Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This How It All Began- Listen & Marvel!!
`Love' came out in `66' at a time when the band's fortune was on the rise- (The Doors looked up to them!). This is a wonderful collection of tight. sharp work. A brilliant re-working of `My Little Red Book' into a rockin' garage punk sneer; some deep ballads such as `A Message to Pretty', of course a Bryan MacLean beautiful offering' Softly To Me' and a whole collection...
Published on 23 July 2008 by Ghostgrey51

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love on the rocks
Not up to the brilliance of Forever Changes but some good tunes on it. If you're expecting a similar album to F C then you might be disappointed. This album sees Love in an earlier rockier incarnation.
Published on 19 Jan. 2004 by trippyx1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This How It All Began- Listen & Marvel!!, 23 July 2008
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
`Love' came out in `66' at a time when the band's fortune was on the rise- (The Doors looked up to them!). This is a wonderful collection of tight. sharp work. A brilliant re-working of `My Little Red Book' into a rockin' garage punk sneer; some deep ballads such as `A Message to Pretty', of course a Bryan MacLean beautiful offering' Softly To Me' and a whole collection of swift driving rock!
There are some who reckon this album sounds Byrdish.. well...yeh.. jangling guitars were quite common in '66, and no disrespect to any other band, but please listen to the power, force and melody in that bass! (What a loss; poor Ken Frossi another casualty). Then there was the amazing range of Arthur Lee's voice he could handle with great skill any style with, snarlin', shoutin', plaintive or just plain songster. And let's hear it for lead guitar John Echols! The man was underrated in his day, I still find his breaks spell binding.
This album is worth it for so many reasons, 1st Love Album, remarkable LA music, Good Garage, and of course Timeless in its appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 60s Classic, 1 Feb. 2004
By 
P. Whitehead (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
Love's eponymous first album shows their 'garage' roots, including punked-up versions of songs like My Little Red Book and Hey Joe. (Rumour has Lee introduced this song to Hendrix who, of course, made the song his own). But in amongst these songs are soothing latin-tinged songs like A Message to Pretty or And More, and more bluesy songs like Signed DC.

Pick up any of the band's first three albums - Love, da Capo or Forever Changes and you will find a rich selection of quality songs. How would I classify them? Hmmmm, that's difficult. Slightly Byrds-ish, slightly Doors-ish, slightly Beefheart-ish, slightly Flying Burritos-ish, slightly folk-rockish with a latin twist... Really, though, they created their own distinctive sound... Love are unique - thanks in large part to Lee's distinctive voice, lyrics and song arrangements. Because of this you may not find them an instant 'hit', but if you do fall for their sound, I think you'll find them a life-long love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this one!, 11 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
This is my favourite Love album, often overlooked in favour of the critically acclaimed "Forever Changes". This album shows the rawer side of the band that really kicks on songs like "Can't Explain" and "My Flash on you". This is a simple, beautiful album that relies less on lush studio arrangements and more on great songs played by a band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the upgrade?, 1 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
I owned the previously-issued Stereo CD of this album. There's no noticeable change in fidelity (this ISN'T a remastering, and doesn't claim to be). There's not much to be learned from hearing the mono mixes - so the real value is in the BONUS tracks.
"Signed D.C." is not an alternate take - it's the familiar take, stripped down to Arthur Lee's guitar and vocal - presumably the "seed" tracks for the rest of the recording (check out the near-heavy-metal version on the "Out There" album for an angst-ridden alternative!). "Number 14" is a country-flavoured throwaway number that I doubt I'll learn to love.
The booklet is more informative, this time around, with contributions from Johnny Echols (it was worth the price of the CD, just to find out that some tracks were done on a Gibson doubleneck with a mandolin neck on the top - that explains away a lot of the "guitar" solos). BECAUSE of the re-issue, my old CD is unsaleable - so, along with my old "Forever Changes" and all my "Polydor" Hendrix, it's gone to my daughters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heavenly, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
It may be something to do with their name, we all know the word, that Love are not too well known. Yet their talent is right up there with the likes of The Byrds, Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin.

On this album are some of their greatest material,including the truly brilliant Little Red Book. Best heard through headphones, with the volume as high as you can bear it, this is a rock lover's taste of heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recognition for this classic is long overdue, 5 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
Invariably spoken of (if at all) as a stepping stone towards Forever Changes, this is actually a classic in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love on the rocks, 19 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
Not up to the brilliance of Forever Changes but some good tunes on it. If you're expecting a similar album to F C then you might be disappointed. This album sees Love in an earlier rockier incarnation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 13 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
A real find,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love
Love by Love (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews