Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Blackadder at it's best but good enough
This one-off creation of the Blackadder team was made for the turn of the millennium and includes all those people who have had recurring appearances in other Blackadder series including Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie and Miranda Richardson. The plot is basic with Blackadder and Baldrick building a fake time machine so they can win a bet, only to find that it actually works...
Published on 12 Sep 2006 by T. R. Alexander

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
This misses all the sparkle and sarcasm of Blackadder at its best. Instead it relies on slapstick and unfunny humour which loses its point very quickly, it feels like something rammed together quickly instead of a labour of love, it misses the verve of the earlier series. The Cromwell episode is poor as well largely because the writers aren't confident with the...
Published on 9 Mar 2006 by Henry Ireton


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Blackadder at it's best but good enough, 12 Sep 2006
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This one-off creation of the Blackadder team was made for the turn of the millennium and includes all those people who have had recurring appearances in other Blackadder series including Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie and Miranda Richardson. The plot is basic with Blackadder and Baldrick building a fake time machine so they can win a bet, only to find that it actually works. It is unfortunate but you just get the feel from this film that the team were not at there best when they made it, some of the jokes fall a bit flat and some of the performances are ropey at best. There are some good jokes scattered throughout the piece but I just couldn't get of the feeling that this was an opportunity wasted. The disc also includes a comic relief sketch set during the Civil War period and Baldrick's Video Diary both of which are reasonably good to watch. Although Back and forth isn't the Worst in the Blackadder series by a long way I still wouldn't give it more than 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd way to end the saga, 24 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Most people were very happy to hear of this one-off episode to complete(probably) the Blackadder saga. However, while this is very funny, it doesn't really gel with the other episodes. The whole thing(which is far too short by the way) just doesn't feel right. There is no laugh track, it sometimes seems forced and unnatural, and suffers from the worked-on-the-big-screen-but-seems-too-small-on-television bug. The other thing is that the idea of a contemporray Blackadder is somewhat self-contradictory. The video also contains classic clips and interviews with the cast and crew. This further aggravates the viewer by completely omitting the first series, and the character of Lord Percy. All in all, the jokes are very funny, but the whole tone and feel of the thing leaves one baffled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 9 Mar 2006
By 
Henry Ireton (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This misses all the sparkle and sarcasm of Blackadder at its best. Instead it relies on slapstick and unfunny humour which loses its point very quickly, it feels like something rammed together quickly instead of a labour of love, it misses the verve of the earlier series. The Cromwell episode is poor as well largely because the writers aren't confident with the period as they are with the regency and with the first world war. This looks lazy and the work of people who have moved on and not neccessarily to better things. Its worth a one star review not neccessarily because it is one star quality, but because it is such a disappointment after the rest of Blackadder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny but too short, 2 Aug 2007
By 
Wellington (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The price is rather steep considering you only get a thirty minute long episode with two short bonuses (Cavalier years and Baldrick's video diary). However any true fan of Blackadder should 'cough up' as this is Blackadder on a whole new scale. A much larger budget was used, much larger cast, many more sets and a brand new style - instead of period Blackadders' it is set through time. Blackadder and Baldrick meet Shakespeare, go to the Jurassic age, go to Roman-held Britain, go to Sherwood Forest to meet Robin Hood and to the Battle of Waterloo! Some people have said on here that the plot is basic and boring but I would beg to differ; surely any plot which twists and turns throughout the episode due to Blackadder and Baldrick changing events in the past is far from predictable, and even further from simple. It is a much more satisfying end to the series than "goodbyeeeeeeeeeeeee" from the last episode of Series 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not there..., 26 Mar 2006
By 
J. A. Woolgar "fizzog" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I was unfamiliar with the Blackadder franchise when I first saw this film in the millenium dome when I was quite young and can't really remember it. However I revisited it a number of years later, (after purchasing the first four series for my birthday), and was disappointed to say the least. The real thing missing here is Ben Elton. He brought the wit to the show with Blackadder II, and his lack of presence is painfully felt. Also, what really got to me was the beginning montage of pictures. The two pieces of historical artwork were funny, but the other pictures just resort to cheap laughs, such as Blackadder in a dress posing on a sofa, and holding his nose next to the queen. Hardly intelligent humour and unbelievably out of character for Edmund.
All in all, a great idea, (the concept of a Blackadder millenium film, and even perhaps the time machine idea), but sadly wasted. In other words, and to quote from the third series, 'about as effective as a catflap in an elephant house'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star because I can't give it one half., 16 May 2001
By A Customer
This is a shameful end to the legacy of Blackadder. Not only does it lack the sensibility the old shows had, it's just plain not funny. Maybe it's because it's so short, that you never get a sense of who these people are or maybe Curtis and Elton have just lost their grip on Edmund, but this show falls flat. About five decent laughs in a half hour is not very good. The documentary on the making of 'Back and Forth' is funnier! They seem to be ticking off a list of jokes they have to get through, whether they make sense or not. "O.K., now an underpants joke, then one about being 'thick' and then we'll...etc."
If you like Blackadder and time travel, you're better off finding "A Blackadder Christmas Carol" than even watching this sad, sad thing. Maybe they'll do better in the Summer of 3000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
It is not up to the standard of the other Blackadder series, so I won't be watching it multiple times as I do all the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fitting finale, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Picks up the eras that the original four series didn't cover....

Who knew that Roman soldiers rank determined the length of their skirts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good programme, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this on the telly so was very happy when I could get the DVD of it. Purchased it a long time ago. Very enjoyable. Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rowan at his best, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Robert Garrett (Osnabruck, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
TV series DVD for all BBC Buffs with an interesting insight into life in the Middle Ages. Highly recommended reading for one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD]
Blackadder Back and Forth [1999] [DVD] by Rowan Atkinson (DVD - 2003)
4.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews