Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius at Work!
It seems that if anyone passes away these days, they are proclaimed a genius for the weeks following their death. With Ray Charles though, his sad loss was not what prompted the genius tag, but the real and tangible genius that he possessed.
I did not own any Ray Charles CD's before his untimely death, but always loved his music. I bought this, and gave myself the...
Published on 31 Dec 2004 by michael_m

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great collection but it won't play on PC/iPod
This is a very good collection of Ray Charles' major hits but sadly I won't be able to listen to it on my iPod as it won't play on my PC.
Published 20 months ago by Sparkly Sal


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ray Charles (Audio CD)
Very happy with this CD. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ray Charles (Audio CD)
great quality and great seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ray Charles - truly an unsung master, 23 July 2004
By 
This review is from: The Definitive Ray Charles (Audio CD)
I have 2 names for you - Ray Charles and Stevie Wonder - two of the most influencial song and score writers of the last century. Ray Charles was a keyboard genius, and this album reflects his talent, his love of life, and shows that this is a man who never let his blindness get to him. What he lacked in sight, he made up for in melody - creating music beautiful to the ears.
Sit back, sip a cool drink, close your eyes, and sample a master!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great collection but it won't play on PC/iPod, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Sparkly Sal (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good collection of Ray Charles' major hits but sadly I won't be able to listen to it on my iPod as it won't play on my PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor purchase, 14 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Ray Charles (Audio CD)
At first appearance this seems like a good buy, but the majority of tracks are cut short or faded out, merely giving you a sample of the song. Do not buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For me a one cd set, but a good one, 3 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought into Ray Charles as a result of loving his work on Baby Grand with Billy Joel, and watching the film Ray. Ray didn't come across as a nice chap, but the music was fantastic. Having received the cd's in Amazons usual timely fashion, I was pleased to find cd 1 to my liking. It was every bit as good as I recalled from the film. Although the source material for the film was better, as it was hand picked by Ray from his personal stash (he owned the masters). Unfortunately cd 2 was predominantly Gospel genre, which I do not have a taste for. My mum loved it (she loves the Elvis Gospel stuff) so it may go to her collection at some point. Overall even if like me, you can't stand Gospel, it is still well worth the price and I heartily recommend this to anyone with any taste in music. By the way don't discard cd 2, as there are great tracks on it (though not the Beatles covers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Disc not good, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a 2 disc CD. Disc 1 is fine and I could download the music to my I Pod. Disc 2 had a slight hissing sound in the back ground and when downloaded to my I pod there was terrible interference. I had to delete disc 2 from my I pod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Ray Charles
The Definitive Ray Charles by Ray Charles (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews