Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating in depth study of a classic album
If like me you have a keen interest in the thought process and methods that are used in producing studio albums then this documentury will be of interest to you. You are a guest in the studio amongst all the members of U2 plus producers Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois sharing their accounts of the making of the Joshua Tree album and the creative techniques employed to produce...
Published on 14 July 2003 by Andrew Everett

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the joshua tree?
If your looking for video footage of songs from the album this is not for you. If you want inside information about mixing of the tracks and some of the inspiration behind the songs then it's quite a good buy for the price.
Published on 3 Feb 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating in depth study of a classic album, 14 July 2003
By 
Andrew Everett (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: U2 - Joshua Tree [DVD] (DVD)
If like me you have a keen interest in the thought process and methods that are used in producing studio albums then this documentury will be of interest to you. You are a guest in the studio amongst all the members of U2 plus producers Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois sharing their accounts of the making of the Joshua Tree album and the creative techniques employed to produce it. The real treat is Bono and Lanois sat in the studio with the original tapes, playing the different sounds and explaining how they created the final mixes. As a U2 I personally found it fascinating to hear Edge talking about how he came up with the guitars for "Streets" and the difficulty it caused Eno and the rest of the band to find a way to make a song out of it. The viewer is not patronised with explanations of technical jargon, and is presumed to have an understanding of music. I would say this is a must have for U2 fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant insight into the making and the men..., 3 Sep 2007
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Joshua Tree - Classic Albums [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A Rockumentary about one the best albums of all time made by one of the best bands of all time, featuring input and comment by the band members and producers themselves cannot fail to be entertaining.

The Classic Album shows have one notable difference from the average programme of this genre. The Classic album series is not just a collection of cheap thrown away programmes dominated by cheesy commentary over a string of fuzzy repeated images with bad quality sound bites and quotes. The series has excellent production values featuring original footage, which centres around getting the old multi track tapes out, and separating out the parts (and in some cases playing along to them or performing the demo version) to demonstrate how the finished product was arrived at. It is this is invaluable part of the show, that demonstrates U2 and the producer's ability for building performances in the studio, and also how the music being made reflected U2's musical direction at the time, and the American literature they were influenced by.

My appreciation of The Joshua tree has grown since watching this DVD. Other reviewers have complained it is not a Concert video which is bizarre as the title clearly states it is from the `Classic Album' series. This DVD is a reflection by those involved in the creation of the album, is a fascinating insight into the making and production of the end product, and contains valuable interviews with Bono, the Edge and the producers Daniel Lanois and Brian Eno. We learn that the Album opener which the show refers to using its working title `Streets' took up almost half of the total time spent making the album on it's own, and the version we have today was almost erased for good by Brian Eno who had been driven mad by the process, and we also hear the 4 track cassette demo of the song recorded by Edge on his own. We also hear Bono describe performing in front of Larry Mullen Jnr on stage is like `getting a good kick in the head', and see Edge demonstrate how the Solo guitar part that is played on the end of `With or without you' is so simple, yet fits in perfectly after the crescendo in the song. We also hear the studio demo of running to stand still with Bono improvising the lyrics and filling in with la la la's, yet manages to come up with almost complete verses at the first take.

There are many more revelatory moments in the show which a true fan is guaranteed to enjoy. I am, I did and so will you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you're a U2 fanatic, this is a must, 16 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: U2: Joshua Tree [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I am mad about U2. Completely and utterly. And this video/dvd documentary is fascinating, if you're interested in more than just listening to their music. I am, and am glad I saw it. The only thing is..... once you've watched it once or twice, it loses its appeal, because you know it all. How many times can someone watch a documentary again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating and amusing look into the working methods of U2, 4 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: U2: Joshua Tree [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If reinventing oneself on a regular basis is what it takes to keep things interesting for both artists and fans alike, then U2 certainly lead the pack, while also managing to sell truck-loads of CDs and fill stadiums around the planet. This look into their working methods for the monster Joshua Tree album is both illuminating and funny, not only for musicians but also for the simply curious. Fans get to hear the parts they left out (and wonder why) while the comments about the creative process from producers Eno and Lanois can be applied to any music, anywhere.On the whole it's pleasantly ego free and amiable, and the best bits are Bono's wincing at his own vocals and Edge's guitar class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the joshua tree?, 3 Feb 2005
By A Customer
If your looking for video footage of songs from the album this is not for you. If you want inside information about mixing of the tracks and some of the inspiration behind the songs then it's quite a good buy for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Insight to U2 - Not a music video., 7 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: U2 - Joshua Tree [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd provides a 4:3 ratio look at the 'behind the scenes' retrospective of the making of the Joshua Tree. If you are looking for a music video version of the album, this is not it. If you want the band's, Bono's and the producer's perspectives, it is not bad. It contains a number of partial music clips, and the entire clip of 'The Sweetest Thing' (written back in the Joshua Tree Years).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collectors must for all u2 fans, 17 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: U2 - Joshua Tree [DVD] (DVD)
Was on the tv a few years back. This DVD shows how the songs were put together in the recording studio, and the bands thoughts on each song. Explains how Lanois and Eno got the end result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE CLASSIC ALBUM SERIES EDITION., 8 Feb 2014
By 
HAN XIAO "heaven851102" (CHINA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joshua Tree - Classic Albums [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I LOVE CLASSIC ALBUM SERIES EDITION. BECAUSE THESE EDITIONS ALWAYS GIVE US A NEW CHANCE TO LOOK BACK THESE CLASSIC ALBUMS AND LEARN MORE FROM THE BONUS MATERIALS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its a documentary, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joshua Tree - Classic Albums [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Not really what I was expecting.
I thought it would have videos of all the tracks, it does not.
Not one full length video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Albums: The Joshua Tree, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Joshua Tree - Classic Albums [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This episode of The Classic Albums series looks in depth at the fantastic 1987 album The Joshua Tree by U2.

The process from the intial conception of the writing process to recording and touring the album are discussed on the programme with contributions from Bono, The Edge, Larry Mullen and Adam Clayton obviosuly as well as Producers Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois. The archive footage of the group recordings as well as the interviews with the contributors to this album really do add to the quality and information given in the programme.

If you like U2 or The Joshua Tree album this DVD is worth watching as a fascinating Genesis in the making of a Classic Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Joshua Tree - Classic Albums [DVD] [2001]
7.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews