Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
141
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2007
US Navy F14s fighting Japanese Zeros just before Pearl Harbour. Survivors picked out of the water by 1980s helicopters. This film is a joy to watch. Filmed on board the USS Nimitz.
When they discover the Japanese fleet approaching Pearl Harbour one of the US Navy officers says to Capt Kirk Douglas 'shall we take it out sir?' One modern day warship against the whole Jap fleet. Great fun.

UPDATE I've just purchased the Final Countdown on blu ray and the picture quality is excellent. Some of the indoor scenes are slightly out of focus round the edges. I don't think it's the blu ray's fault. It seems to highlight the depth of field. However the outside scenes are amazing! The clarity and colour are so much better than the DVD. Well worth it.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
An Ingenious Time Travel Movie from 1980 The Final Countdown stars Hollywood Legend Kirk Douglas. it plays on The old Theme What if we could go back in time and change History That is the Question as a Military aircraft carrier is Thrown back in time on The eve of The Japanese attack on Pearl Harbour Dec 6th 1941. The aircraft carrier armed with Today's sophisticated weapons and Technology poses The Question should They attack The real star of The Movie is The aircraft carrier U.S.S Nimitz on which The movie was actually filmed. The Final Countdown as only ever been released on a low budget DVD in The past so This Blu ray release is most welcome coupled with Trailers TV spots an audio commentary for The movie a feature on The making of The movie and an interesting feature on The pilots who actually flew The many planes we get to see in The movie This is one release They have pulled out all The stops for. often overlooked amist The Blockbuster Movies That came out During The Decade The Final Countdown is a lost Gem and Yes The ending Will leave a lump in your Throat. Ingenious Thought Provoking Could It Really Happen ?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
I first saw this movie on TV in the late 1980's. I purchased the pre-recorded VHS version of this film, then the standard DVD a couple of years ago and was very impressed with the picture quality.
This USA sourced Blu-Ray region free product is scintillating both in picture and audio quality.
Bearing in mind that this film was made in 1980, the quality is remarkably good.
In addition, the 'extras' give significant insight into what went on during the making of the film and have added to the enjoyment.
If you are into time travel sci fi movies and you've got a Blu Ray player with, preferably, a surround sound system, you will definitely be impressed with this movie.
Well worth the near £20 cost. Top marks again, Amazon, for the prompt delivery.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 July 2005
What would have happened if an aircraft carrier of today (1980) went back in time to the Pearl Harbor of December 7, 1941? Kirk Douglas (along with a great cast of actors) finds out when a storm (unlike any he has ever seen) transports him back there.
Will this make a difference in history?
What would you do?
I originally saw this movie in the theater. It is really a long advertisement for the technology of the day (1980). However I still find my self watching this every time it comes on TV. It is time to buy the DVD (be aware that there is a wide range of DVD quality out there; best to pick the two disk limited edition) incase they stop showing it. I find my self kibitzing and wondering what would have happened if they stayed a little longer.
Now it is time for a sequel with stealth.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
the uss nimitz is thrown back in time to 1941
the day before the attack on pearl harbor, the captain then
has a nightmare decision wether or not to attack the japanese
fleet approaching pearl harbor

typical conversation between the captain and trouble shooter

"so what s your plan captain"

"this ship is part of the us navy and i intend to defend the united states"

"why" ts
"because in dec 7 1941 the empire of japan will attack pearl harbor" capt
and

this the good bit

"in 1941 no body knows that japan will attack, only we do" ts
" meaning" capt

"if we sink the japanese fleet, we will change history there will be no attack recorded , think of the consequences, if we kill somebody who actually survived the actual raid from japanese side................" ( in simple language a man travells back to the past and meets his own ancestor and kills him by accident
the effects would be devastating and change the future where the the time traveller may never be born)

navigation

packaging and menus are in i think german and are easy to navigate
there is subtitles in this film, which is a first becuse my old dvd versions dont

quality

picture and sound excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
I love this movie anyway. Enjoyed watching it on Blueray so much. Had to buy this import. Much better than the cheap version we have hear and its region free. I highly recommend you purchase this movie, a brilliant time travel story. 5 stars!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Terrific story superb acting throughout. If you have not seen this one I would highly recommend it. If you are into jet aircraft and the like it is quite spectacular. Wont spoil the story as it is best seen then discuss later. Wonderful Blu Ray transfer crisp and the colors are fine. GOOD SOUND TOO WITH THOSE JET ENGINES ROARING OFF THE AIRCRAFT CARRIER. I would go out and buy this one. Cant wait to watch it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 October 2007
Nearer 4 stars for me. This is a fine piece of entertainment that doesn't overstay its welcome (running time = 98 minutes). I've always been a sucker for time travel stories and this is pretty good.

This has a good cast, including Kirk Douglas, Martin Sheen and Katherine Ross. The story is incredibly unlikely but somehow it works and the ending was a complete surprise to me. Unlike one of the previous reviewers I didn't find the acting/script that bad.

OK so I wouldn't buy it at new release prices but at the right price (i.e. cheap) its worth getting and my feeling is that I'm going to enjoy it more when I watch it again.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
This is not just a great movie with great actors, it also plays with your imagination by dealing with a very interesting "what if?" situation. It is of course science fiction and must be viewed as such, but even those who do not usually watch that kind of movies will find this highly intriguing. And of course, if you love fast jets... There are so many awesome scenes from the hangar deck and mid-air, the F-14 Tomcat was the state of the art combat jet of the 80'ies... Plane lovers: This is mandatory!!! :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2002
What would have happened if a modern day aircraft carrier was in the Pacific ocean the day before the attack on Pearl Harbour? That is the question which plagues the officers of the USS Nimitz aircraft carrier as it gets transported through a mysterious time-bending storm, back to December 6th, 1941.
This is a film filled with intrigue, suspense and action, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat till the last minute. It is a good look at a crucial part of America's history, and is an excellent documentary on the workings of a modern day aircraft carrier. A definite must-see for any plane enthusiast.
This classic time paradox story kicks off in 1980 aboard the uss nimitz, a nuclear aircraft carrier. During a shakedown cruise a mysterious sea storm descends on the giant ship and it is hurled (inexplicably) back in time to december 6 1941. Once realizing their predicament and their convinient position (just off the hawian islands, 24 hours from the devestating japanese attack on pearl harbour) they start trying to answer the unique question of "What to do?" In essence this is Top gun meets Back to the future with all the classic "what if's" of a time travel movie, but with enough action and adventure to keep most audiences entertained. I thought it was great and had a solid believable cast with a great plot twist at the end
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse