Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are my World
Danceable, defiant and never knowingly understated; this collection of hits from the diminutive Scottish disco queen is a real treat from start to finish. What I love about Somerville's music is that he always gives his all and never worries about his vocal shortcomings. Smalltown Boy; that autobiographical tale of a gay man in a strange world remains as haunting as it...
Published on 27 April 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music but many tracks stop early.
Great music but many tracks stop early, sometimes by tens of seconds. Very disappointing as I otherwise love the convenience of mp3 purchases.
Published 10 months ago by Timothy Corbett-Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are my World, 27 April 2009
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
Danceable, defiant and never knowingly understated; this collection of hits from the diminutive Scottish disco queen is a real treat from start to finish. What I love about Somerville's music is that he always gives his all and never worries about his vocal shortcomings. Smalltown Boy; that autobiographical tale of a gay man in a strange world remains as haunting as it did in 1984, whilst tracks such as Why and Run from Love burn the disco torch with verve and passion. The Communards' back catalogue is also fine, and they at least made their cover versions of old songs different from the originals. A must have album and a great testament to a unique talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Party album extraordinaire, 29 Oct 2010
By 
R. A. Mansfield "bertieronbob" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
For someone who was so ubiquitous in the pop charts throughout the 80s, it's mystifying how quickly Jimmy Somerville fell out of favour.

As part of Bronski Beat, The Communards and finally as a solo artist, Somerville released some of the most memorable tracks of the decade, including fantastic covers of Don't Leave Me This Way, I Feel Love and Never Can Say Goodbye, the poignant Smalltown Boy, the brilliant So Cold The Night, Why? and many more.

His falsetto may be grating to some, but this for me is pop at it's most infectious. Impossible not to sing along to, it's a cracking album to add to your collection and guaranteed to get a party going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 13 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
This album is excellent. It is a slightly updated version of the Singles Collection which is my favourite cd. So many recognisable tunes. Songs that I don't think have dated. A good one for the car to sing along to. A good one for the gym to get exercising to. From the Bronski Beat days thru' the Communards, then as a solo artist, an excellent collection - for so many people this will be their introduction to this music ...and they get all the best songs on one cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't deny yourself this CD a minute longer!, 28 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
God, I love this CD! This music was always in the background of my childhood, and I have vivid memories of Jimmy's numerous hits right through the 80's and early 90's. I don't know why I waited whole *months* after this compilation came out to buy it! I listen to it as I walk into work, and it's the best antidote to grey, dismal days and pouring rain: I just walk along encased in my very own private disco! Just get it: you know you need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 29 April 2012
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
All the songs you remember from their later days of the1980 and the 1990 well worth the money will use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album!, 8 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
Another fantastic album! Jimmy Sommerville at his best. My personal fave is The Harold Melvin cover "Don't Leave Me This Way", awesome track, and the rest of the album doesn't disappoint either. Can't recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Britain's best eighties pop singers, 15 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
The eighties are not my favorite decade when it comes to pop music. Nevertheless, some great pop music was recorded during those years, some of it by Jimmy Somerville, who was lead singer of Bronski Beat and, later, the Communards. Both of those groups are represented here but there are also some of Jimmy's solo songs, too. Jimmy's distinctive falsetto voice could not be mistaken for any other. It is worth pointing out that Jimmy was gay and this is reflected in the lyrics of many of the original songs. I'm not sure how well Jimmy's music did in America but he was, for a while, an important singer on the British scene.

Bronski Beat had six UK hits but only the first four are included here. Hit that perfect beat (a top three hit) and Come on come on, both recorded after Jimmy left the group, are missing (presumably because this is a compilation of Jimmy's music). Two of the others also made the top three, these being Small town boy and an unlikely medley (with Marc Almond) of I feel love (Donna Summer) and Johnny remember me (John Leyton). Why made it to number six while It ain't necessarily so made the top twenty.

The Communards had a UK number one hit with Don't leave me this way, a cover of a song that had been a hit in the seventies for two different singers - Thelma Houston and Harold Melvin. Harold's version charted higher in the UK but Thelma's version went to number one in America. I enjoy all three versions but the Communards' version features not only Jimmy's excellent lead singing but also excellent vocal support by Sarah Jane Morris, a singer otherwise unknown to me.

The Communards had one other UK top five hit - another cover, this time Never can say goodbye, originally a hit for Gloria Gaynor - and one other UK top ten hit, the original song, So cold the night. Their other UK hits were You are my world, Disenchanted, Tomorrow, For a friend and There's more to love.

Jimmy had five UK hits without either group, the biggest of which was You make me feel mighty real, a top three hit. A cover of To love somebody (Bee Gees) made the UK top ten. Comment te Dire adieu (featuring June Miles Kingston) made the UK top twenty. Read my lips was a minor UK hit.

While I think that it would have been good to include the post-Jimmy Bronski Beat hits, their omission is understandable. All the essentials among Jimmy's own recordings are here, making this an excellent collection of music by one of the best British pop singers of the eighties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80's Music at its Best, 23 July 2009
By 
D. J. Lee "DJL" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
A masterpiece of 80's music from Jimmy Sommerville. From the soulful ballads to the up beat pop, he delivers on all accounts. A must buy for all those 80's music lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Somerville ... The Best of, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Jimmy Somerville, Bronski Beat & The Communards (Audio CD)
A mixture of records during his career as a group singer and soloist, been too long since I heard them, but now my youthful days bring back happy memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews