Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reaches Parts that other FPS don't reach.
I'm not really a huge fan of the FPS genre. In the last 10 years i've only played through Quake 1 and 2 on the PC and Timesplitters on the PS2. However, i'd heard great rumblings about this game, i'd heard it was an interactive take on Saving Private Ryan. I needed no more convincing...
The opening scene kicks off totally in the vein of said Speilberg epic. The sound...
Published on 21 Jun. 2002 by Mr. SCM Bell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Medal of Honor: Frontline
Plot: You play as Lt. Jimmy Patterson and the year is 1944. With nothing like starting you off in the deep end, you begin the game storming Normandy beach. If you manage to survive this, you then go on to playing a huge part of Operation Market Garden which includes seizing the Nijmegen Bridge, sabotaging German U-Boats and stowing away on a speeding armoured train to...
Published on 16 Mar. 2011 by Borry


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reaches Parts that other FPS don't reach., 21 Jun. 2002
By 
Mr. SCM Bell "Black Cat Theory" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2) (Video Game)
I'm not really a huge fan of the FPS genre. In the last 10 years i've only played through Quake 1 and 2 on the PC and Timesplitters on the PS2. However, i'd heard great rumblings about this game, i'd heard it was an interactive take on Saving Private Ryan. I needed no more convincing...
The opening scene kicks off totally in the vein of said Speilberg epic. The sound effects are so sharp and pulsating that it was as though they were lifted straight from the film and the graphics are smooth with loving attention to detail. Real killjoys may notice genre characteristic gaps and clumsy movement when in close interaction with your surroundings but this really shouldn't put you off. The chaotic first mission is not really as intense as the film, that would be impossible, but let me tell you, it comes a close second. I guarantee you will be dodging invisible bullets and you may even shed a tear at the entrance to the German bunker complex when one of your mates is shot to pieces by a machine gun nest.
A notable reviewer mentioned that you may feel a certain degree of disspointment when you find out that this intensity isn't carried on immediately past the first level. Disregard this comment. Take a look at any great film or game, you just don't get 200% visceral fury from beginning to end and like Saving Private Ryan, MOH-F goes a little more stealthy and downbeat past the opening bloodbath. Say what you like, but I love it. The submarine infiltration and the following shipyard mission are outstanding. Brillantly paced, scripted and the soundtrack puts many Hollywood blockbusters totally to shame.
Another honourable mention goes out to MOH-F for depicting the British during WW2 in a favourable light. Many American entertainment mediums seem convinced we are ridiculous-accented morons who did nothing but ride through WW2 on their coat-tails. Not so here. Although you play an American a latter, particularly harrowing mission, through the streets of Arnheim (emulating brilliantly the final battle in Saving Private Ryan), sees you fighting alongside British paras. You fight inch by inch, side by side through the ruined streets while a haunting choir dramatically provide the musical cues. The voices of the British soldiers around you gave me a genuine moment of national pride!
There is really little to complain about in this game. There is some dodgy animation when you man a machine gun post, ladders are ridiculously fiddly to climb and the hit detection when shooting at very long range is occasionally a little inaccurate but believe me these things are so insignificant overall. The level of detail is unbelievable, just listen to the germans chatting to each other, the grind and clank of Panzers moving down onto your position, the valour, the computer generated human sacrifice! You almost feel guilty having such a good time re-living such a dreadful period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only game to own, 7 Nov. 2003
By 
E. Reilly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have over fifty games in my ps2 collection. Some of them are really excellent games (GTA: Vice city, Tony Hawk 4, Fifa 2003 etc...) but they don't even come close to this game.
It's not just about pointing and shooting. It takes great skill and intelligence to manouver yourself safely around the missions. The graphics and sound are first-class and truly a realistic representation of fighting in WW2.
When I completed this game I was so disapointed...I just wanted it to go on forever. Yet playing it again and again has not dampened the addictivness or excitability of this game. A true masterpeice.
In responce to the review above: They did not copy of Saving Private Ryan. The D-day landings are a documented peice of history. Everything you see in this game is factual (except for the characters and plot line of course) and not copied from Hollywood fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I want more MOH, more, more, more......., 20 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2) (Video Game)
The MOH series provided the best entertainment on the PS1, and certainly isn't a let down on the PS2.
The graphics are good, though not without fault (German soldiers getting stuck in walls occaisionally). The aiming can sometimes be a little off, and it can be quite annoying when you have crawled into the hiding place of the gods to discover that although you can see your enemies, it just won't let you shoot them! Having said that the death animations are fantastic, a 12 bore to the family jewels of an unsuspecting soldier is hard to tire of (Sick I know - oh well!)
It was the music that turned PS1 MOH from a good shoot 'em up, into a fantastic one, it's certainly true of Frontline. I sometimes wonder what my neighbours are thinking when I pipe the sound through my separates at around 110DB, especially if there's a machine gun nest on offer! It is the atmosphere and suspense which really makes it and definately can get you ducking and twitching at every footstep you hear.
Some may find it a little repetitive, which it is, but then it is just so much fun. I am still struggling with it on hard at the moment, and I've had the game since it first came out. I will do it eventually, and am hoping that the reward will be a two player option which it is definately lacking, and with the fantastic sniper rifle it could be so much fun.
So why not 5 stars? There used to be the best soundbyte on the first series when you took a soldiers tin hat off with a good clean shot, and despite many, many attempts to do get this sound to come out of Frontline it just doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Game, Top Purchase, 20 Jun. 2002
By 
M. Holland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game along with Deus Ex for the PS2 and played Medal of Honour first and havent stopped playing it since.
The starting beach scenes are fantastic and the game isnt that easy - a big plus and you cant just walk through it in about 2 hours. I am still playing the game and havent completed it but have to say up to now it is very good, in comparison to other games its as good (if not better) than half life and better than Max Payne (which I also like).
The enemy AI is very good, I first played Doom years ago and enemies in those days just stood in the same spot blasting at you, these days they are far more intelligent. Like Half Life the enemy will attack but if they start losing men will retreat, find cover etc. Also if you shoot the enemy in the foot they will fall over, a non lethal shot will only wound them and they will get back up - therefore head and essential body part shots are the ones that count.
The variety of weapons is excellent, unlike some other games of this genre you cannot shoot someone miles away with a pistol, you will need to use the sniper rifle with scope, if you can find the enemy through the mist and steam.
The balance of the game is a big plus. I love quake revolution for the sheer frag fest, not giving a toss how much damage just the kills you get, in medal of honour there are parts which are a full on bullet festival and other parts where a more stealthy approach is best - taking out people from long distance while staying concealed. Additionally there are the occasional puzzle / task parts which fit in nicely and dont take over.
On balance this is excellent and with 7 quid off what you would pay in the shops is well worth it. I reserve to give any game 5 stars but this probably derserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best PS2 game yet., 12 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2) (Video Game)
WHAT CAN i SAY ABOUT THIS GAME? Its the only PS2 game i have never regretted parting with money for and the includes MGS2!! The graphics are incredable the music is the best I have ever heard on any system. But suprisingly all this plays second to the gameplay itself. You will actually find yourself ducking outta the way of bullets and even feeling sorry for some of the german soldiers. Dont believe me - the second level - you are storming a bunker , you come through a doorway between some boxes, on the floor there are 2 geman soldiers enjoying a cigarette and talking about what sounds like home.I tried every way to sneak past them buthonestly i had to do a lot of thinking before grabbing the gun and doing the inevitable. This is basically 'Saving private ryan' the game. It emotional its action packed and has a lot of dark humour. The best pS2 game yet. P.S. Try not feeling any terror on the D .Day landing level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
I dont know about you, but I love this game. I actually bought it over a year ago now, but it is still one of the games I play most often. I also cant beleive some of the reviews it has received, most of them from disgruntled PC owners who dont realize that pc's cost so much more than PS2's for a reason!!! The graphics are sharp, the landscapes are detailed and realistic, and the first level really sets the game up well. The character animation and movement has not been bettered as yet either. The most enjoyable part of this game is the gameplay, and its also very challenging. Months passed by trying to complete the mental Arneham Knights level, but I never once gave up because it always leaves you wondering whats round the next corner. Now its gone platinum, its well worth a buy. Highly recommended, just dont slit your wrists when you hear the music!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning !!!, 20 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2) (Video Game)
The release of Medal of Honour:Frontline on the PS2 is something anyone who owns a Playstation 2 should be grateful for.For those who've played the previous incarnations of the series on the Playstation you will not be disapointed.A lot has been said about the first opening mission, storming the beaches of Normandy, and rightly so.As the Higgins boat creeps towards the beach, waves crashing all around you, the guns of the destroyers sending shell's whistling overhead and the harsh bark of machine gun fire coming from emplacements on the shore, you start to think "this is a bad idea" The opening is stunning, and although the pace changes after that, the game does not lose anything in the change. You're back again as Lt Jimmy Patterson, this time caught up in Operations Overlord and Market Garden. The selection of weapons is familiar, Colt 45,M1 Garand rifle,BAR,MP40,Grenades and Panzerschrek along with some others. The control mechanism is straight forward and easy to pick up if you've never played any of the series before. The missions live up to the usual standard, clearing out German bunkers on the beaches,trying to find a way across Nijmegen Bridge, sneaking aboard an armoured train on its way to a top secret Nazi facility.There is the perfect mix of play, you'll creep/run between girders and beams on Nijmegen Bridge, trying to avoid the snipers whilst trying to defuse the explosives planted.Then later you come across a destroyed factory with the company of a few British Para's at your side, and all hell breaks loose.Germans appear everywhere, machine gunners and a Panzerschrek squad, there are bullets and ricochets all over the place. The one thing that really lifts this game that little bit higher, is the atmosphere. The "character" thats been put in to your friends and enemies. The crease's in their clothing, the three days of beard growth, the fact that not all the Germans wear exactly the same uniform, even if they appear to come from the same unit. Next is the sound, it really is amazing. The crunch of your boots on the ground,the whizz of bullets flying on your direction.Even the in game music is exceptional, again helping to create that most important ingredient, atmosphere. The game could be criticised for not being as free roaming as other titles. But in many ways this adds to the intensity of the game. I would have to recommend this game to anyone who wants the most out of their Playstation2. It maintains the standard of the first two games, and then some. It may only be a game, but if your grandfather was involved in all this over 50 years ago, it does make you appreciate him a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good Indeed, 19 May 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2) (Video Game)
For a game thats about 5 years old this holds up really well. Starting off at D-Day on the beaches the game effectively recreates the beginning of "Saving Private Ryan" in marvellous detail. This opening part is frustratingly difficult and you will have to play it quite a few times to find where the 4 men are you are trying to cover for.

After that its a really good mixture, with battles in all scenarios, on Trains, in Submarines, on the Street, in Towns. As Patterson you will collect a variety of weaponary from Colt 45 to Sniper Rifle (with excellent trelscopic lense), Machine Gun, Shotgun, Grenades and a few others I've probably forgotten.

I've played it through to the end on 'Normal' and found it to be really addictive. If you use the 'Easy' level the game is pretty simple as you can take a large number of hits before you die. Try it on 'hard' and you will find the very very difficult. In this mode you get very little recovery between missions and you have to rely on finding a lot of medical kits or just being very clever.

Overall one of the best games I've played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medal of Honour: Frontline, 19 Aug. 2003
By 
Ben Phillips (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2) (Video Game)
Continuing the Dreamworks Medal of Honour series, this first version for the new Playstation 2 platform would have to pack a considerable punch if it were to compete with either of it's outstanding predecessors. The player is not to be disappointed.
MOH Frontline opens with a direct imitation of Saving Private Ryan in the guise of Normandy beach landings on board a Higgins boat under direct attack from German positions on the beach head. Fortunately, this is the game's only weak point, and it would have been a strength if not for the film version's already famously disturbing opening scenes. Once through the initial trench action the player's character Jimmy Patterson is welcomed back into the OSS under Colonel Hargrove for action in Holland and Germany.
The historical aspect of the game, played in line with actual developments from the Second World War, has always been a strength of the series, and events such as the Normandy landings, Operation Market Garden, Operation Overlord and the battle of Nijmegen Bridge are all followed true to life in MOH Frontline. However, in a welcome departure from the previous titles, the player is not left isolated as Allied soldiers and resistance members now fight alongside Patterson. Conversations are held with them and they even impart advice and direction, adding to the overall feel of multi-character involvement and reality. Inevitably, some are lost in the course of the fighting which once again bolsters the realistic feel of the game.
Another immediate impact the game has upon the player is the obvious graphic improvements. Smoke, fire, ricochets and explosions are all brilliantly portrayed; character detail, movement and AI are all excellent and, in keeping with the series so far, there is no blood evident when enemies are shot or wounded. This excellent choice adds to the gritty factor of the game and detracts from the gore which other games have fallen foul of. The town and open countryside scenes are beautifully rendered, and so are the levels played inside factories, weapons facilities, ports, aboard a U-Boat and even in a rolling mine cart.
The best aspect of the game is the incredible atmosphere generated by Patterson's situation. The ability to snipe from distance, approach enemies undetected or even attack with full force generates an incredible involvement in the events which unfold from level to level. The first person aspect of the game is the main reason for this and has been the case throughout the series, but MOH Frontline takes scenarios which are unexpected and have been previously unexplored in order to emphasise the atmosphere. One of the game's most significantly brilliant levels, called Yard by Yard , involves stalking the streets and alleyways of a Dutch Town in broad sunny daylight, pursuing Germans from house to house and shooting at them from windows, doorways, across corridors and rooms and from positions on top of roofs and upper floors. The subsequent level, Arnhem Knights, is very disturbing in it's grim portrayal of the Allied advance through the war torn streets of occupied Europe as the Nazi regime starts to crumble during the latter stages of the conflict. The Enemy Mine level is also a departure from previous MOH style gameplay, and is a good alternative to the broken motion style levels as the player is perpetually moving along the German underground mine tracks under a constant barrage of attacks from foot soldiers.
As if the history, graphics and game play were not enough to make this a great title, the music of MOH Frontline is truly the icing on the cake. One of the benefits of the new Playstation 2's DVD format is that hidden extras can be unlocked from discs by progressing through games. Such is the case with MOH Frontline, and the player can view choirs performing the game's music tracks in recording studios in a series of "making of" videos. As part of the game's background track, these sessions create a movie-like atmosphere, often adding a ghostly and melancholy feel as the fighting is going on. And the French Horn-based menu music supersedes that of any of the previous soundtracks used in the series in terms of being the best theme for the games; it is truly excellent. The orchestration shifts it's paradigm as levels become either aggressive or subtle, for example, it is themed as heavily military aboard the speeding armoured train levels, yet it is ponderous and almost philosophical during the stalking of the Dutch hayfields.
Finally, variety and the player's interaction with the surroundings are also second-to-none. Weapons are many and varied and up to 18 are used including the BAR and the devastating Panzerschrek. The player can also take control of mounted gun emplacements and cannon, operate switches, open doors and perform single function operations such as destroying an experimental wind tunnel. A minor limitation of the game surfaces here in that the switching between weapons and hand objects can often be slow and confusing, but in a motion towards reality, pauses between weapon reloading times are faithfully portrayed - not only on the player's part but also for enemy soldiers. This can lead to exciting moments where enemies can be attacked or sniped whilst attending to their weapons.
Overall, MOH Frontline is perhaps the greatest game for atmosphere and the feeling of personal involvement that has ever been written for the Playstation. So much attention to detail has been employed in it's creation, and many facets of the work done at Dreamworks and EA have come together into a seamless whole to generate great atmosphere, fantastic gameplay, stunning environments and beautifully crafted music. Feeling a part of historical developments through the enactment of actual events (although a little ego-centric) is so important to the success of the game, and the adventures of Jimmy Patterson are clearly (and so thankfully) to be pursued further as the series approaches its inevitable conclusion. Colonel Hargrove leaves the player in no doubt that this will be very soon indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World War 2 re-lived, 24 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2) (Video Game)
At last, a PS2 game that lives up to the hype, and in my opinion is only bettered by GTA3 in the top games to own. Most reviews will obviously mention the D-Day landing, and for one good reason - it's mind blowing. It's the first half an hour of Private Ryan but interactive (albeit squeezed into 10 minutes). It begins slowly, watching the landing vehicles approach the shore the camera pans up to watch some bombers fly over head, then back down at which point YOU are in thick of it. Bullets are flying, medics are bent over dying soldiers, gun fire rains down from heavily reinforced bunkers and several poor saps lie broken and dead on the beaches of Normandy. The remainder of the game doesn't let up from Submarines, to armoured trains, to a bit similar to the town in Ryan. It's typical MOH, same as the PS1 but with the next gen graphics required to portray war. For anyone who recalls learning of the events of 1944, or who have watched Band of Brothers or who have been to Normandy the history is there to be soaked up.
The sound and music deserve a special mention with haunting melodies, rousing orchestral sections, it truly is a cinematic experience. It's only when you really listen do you realise how well suited the tunes are. The sound effects are equally effective, with mortar shells falling around you, bullets flying everywhere, German guards conversing just around a corner, muted background noises - this in my opinion is the best use of the PS2s sound processing to date.
Three levels of difficulty should ensure a challenge for most players, with a grading system at the end of each mission offering rewards of real footage from the war, making of videos (this time, actually interesting to watch) and cheats. It remains to be seen whether these are all unlocked through playing it on easy only, or whether further rewards are offered for attempting the higher difficulties (I hope so, otherwise the replay value dips significantly). Some of the missions are over too quickly (the D-Day landing being one of them), the enemy AI can be a little slow and the maps can be quite linear with obvious barriers to moving off of the preset route through the level (fencing that you ought to be able to jump but can't). But all in all, these don't detract from the experience of (and apologies that it's not considered PC) eradicating the nazi scum from occupied France.
This is one of those games that you simply have to own. Beg, steal or borrow from a friend, neighbour, your gran - to experience the game, once you have then better work out where you can find the money to own it yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2)
Medal of Honor: Frontline (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
£4.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews