Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb DVD featuring nine Thomas stories and two songs.
This excellent DVD contains nine Thomas episodes, two songs and three games. The model railway used to film the episodes and the songs is superb and adds an element of reality not found in cartoons. Most of the stories are beautifully narrated by Ringo Starr, who brings the characters (especially the Fat Controller) to life in a charming way. The stories will appeal to...
Published on 20 Sept. 2001

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best series
This double video contains all 26 five minute episodes from the fifth series of Thomas & Friends which was made in 1998. Although he never gets onscreen credit, Michael Angelis narrates this, his third series of Thomas. By this point, Britt Allcroft had gained all rights to Thomas and decided to write her own stories with David Mitton, in favour of using Reverand Awdry's...
Published on 16 Sept. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Thomas is Great, 29 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
Bought this for my 3 year old son by mistake thinking it was the Old Thomas. However, he loved it more than any of his other Thomas DVD and now it's the one he asks for every day. The stories are great and the music is brilliant. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Hundred Minutes of Thomas fun!, 19 April 2012
By 
BR "BR" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This video is a must for any Thomasfan, old or new. It features a total of 18 classic episodes from series 1 to 4 and has remained one of my favourite compilation releases since it was first released in the 1990's.

Episodes (with brief summary):
1. Thomas' Train - Thomas is given the task of pulling a passenger train, but forgets the coaches.
2. Thomas and the Breakdown Train - Thomas discovers how useful the breakdown train can be.
3. Whistles and Sneezes - Gordon is made to look foolish and Henry gets even with some naughty schoolboys.
4. James and the Express - James is given the job of pulling the express.
5. Thomas, Percy and the Coal - Thomas and Percy fall out but reunite after both having trouble with coal.
6. Percy's Promise - Percy braves a flood in order to keep his promise to Thomas.
7. Thomas, Percy and the Dragon - Percy thinks the Chinese Dragon is a real dragon.
8. Toby's Tightrope - Mavis inadvertently puts Toby in great danger.
9. Thomas, Percy and the Post Train - Harold thinks he could do a better job at delivering the mail.
10. Heroes - Bill and Ben get in a cause confusion and delay, but later saves the day at the Quarry.
11. Granpuff - Thomas tells the story of Duke the Lost Engine to his engine friends one night.
12. Home at Last - Skarloey returns to the Narrow Gauge railway after a trip to the menders and meets Duncan.
13. Special Funnel - Peter Sam's funnel is knocked off by an icicle and the engines tease him.
14. Train Stops Play - The cricketers' ball ends up in one of Stepney's trucks, but Stepney doesn't know...
15. Bowled Out - The Diesel ruffles a few feathers with the Fat Controller's engines.
16. Paint Pots and Queens - The Queen visits Sodor.
17. Fish - Duck crashes into the back of Henry's fish train entitled "the Flying Kipper".
18. Special Attraction - Toby is to be the special attraction in a parade and Percy meets grumpy barge Bulstrode.

A really nice selection that runs for 100 minutes. The only one criticism I have about this release is that the episode "Granpuff" is missing its sequel episode, "Sleeping Beauty". In "Granpuff" Duke is left in a shed and forgotten about, but is found again in "Sleeping Beauty" so without the latter episode, the story seems to end unhappily. Strange they would leave that episode out.

A lot of these episodes are firm favourites such as "Thomas, Percy and the Dragon", "Thomas, Percy and the Coal" and "Percy's Promise" to name but a few!

Like I said before, this is one of the best (if not THE best) compilation videos! The first five episodes are narrated by the legendary Ringo Starr and the rest by the brilliant Michael Angelis! I would rate this video 5/5 without a doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great video, 10 May 2000
This Thomas The Tank video contains 9 stories from the 1998 series narrated by Michel Angeleas. Each episode on this tape is a little bit spooky since it was reliesed for halloween.My kids watch this tape over and over and I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic series, 25 Aug. 2003
Thomas is really back on form in this, the fifth sereis. Virtually every episode is excellent and is a vast improvement from the past 2 series. Highlights include CRANKY BUGS, SOMETHING IN THE AIR, TOBY AND THE FLOOD,to name but a few. With the exception of the fantasic 1986 series 2, this is certainly the strongest Thomas series to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Nov. 2000
Get out the party hats and blowers. My children really enjoyed this video. It is cram packed with thomas episodes. This video provides endless hours of enjoyment. My children adore Thomas and this video is just one of many in their collection and I would recommend it to anyone..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fun - get some peace and quiet !, 18 July 2001
By A Customer
Bought this today for my son ( nearly 4 ) and havent heard a peep ( peep ! ) since - a good selection of stories featuring all the major characters ; along with a song we all enjoyed and some games which vary each time they are played. For my son who is a TTE fanatic it was well worth every penny .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Review!, 8 Oct. 2009
A Kid's Review
I really enjoyed the video. I've watched it two times because it's new. It is one of my best videos. The best episodes on it are 'Horrid Lorry', 'Toby's Discovery', 'Duncan Gets Spooks' and 'Snow'. It would be great if it was on DVD but it's good on video. I'm a great Thomas fan and I enjoyed this one really good. I especially liked the part when one of the lorries slid off the road and got smashed.
I have to say that I can't decide which episode is the best because they're all really, really good. It is one of the best video's yet!!
Joseph McFadden Aged 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ''Well I am Chuffed.'' said Thomas., 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This is a great Thomas the Tank Engine video. For the first time on the Thomas videos, the songs climb on board for the fun. Michael Anglies narrates the 5 stories, My favourite one is '' Mind that Bike . ''It is about a postman named Tom Tipper who has a bike to carry the post because he couldn't afford to keep his old post van running and Percy the Small Green Engine helps Tom get a new post van by running over his bike by accident. What a great Thomas video. Get this one for your children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous entertainment for Thomas fans and normal people too, 14 Feb. 2006
By 
J. CROSBY "jcrosby" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has to be the most watched video in our house - and that's saying something considering we've had it for over a year now. Grandma saw it and thought our then 2 year old might quite like it. Understatement of the year. Not only does he know ALL the words to ALL the songs (he's now 3 and a half) but his little sister (14 months) is following on fast. When I can't get her to eat her dinner, on go the Thomas songs and it's a breeze. She's so engrossed in the video, with all the catchy songs, that she forgets she doesn't want to open her mouth for dinner. We've even had to copy the songs onto a mini disc so we can have them in the car. Excellent for long journeys although, as another reviewer says, you'll find yourself singing all the songs at inopportune moments - and for ages after the kids are asleep in the car. All my nephews have a copy too and everyone loves it.
Can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Video, 14 Jun. 2006
This is certainly one of the best videos that was released for the earlier episodes of Thomas.

The stories are...

Gallant Old Engine - See how Rheneas saved the Skarloey Railway.

Henry and the Elephant - Henry goes to remove a tunnel blockage.

Thomas & the Special Letter - The eight main engines go to the Big City.

Bullseyes - Daisy meets a bull named Champion.

Mind that Bike - Percy does Tom Tipper, the postman, a favour.

The songs are...

Thomas we love you

Let's have a race

Toby

The Island Song

Don't judge a book by it's cover.

The narration by Michael Angelis is superb, and the songs by O'Donnell and Campbell are far better than the majority of songs done for children's TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas & Friends - Seasonal Scrapes (Bumper Collection) [DVD]
£9.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews