there is one picture that has a big sun in the top right corner but no space carved out to put a circle. The sun really stands out and was the first thing my son tried to put a circle in and he got frustrated that there wasn't a place to do so. Another picture of a dog or a cat (I can't remember now) just has random shapes cut out in it instead of using the outline of the image to make more natural places for shapes. I guess I was hoping it would be more like tangram puzzles but with colors and smiling faces to make it more attractive to a toddler. Still glad I got it, but think it should be improved for educational purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Simple, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
These are a nice idea, but a bit basic. My 18 month old can do it and will soon find it too easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Quality, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
This product is of terrible quality. I can't believe that Amazon actually sell it.
The wood used to make the boards is of poor quality and the finish is terrible. It would be easy for little ones to get a splinter. The paint work is awful and in many places looks like it has been badly touched up by hand.
I will be returning this product to Amazon and recommending that they take it off their website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but not a must-have toy, 24 April 2013
By 
Juliette (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
This is good quality as you'd expect from Melissa and Doug. It's a shame the box doesn't come with a lid and it'd nice if there were separate holes for each of the shapes - I always forget the magic combination of which holes to put which shapes back into so that they all fit!

I got this for our son when he had just turned two and he plays with it a bit but not a lot. The puzzles are on the easy side for him, although he does do them sometimes which suggests that there is still some challenge/attraction there. I think it might be better for a slightly younger toddler. He does play with the pieces separately from the puzzle sometimes too. It's a nice addition to our toy collection and I'm hoping our second will get more play out of it, but certainly not a must-have toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No lid again., 28 Mar 2013
This review is from: Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks (Toy)
Calling melissa and doug, what on earth is it about lids that you just can't grab the concept off. Not one of our Melissa and doug products in boxes such as this have a lid. It's not difficult even a slide on Perspex lid would do the job.

That aside great puzzle, age range too high, Florence has all of these worked out within ten minutes. Colours nice and bright, well made. We do have a flaw on the flower puzzle and an email is going off to Melissa and doug straight after this review.

Overall great but like every other Melissa and doug on the Market a few tweaks could make it excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melissa and Doug Beginner Pattern Blocks
15.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews