Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen and decide for yourself.
Opinion certainly seems to be divided on the relative merits of this album.

I really like Machine Head and I will be traveling to this years sonisphere to see them.
I have all the albums. When I go to choose which one to play I pick this more than any other and I can't recommend it any higher than that.
Superb production, great musicality, riffs that...
Published on 4 May 2009 by Mr. Kevin J. Duffy

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing
They have had three attempts at it now and Machine Head have still not come close to equalling the awesome achievement that was their debut album, 'Burn My Eyes'. And frankly, going by what 'Supercharger' has to offer, they never will.
All the right elements are evident as usual - punishing guitar work, a rhythm section that could stun at 100 yards and Rob Flynn's...
Published on 5 Oct 2001 by dkavanagh@webaudits.net


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing, 5 Oct 2001
This review is from: Supercharger [Digipak] (Audio CD)
They have had three attempts at it now and Machine Head have still not come close to equalling the awesome achievement that was their debut album, 'Burn My Eyes'. And frankly, going by what 'Supercharger' has to offer, they never will.
All the right elements are evident as usual - punishing guitar work, a rhythm section that could stun at 100 yards and Rob Flynn's seething / roaring vocals. However it's what they do with this impressive arsenal that is the source of the problem. Quite simply, too much of the songwriting on Supercharger is uninspiring and lacking in any kind of memorability. Some tracks absolutely slay, but others fall well short. Many of the tracks just don't stick. They bowl you over in a storm of metal bluster and attitude, but when they're gone you can't quite remember them. All the right sounds are here, but they have failed to carve out any kind of real identity.
Whatever shortcomings the album may have musically, special mention must be given to the extraordinarily honest and harrowing lyrics written by Rob Flynn on some tracks. A brave move and one to be lauded.
However overall, 'Supercharger' is inconsistent and unsatisfying. Personally. it's a great pity because the album is superbly performed and produced. I just know this band is capable of delivering a more consistent album than this. When they do hit a rich creative vein the results are as impressive as one would expect from the people who brought us the masterpiece that was 'Burn My Eyes'. However, it's fair to say that about 40% of this album is substandard.
My advice to prospective buyers is to borrow a copy before making the purchase. Hey, maybe you'll like it more than I do and pick it up.......the choice is yours....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen and decide for yourself., 4 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Supercharger [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Opinion certainly seems to be divided on the relative merits of this album.

