Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars over a month of pure entertainment
I bought this game on february 6th, and only just completed the central story last night (march 24th). Thats pushing 2 months. I played it almost every day, and some days more than made up for the days i didnt have time to play it. Since buying GTA3 i also bought SSX tricky and devil may cry, both are (in my opinion) some of the best games on the PS2, but i keep finding...
Published on 25 Mar 2002 by miguel_sanchez

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I didn't think it would be very different to some of the later incarnations. It's OK but newer ones beat it hands down.
Published 10 months ago by eck4355


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gta III, 30 Oct 2002
By 
sidcup sid (sidcup, kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) (Video Game)
this is a very violent game and should be considered with great care by parents of anybody under the age of 18. Having seen and played this game myself, I certainly would not allow my teenage son to have access to it. The violence and the language is gratuitous and extreme. It also gives far too much detail on crimes such as car crimes and is suggestive in the extreme. If you can become a hero in this game as a result of criminal activity, you can also be a hero in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood, violence & driving..... WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT?!, 3 Jan 2002
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) (Video Game)
Immense, there are few superlatives to describe this game. The change to first person view is a huge improvement, and this game has you captivated for HOURS! This game can do no wrong, apart from running down some pedestrians on the sidewalk that is! This game would make a great movie, the storyline is fantastic, as are the movie sequences, you really cannot find a better crime game for the PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA 3, 9 Sep 2001
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is soooooooo much better than the first two because the graphics are amazing and its actually 3D unlike the rest of which you have a satelite view now its in 1st person so you can play the game just as if its real life if you enjoyed the rest of the GTA games i strongly recommend this game to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, blood., 12 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) (Video Game)
Really, really good. Lots of blood especially with head shots. Good variety of cars and radio stations in the cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 25 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) (Video Game)
this is a brilliant game for those of you who love beating up people with baseball bats before stealing thier car and taking their money! you may prefer to do the missions of course and there are lots of these for you to do. the only drawback is how hard it is to shoot a gun. otherwise this game is brilliant and no ps2 owner should be without. (except for kids!)GETTIT NOW!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decidedly average I think., 4 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) (Video Game)
I must say I feel this is a let down, it is a pretty fun game to play and graphically is pretty good but there are alot of gameplay twinges. The view system is horrible you may find yourself chased by a copper only to try and kill him off but be sadly let down byt the wondering camera. When there are to many people chasing you it is impossible nearly to take down some of them with your weaponry. The vhehicle control sysem is not great either but still overall the game has enough perks to keep you amused for instance if you steal a Taxi you can basically play a violent version of crazy taxi and go picking up passengers. Similarly if you commendere a police vehicle yo can take the law into your own hands. The graphics are in general good but character animations and graphics are poor compared to most next gen games. Also I feel unless you decide to plough through missions you end up confined into a relativley small gaming area, something like the old Gta's and Crazy Taxi have a bigger gaming area although I have not got to another stage just yet so that may be an unfair comment. Overall this is entertaining at times and I found myself on it for a good hour today, but the view system will occasionally drive you nuts when you get several shotgun shells placed into you without knowing where they have come from. Also I do think they have made the game overlly violent, normally I see nothing particularly wrong with that becausee its nothing more than computer imagery but the fact is the makers have stepped to far, on this game you can kick people to the ground and then whilst they lie on the ground you can kick them to death with blood continulaly flying out with every kick, that little inclusion is a step over the line and I am sure will provoke complaints from parents badgered into buying this for their underaged kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok,hype over....., 24 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) (Video Game)
ive now ACTUALLY played the game,and i have to say its certainly over hyped. the shooting dynamics are suspect at best. the driving is admiteddly cool, but although it does look good this game loses some of the ambience of the previous three incarnations in the series....but im sure that once ive fully got into the game ill enjoy it a lot more.....but for now anyway,im prepared to take an abject view and not get excited PURELY because you can now hire prostitutes in 3d, unlike some people...finally,buy this if u LOVED the other games, dont buy it if u merely LIKED them.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest game ever? Hardly., 23 Feb 2003
By 
Mr. Od Smith "d2kvirus" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) (Video Game)
Let me get straight to the point, I loved the original GTA when it came out on the Playstation to the extent my eyes hurt for days every time I blinked, I aced GTA:London in three hours, and GTA2 was a great follow up. So on to this one, which everyone claims to be one of the greatest games and...nothing.
Yes, it's so morally corrupt, sick and generally fun, but so were the others, and they had more going for them. This game is almost a carbon copy of GTA2, placed within the Driver 2 engine, and just gets a tad dull pretty quickly. On 2, you could change gang affiliation to do more jobs, and make the game go the way you wanted it, but this one is too linear - you work for one gang, then defect, so kill them off, then keep going. And it gets annoying when you have to drive through Mafia territory to do a mission, and get your car destroyed by some shotgun toting Capos.
You can steal small planes, you can steal boats, and you can take on roles as vigilante, cabbie, fireman or paramedic to increase the game time, but in the end, why would you want to? Only the vigilante mode is of any use, the plane you can get isn't worth the effort, and the boats aren't particularly much use either, neither add anything to the gameplay barring one paltry mission. A few missions are worth the time, but all in all, I've seen much of it already, and you can only run over so many bus queues before you start to wonder how else they can hook you in, and the FBI, SWAT teams and the Army just don't add anything but frustration when they annihilate you once you start having too much fun toting a flamethrower, running through a crowded area.
In summing up, the game is great in the short term, but if you want a gaming experience that you'll be bothering with in a month's time, look elsewhere. At least you won't be fending off grasping housemates from your PS2 at all hours when you play MGS2 or FFX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA III, 10 May 2005
By A Customer
I brought this game after playing both GTA 1 and 2 and I found it so much easier to play then the previous Grand Theft Autos. I seriously recommed it to anyone who wants to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointing, 1 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) (Video Game)
Appearences can be deceptive. At first this game seems like a 3D reworking of the previous games, and at first I was thinking this the best of the three. But then when I started playing the missions themselves (rather than just driving around and lapping up the graphics) I found that they'd completely sacrificed playability in favour of plush graphics. The missions are infuriating. Some are tricksy, some are difficult, and there are far, far too many where an armed gang pops up just when you're about to complete a long winded mission to shoot you. And you can't save during the missions, which was something they should have changed for this game. I couldn't/wouldn't complete it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto III (PS2)
Grand Theft Auto III (PS2) by Rockstar (PlayStation2)
£12.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews