Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2003
If like me you have a keen interest in the thought process and methods that are used in producing studio albums then this documentury will be of interest to you. You are a guest in the studio amongst all the members of U2 plus producers Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois sharing their accounts of the making of the Joshua Tree album and the creative techniques employed to produce it. The real treat is Bono and Lanois sat in the studio with the original tapes, playing the different sounds and explaining how they created the final mixes. As a U2 I personally found it fascinating to hear Edge talking about how he came up with the guitars for "Streets" and the difficulty it caused Eno and the rest of the band to find a way to make a song out of it. The viewer is not patronised with explanations of technical jargon, and is presumed to have an understanding of music. I would say this is a must have for U2 fans.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2007
A Rockumentary about one the best albums of all time made by one of the best bands of all time, featuring input and comment by the band members and producers themselves cannot fail to be entertaining.

The Classic Album shows have one notable difference from the average programme of this genre. The Classic album series is not just a collection of cheap thrown away programmes dominated by cheesy commentary over a string of fuzzy repeated images with bad quality sound bites and quotes. The series has excellent production values featuring original footage, which centres around getting the old multi track tapes out, and separating out the parts (and in some cases playing along to them or performing the demo version) to demonstrate how the finished product was arrived at. It is this is invaluable part of the show, that demonstrates U2 and the producer's ability for building performances in the studio, and also how the music being made reflected U2's musical direction at the time, and the American literature they were influenced by.

My appreciation of The Joshua tree has grown since watching this DVD. Other reviewers have complained it is not a Concert video which is bizarre as the title clearly states it is from the `Classic Album' series. This DVD is a reflection by those involved in the creation of the album, is a fascinating insight into the making and production of the end product, and contains valuable interviews with Bono, the Edge and the producers Daniel Lanois and Brian Eno. We learn that the Album opener which the show refers to using its working title `Streets' took up almost half of the total time spent making the album on it's own, and the version we have today was almost erased for good by Brian Eno who had been driven mad by the process, and we also hear the 4 track cassette demo of the song recorded by Edge on his own. We also hear Bono describe performing in front of Larry Mullen Jnr on stage is like `getting a good kick in the head', and see Edge demonstrate how the Solo guitar part that is played on the end of `With or without you' is so simple, yet fits in perfectly after the crescendo in the song. We also hear the studio demo of running to stand still with Bono improvising the lyrics and filling in with la la la's, yet manages to come up with almost complete verses at the first take.

There are many more revelatory moments in the show which a true fan is guaranteed to enjoy. I am, I did and so will you.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2000
If reinventing oneself on a regular basis is what it takes to keep things interesting for both artists and fans alike, then U2 certainly lead the pack, while also managing to sell truck-loads of CDs and fill stadiums around the planet. This look into their working methods for the monster Joshua Tree album is both illuminating and funny, not only for musicians but also for the simply curious. Fans get to hear the parts they left out (and wonder why) while the comments about the creative process from producers Eno and Lanois can be applied to any music, anywhere.On the whole it's pleasantly ego free and amiable, and the best bits are Bono's wincing at his own vocals and Edge's guitar class.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2001
I am mad about U2. Completely and utterly. And this video/dvd documentary is fascinating, if you're interested in more than just listening to their music. I am, and am glad I saw it. The only thing is..... once you've watched it once or twice, it loses its appeal, because you know it all. How many times can someone watch a documentary again?
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2005
If your looking for video footage of songs from the album this is not for you. If you want inside information about mixing of the tracks and some of the inspiration behind the songs then it's quite a good buy for the price.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
This episode of The Classic Albums series looks in depth at the fantastic 1987 album The Joshua Tree by U2.

The process from the intial conception of the writing process to recording and touring the album are discussed on the programme with contributions from Bono, The Edge, Larry Mullen and Adam Clayton obviosuly as well as Producers Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois. The archive footage of the group recordings as well as the interviews with the contributors to this album really do add to the quality and information given in the programme.

If you like U2 or The Joshua Tree album this DVD is worth watching as a fascinating Genesis in the making of a Classic Album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2000
This dvd provides a 4:3 ratio look at the 'behind the scenes' retrospective of the making of the Joshua Tree. If you are looking for a music video version of the album, this is not it. If you want the band's, Bono's and the producer's perspectives, it is not bad. It contains a number of partial music clips, and the entire clip of 'The Sweetest Thing' (written back in the Joshua Tree Years).
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2005
First off: don't be confused by the title of this DVD it is NOT simply a DVD version of the Joshua Tree album containig the songs or videos. It is a documentary made around 1998 covering the MAKING of the Joshua Tree album. I say this because I have had friends buy it not realise this fact.
So what you have is about an hour of inteviews with U2 and the producers looking into the influences and sounds that make up the album. They mess with the mixing desk and study the different elements of around half the songs that make up 'JT'. If you like that sort of thing then you'll like this DVD.
However... If you want to really experience U2 at their best buy 'U2 Go Home - Live from Slane DVD' and 'U2 Rattle and Hum DVD'. These 2 concert DVDs will blow your mind with scorching live footage and performances. I really can't recommend them highly enough. Once you have those you might want to think about getting 'U2 Zoo TV - Live from Sydney VHS' - though I hear a very strong rumour that this title along with 'POPMART Mexico VHS' and 'Under a blood red sky VHS' are soon to be released on DVD, probably 2006, so you might want to hold back for those.
So there you have it - buy Classic albums and get an hour of U2 taking about music or buy Slane and get 2 hours (+great bonus footage) of a truly spectacular event... no brainer really.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2002
Was on the tv a few years back. This DVD shows how the songs were put together in the recording studio, and the bands thoughts on each song. Explains how Lanois and Eno got the end result.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I LOVE CLASSIC ALBUM SERIES EDITION. BECAUSE THESE EDITIONS ALWAYS GIVE US A NEW CHANCE TO LOOK BACK THESE CLASSIC ALBUMS AND LEARN MORE FROM THE BONUS MATERIALS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)