I really like Machine Head and I will be traveling to this years sonisphere to see them.
I have all the albums. When I go to choose which one to play I pick this more than any other and I can't recommend it any higher than that.
Superb production, great musicality, riffs that stick in my head for days and deep lyrics - I fail to see how anyone who liked there previous works would be so turned off? But we all have different tastes - check this one out for yourself and don't take the word of the naysayers. You may find it as rewarding as I do... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a metal record, 4 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Supercharger (Audio CD)
To start this review off, this band's last two albums 'The More Things Change' and 'The Burning Red' are my two most favourite albums ever, so I had a huge expectation for this record.
Ok, starting off...when the band does what they've been known to do, songs like 'Trephination', 'Bulldozer' and Supercharger' are all awe inspiring on speed and their firal pace alone. But thats where the fast, heavy stuff ends.
Thats not to say it's all bad at all, 'Only The Names' and 'Blank Generation' are a return to the darkness of the slower stuff off 'The More Things Change..' and Crashing Around You is just a great song despite it being very melodic. All brilliant.
But the experimentation with melody doesn't always work as well: 'Kick You When Your Down' features melodic vocals that just blunt a song that really wants to go crazy, 'Nausea' sounds like a riled version of Papa Roach with guitar solos and 'A Deafening Silence' is an overblown rehash on The Burning Red's 'Silver'.
Generally, this is the sound of a band that are being complacent. If this wasn't <M|H>, the band that are capable of producing so much better, then I would give it a 4 star but Supercharger has flashes of total brilliance that just makes the rest of the album pale in comparison and knowing what this lineup is capable of just makes it even harder to swallow.
Burn My Eyes thrashed, The More Things Change crushed, The Burning Red seared red raw, Supercharger just limps past. For a band like Machine Head,3 fast heavy songs on a 14 track album does make you wonder what the hell happened.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not very progressive, but still great, 16 Sep 2001
This review is from: supercharger (Audio CD)
One of the year's most highly anticipated releases, MACHINE HEAD's Supercharger is a surprisingly diverse and defiantly "untrendy"-sounding effort that is likely to disappoint everyone who is expecting the Bay Area quartet to return to the ultra-testosterone-charged sounds of their first two albums, 1994's Burn My Eyes and 1997's The More Things Change.... While several of the tracks on the new album feature a noticeably more aggressive vibe than was the case with the group's last studio offering, 1999's The Burning Red, Supercharger sees MACHINE HEAD combining the elements that made TBR one of the most underrated metal albums of the last decade and with several new ingredients to create a crushingly heavy-yet-infectiously-melodic mix that should satisfy the more open-minded fans of the group's previous efforts. Whereas The Burning Red was a bold departure from its predecessors and a creative high point that, in the eyes of this writer, should have catapulted MACHINE HEAD to the ranks of the genre's forerunners, Supercharger is for the most part picking up where the album before it left off-just different enough to be passed off as a natural progression, but essentially treading a similar musical ground to The Burning Red without managing to outclass it in the songwriting department. As usual, there are a number of highlights here that reaffirm mainman Robert Flynn's status as one of the most talented and versatile composers in the metal genre today; at the same time, however, there are a few moments that indicate that MACHINE HEAD might have taken their current sound as far as they could, with several of the tracks falling short of the standard set by the group's previous releases and consequently preventing Supercharger from being the all-out masterpiece that we were hoping it would turn out to be. Here are my favourite tracks on the album;
"White-Knuckle Blackout"(A mid-paced number with a catchy riff and a crushingly heavy chorus)
"Crashing Around You"(The most "radio friendly" song on the album. A simple drum beat and an extremly catchy chorus that is as close to a "single" as MACHINE HEAD are ever likely to write)
"All In Your Head" this song starts out with a SLAYER-esque slow riff and kicks into a heavy groove section under Flynn's marginally rap-tinged vocals before climaxing with one of the most memorable, melodic choruses on the album. A soon-to-be MACHINE HEAD classic.
"American High"(Kicks off with Robb doing vocal version of the very cool main riff. Tounge-in-cheek lyrics!)
"Deafening Silence"(One of the most "different" of the new tracks, this one can best be described as a MACHINE HEAD-style "power ballad", a dark, emotionally-charged epic that allows Flynn's passionately melodic vocals to shine through)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one hell of an album, 22 Oct 2001
This review is from: Supercharger (Audio CD)
the buring red is better but tracks like 'Crashing Around You' and 'Bulldozer' make this another master peice from robb flynn and the MH boys! its got roaring vocals, its got soft vocals, soft guitaring and bloody heavy guitaring, if u liked the amazing from this day then go out and buy this album! its one hell of an album
its well good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 12 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Supercharger [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Machine Head have the problem of having to compete with their debut album "Burn My Eyes". This, their latest release, has had mixed reviews which all focus on the band's previous discography. The fact is that Machine Head will no more produce another "Burn My Eyes" than Metallica will produce another "Kill 'Em All" or Guns n Roses produce another "Appetite For Destruction". Had they done so they would have been slated for that as well. However, what Machine Head have produced is their best album to date. Great songs (which commit the crime of having hooks!), intelligent lyrics, fine production and an undiluting of the ferocity and musicianship which caused all the fuss in the first place. The opening track "Bulldozer" is one of their most ferocious yet, ending with an absolute monster of a riff. There-on-in the assault never wavers. My personal favourites are "Bulldozer", "All In Your Head", "Trephination" and the title track but you can choose your own.
The bottom line is that for the price of a take-away and a couple of cans of lager you can own a great heavy metal record instead. And I advise you to treat your ears and not your waistband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars buy anyother machine head album, but not this., 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: Supercharger (Audio CD)
I managed to get a copy of this a day before its release several years ago, and was very excited to get home and listen to it. after several listens i was soon disapointed. A couple of tracks were stand out, and actualy quite good. Alas the rest of the album was poor, watered down rubbish. Not a patch on the raw brutal machine head i was expecting.

Fast forward about a decade or so, i decided to get this album down off the shelf (where it was collecting dust) and give it a spin.

So whats the purpose of this review? simple! to stop other people parting with their hard earned cash for a sub standard album. All i can say is that time has not improved this album, and all the disapointment i felt the first time round came rushing back.

buy burn my eyes, the burning red, through the ashes of empires or the blackening instead. disapointing these are not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid, again, 4 May 2006
This review is from: Supercharger [Digipak] (Audio CD)
MH may be a bit predictable by the time you get to this album, but that isn't neccesarily bad.

A tight set of guitars and drums brings more of an old-school metal feel to this compared with the previous 'Burning Red'. The tracks aren't that well defined, although the early part is stronger with 'Bulldozer', 'All in your head' and 'Crashing around you' good to play loud.

A few experiments as always, and as always, they work. 'Only the names' is the quiet side, and these guys remind you they are good musicians and they think. This may be old school guitar metal, but there's more than Motorhead going on here.

So why only 3 stars? Because they're not hitting the level of other albums. 'Burn My Eyes' has never been beaten and others are stronger. But you can always buy a MH album without risking serious disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best rap-metal around...but it just isn't Machine Head, 20 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Supercharger (Audio CD)
Generally, the words 'rap-metal' are enough to put most people off an album, mainly because of everyone's previous obsession with Limp Bizkit. That was like a booze-up...a good idea at the time, but you regret it later. The problem is, not all rap-metal is like that. 'Supercharger' has some of the best rap-metal songs around, most notably 'Crashing Around You', and 'All In Your Head'. The only problem is, it's just not what you expect from a band that made albums like 'Burn My Eyes', and the even more excellent 'The More Things Change'. Traditionally (if that's the right word), Machine Head are a bangin band, songs like 'Ten Ton Hammer', 'Take My Scars', 'Davidian' etc proved that, then there was 'The Burning Red' that was leaning towards rap-metal, but still had the old style songs in there, but 'Supercharger' has all but scrapped it. 'Bulldozer', the first song, kind of starts in the way you'd expect Machine Head to be, until the singing starts. The same can almost be said for 'White Knuckle Black Out', arguably one of the better songs on here. But from there, it's almost all rap. And the scratcher on 'American High' was definitely NOT a good move. 'Trephination' seems to be just a re-vamped 'Silver' (from 'The Burning Red'), and there's 'Deafening Silence', a strangely mellow song, that seems to have taken the place of the song 'The Burning Red'. If you have the DigiPack, there are some good additions to it (although mine has a live 'Desire To Fire' instead of 'Rat Race'). 'Hole In The Sky' is a good song, and has a good short drum solo in it. Basically, this album is very good for anyone willing to accept that there is rap-metal beyond what gets in the charts, but if not, and you were a fan of Machine Head's previous three inputs, and hoping for more songs as utterly fantastic as 'Take My Scars' etc, there's disappointment all round. And possibly a four star rating is slightly over-rating it, but that can't be helped, coming from a die-hard Head fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Sep 2001
By 
Ben Saunders (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supercharger (Audio CD)
Having set the world alight with 1994's 'Burn My Eyes', MH's last album ('99's 'The Burning Red') alienated some listeners with it's hip-hop and nu-metal influences. This album sees them try to bridge the gap, producing an album that crosses the two.
Opener 'Declaration' begins with strange electronic samples (reminiscent of 'Real Eyes...') before first song-proper 'Bulldozer'. It definitely does blend early and later MH, with Robb, as ever, switching from his melodic singing to shouting.
All the songs have the trademark MH sounds, although they sometimes end up sounding samey, it hardly matters when the qualities this high. They haven't equalled the two classics mentioned at the start, but it's better than 'The More Things Change'. MH fans will love it, but perhaps not a starting point for those new to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supercharger
Supercharger by Machine Head (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews