Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Civ III made me re-discovery the amazement of Civ I !!!
I began thinking that I didn't need any tutorial as I knew it all from Civ I and II. WRONG!!! After 5 games, I was still amazed of the difficulty of the average levels... and getting used to some new features (e.g. artillery being captured) is not easy!
After getting used to the "new" rules, I found a great game to play - the computer can even be a "sincere"...
Published on 31 Mar 2003

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great.
I was really hoping to be amazed by this game. The magazine reviews were positive, I'd loved the previous 2 incarnations so what went wrong?
The good points first. Trade is much improved. I especially like the concept of trading strategic resources. Unit support from your overall treasury is also a more realistic idea. Increased diplomatic options also help. The...
Published on 16 Dec 2001


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Civ III made me re-discovery the amazement of Civ I !!!, 31 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
I began thinking that I didn't need any tutorial as I knew it all from Civ I and II. WRONG!!! After 5 games, I was still amazed of the difficulty of the average levels... and getting used to some new features (e.g. artillery being captured) is not easy!
After getting used to the "new" rules, I found a great game to play - the computer can even be a "sincere" ally... if you treat it right, it will treat you right. And you can swap/exchange almost anything. Impressive!
You can also win the game through 6 different ways (that you can turn on/off) which is a great plus.
But a few items are annoying:
* If you are into military conquest, the final part (modern times) is boring as you might need to move a lot of units across the board - this has made me give up in times;
* Technology goes too fast so that some units you rarely use because new ones are developed very fast;
* There are 2 or 3 glitches that can remove some fun (beware of battleships finding it's way in automatic mode - it might declare war on who you do not want!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant improvement on Civ II, 7 May 2002
By 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
I was a Civ II addict, but had never played the original. I took a while to get used to the new concepts, but once I did I was hooked. The new routes to victory are interesting, and can certatinly add new perspectives to the game! I have won onlt once with a cultural victory,and civilisations that build cities close to my core area always end up seeing them defect to me!
Making resources a requirement to build certain units is a great feature, and makes it interesting towards the end. It also provides a useful source of cash when other civilisations do not have those resources. Also the diplomacy is far better - you can now demand cities as a condition of peace, and there us a far greater aspect of haggling for knowledge and resouces that civ two just didn't have. Also, the new 'small wonders' are good, and add a sense of realism.
Drawbacks - I don't know if there are that many. The lack of scenarios is certainly a drawback, a little bit of work could have yielded some great rewards in terms of some realistic historical scenarios, especially with the new routes to victory (how about, say, the quest for cultural dominance in certain historical eras, as well as a few decent military ones would have been great), I always found the civ two ww2 scenario far too easy, especially if you were the Germans or the Russians, although I never played as the Neutral's!).
One annoying factor is the inability to choose the sex of your tribe's leader, for example, the English are always led by a woman, you can change the name, but that is it - but that is certainly not a major problem.
I certainly haven't had any major problems with corruption, especially on the better government types. You will probably learn early on the democracy is by far the best, especially during peacetime, and monarchy is the best for war. War weariness is also a good idea, as it allows you to keep things under control without the rather silly idea in civ two that tied units to cities and meant that citizens became discontent when you sent them away.
Also, the new nationality concept is great, and adds some interesting features (for example, your own citizens are far more likely to defect back to your side if they are captured by a rival, although the same is also true of other nationalities captured by your side).
The route to diplomatic victory is good, although it can end the game a bit prematurely if the other civilisations hate you!
I haven't got to grips with the space race yet, and I have to say that whole concept annoys me a little in both the games and I usually switch that option off, preferring to let the game run through to the end.
In summary, I think it is a great game, with some excellent features. It does not fulfill its potential though, and I hope there are extra features to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than some make out!, 15 Jan 2003
By 
Mr. Steven Black "warwickboy" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
Civ 3 has taken a lot of flak from certain sections of the strategy gaming fraternity. Most of this is unjustified.
All those who remember Civ II (which at the time I thought was the best game ever made), will get great benefit from this newer version. I like to see Civ 3 as the logical sequel to Civ II, and tend to ignore the tangential Alpha Centauri and Call to Power.
A simple test: if you get a copy of this game, play it for a bit, and then return to have a game or two of Civ II, the improvements become much clearer. The older game looks cumbersome and lacks depth in comparison.
I was a little annoyed when I first started Civ 3, as the immediate look-and-feel of the game is different. Strategy games like this have nothing to do with graphics, however, and only by playing Civ 3 for a while will the real expertise that lies behind it shine through.
The diplomacy is a massive improvement. The different methods for winning encourage different approaches to gameplay, and many more options are now available for building a winning civilisation. The notion that there's only a set amount of ways to achieve victory is frankly RUBBISH. Only someone who has failed to experiment could make such a claim.
I managed to win a game without ever actively attacking an opponent. Other games I won by being as bellicose as I possibly could be.
Forget all the nonsense that's talked about this game and get yourself a copy. It's a fine wine amongst a cellar full of cheap plonk, taking time to acquire a taste for, but well worth it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could have been better, 10 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
The new features really are good but after playing the game for a while, things like culture and trade resources become just another thing to consider as you colonize.
Diplomacy has not been greatly improved, by which I mean small empires and backward races still demand WAY more than they should. "Give me invention", "Give me your world map", "Give me money" will be the general gist of all conversations with the computer and they will want them in exchange for a pittance. On the otherhand, should you want to trade for a technology/resource etc they have, expect to pay double or triple its actual value... I dont make the mistake of demanding it, even a civilization "in Awe" of you will still war for the tiniest of demands (and they will somehow convince every ally you have to do the same too).
Corruption is REALLY crippling, with improvements and government types having only the barest of impacts in reducing the problem. An empire of 10 cities on a medium map can expect around 5 of them (no matter size) to be TOTALLY useless, no money, no shields... This seems to be the case with most government types including democracy and republic.
The American version has also suffered some bugs, giving the general impression the end product has been rushed.
In the combat, there still occurs the old Phalanx vs Tank problem, where the Phalanx can kill any number of Tanks thrown at it. This can get particularly annoying sometimes.
Either the devolopers or publishers, I dont know which, made the desicion to ship the game without Multiplayer which in this day and age is almost a crime. In my opinion there will be a convenient add-on costing 20 in which this will be rectified... *sigh*
All that said, the game is still an addictive Civ game, it is not an updated version of Civ2, it is very much a new game in its own right. It is still fun too, for the older civ fans out there most of these problems are merely challenges to be overcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say farewell to family and friends, 28 Nov 2001
By 
Andrew (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
Because once you have installed Civ3 on your PC they will cease to matter to you. Like Civilization 2 before it this game has that elusive "Just one more turn" syndrome that will keep you up till the early hours.
The aim is still the same to guide your civilization over 6000 years to be the dominant world power but now theres even more ways to win which means even more strategies and even more replayability.
The new diplomacy and trading options are superb and the introduction of culture brings a whole new dimension to the game. Yes corruption has been increased since Civ2 but thats good - you need new strategies.
Can't stay got to have just one more turn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much improved but easily recognised, 15 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
Civilization III is the latest incarnation of this ever-popular game and is as addictive as the first two versions of the game. For a first-time player this game is a must, but even for the experienced player there is enough that is different here to make the game worthwhile.
If you haven't played the game before, where have you been? You take your civilization from the Stone Age through to the colonisation of Alpha Centauri. Along the way you build new cities, provide them with improvements, build wonders of the world, control your economy, conduct diplomacy with your neighbours and wage war on a vast scale--and much more! This is a highly addicitive game that will tax both your strategy and tactics (as well as giving you late nights...)
The look and feel of the game is much the same as Civ II, and experienced players will be able to pick up the game quickly. There are some new units, changes to city improvements and substantial changes to wonders. Combat has been improved with new elite units and armies and new systems of combat.
These changes, however, amount to little more than tinkering. The big changes lie first in a much better system of diplomacy. You can now conclude a range of different alliances with your neighbours and must try to keep at least some of the world allied to you. Indeed, you can win a diplomatic victory now. You can deal in almost anything as part of diplomacy from trade agreements, to scientific advances, to cities. This is all crying out for a multiplayer game--why isn't there one? Second, trade has been much improved. Trade is now in luxuries or strategic resources. You must either possess these within your empire, build a colony, or you must trade with your opponents for them. Most importantly the game now contains the completely new concept of "culture." Each of your cities and your overall civilization has its own level of culture determined principally by city improvements. This affects not only how your neighbours react to you, (they can be awed by your culture) but also determines the boundaries of your empire, for in this game there are clear boundaries to your empire. This all means that there are now many more ways to win the game than just conquering your opponents, and winning the game has become rather more of a challenge.
On the down side there is no multi-player option, a real weakness, but I suspect a multi-player version will be brought out. Corruption is also rather overstated and the patch which reduces corruption is essential. However, corruption does force you to play this game in rather different ways from other versions of Civilization and there ARE ways to overcome its worst effects, but discovering them is part of the game for experienced players!
If you haven't played Civilization before this is game is a "must." If you have played Civ II there are enough changes in the game to make it well-worthwhile, although it doesn't feel THAT different from Civ II, and the changes between Civ II and Civ III seem far less than those between the original version of Civilization and Civ II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Civilisation 3, 7 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
Speeds up the creation of new worlds. Better graphics and a faster paced game makes this a much better version than the 2 previous editions. Extremely absorbing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just another turn....., 8 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
This game is excellent and is very hard to turn off.
I've played Civ 1 and Civ2 right up till the week I got Civ 3 and I think it builds on the strengths of the 1st 2 and made important changes.
Many of the Wonders are changed, e.g. Leonardos is nowhere near as awesome as it used to be - but thats a good thing. You have to pay a lot more attention to keeping your people happy and the heavy corruption will certainly affect the style of play used in Civ2. The latest patch addresses the corruption, but make sure you dont build the Forbidden Palace in the next city to your capital, doh!
Needing to have resources in order to build certain units such as iron for swordsmen is a great idea, but this means fairly rapid expansion at the start is essential to make sure your domain includes some key raw materials. The changes to trade and diplomacy are great, glad to get rid of those silly units. Of course it was handy stockpiling caravans to hurry up a wonder, but I think the new approach is better and fairer.
There are some minor drawbacks.
Corruption is very high if you conquer a city far from home. A Democracy appears to have very little affect on corruption and ditto with a courthouse. I need to complete more games to get a better feel for this.
You cant cheat any more :D It was nice to be able to take a quick check on how everyone else is doing before heading to bed.
I wish it came with more scenarios (pacific, north america, etc).
Ummm. Cant think of anything else I dont like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many criticism levelled at this game are unfair, 13 Dec 2001
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
I can't let some of the criticisms levelled at this game lie. CivIII finishes what Alpha Centauri started, so any comments that CivIII has 'lost' features from the Call to Power series make no sense. The computer players *DO* gather large forces before attacking you, I've seen it happen. The interface is by far the best I've used in any computer game because it is logical and provides power users with a wealth of tools to take short-cuts. In CivII, you would spend much of your time looking at the city screen, while in CivIII you barely visit it. The combat system has been rationalised, making it far easier to compare units. The supposed Tank v Phalanx 'problem' certainly hasn't manifested itself in any games I've played. If you are trying to conquer somewhere and don't expect any casualties, more fool you. The defender's advantage is certainly not unbalanced. The new features, including culture and strategic resources, add a whole new feel to the game and provide interesting interim goals during the game. The increased corruption levels mean you have to find other ways to win than just steam-rollering the opposition. Live and let live becomes a realistic strategy. All in all, this is a game as exquisitely engineered as the board game Settlers of Catan. No other strategy game has been as carefully crafted as this one. Extraneous complications have been removed, leading to a crisp feel as you make strategic decisions.
The lack of a multiplayer facility may rile some, but that's not why I buy a strategy game. I want to play the odd turn here and there, not spend all night thrashing through a game and running up my phone bill. The lack of wonder movies is just irrelevant. In CivII and Alpha Centauri I would always skip them to get back to the game. Strategy games are not about eye candy. CivII is an historical game rather than a speculative one, and if you want amazing future technologies, go and buy Alpha Centauri on budget. They just wouldn't fit in CivIII.
I could go on, because there are yet more ways CivII has pleasantly surprised me, but suffice to say I nearly didn't buy it, but now I'm glad someone persuaded me to fork out for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 20 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Sid Meier's Civilization 3 (Video Game)
Many people, particularly those in the hardcore Civilization gaming community, have slated Civiliziation 3 because it's not "different" enough to Civilization. Certainly, the games are similar--but the new additions in Civilization 3 make all the difference. Crisp, bright graphics, a tremendous AI that will challenge even the most experienced of players, the addition of the concept of culture and enriched trade and diplomacy systems make this the best empire-building game ever released.
Probably the closest any of us will get to ruling the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sid Meier's Civilization 3
Sid Meier's Civilization 3 by Namco Bandai (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / XP)
Used & New from: 1.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews