Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2009
Gently written and directed, this is a pleasing romantic tale with a lot of scenery and some good acting. It isn't action packed, nor does it present anything new to us really even if there haven't been any movies about the ww2 land girls before. But it paints an accurate picture of the period while telling a rather obvious tale of love between two who would never have met if it wasn't for the war. Gentle, subtle, pretty little film.
44 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
The story of "The Land Girls" was excellant and we thoughly enjoyed it despite a couple of bits when the DVD froze and we had to push it forward to the next clear part. We had nearly finished the film and were in the last 5 minutes when it stopped and despite trying everything I knew and trying to watch it on 3 different machines including a games console that plays nearly anything there was no way we could watch the end of the film.
To be fair, after we complained the cost of the DVD was refunded straight away and the service was excellent but we still want to know how it ended????
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2002
This film is brilliant. Anna Friel is excellent, very funny and plays her part really well. Each of the characters are so very likeable. There are quite a lot of funny scenes in it but also some real heart breaking stuff (i cried one minute and laughed the next!), which i feel portrays the ups and downs of the second world war extremely well.
It is a gentle and emotional film and the countryside scenery is breathtaking . If you like good old fashioned English films, you will find this very entertaining.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
This film focuses on three land girls, sent to work on a farm during World War 2. The main characters are Stella, Ag and Prue. The story mainly focuses on Stella and her relationship with a male whom works/lives on the farm.

It's mainly a romantic story, although it does show the effect of war on people's lives.

Brilliantly acted and emotive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Recently visited the little Church of Riddington, set in a field on Exmoor. Lovely location of the Church used in this film, so we thought we'd like to watch it again. Strange, but a new DVD of this old film is an 'arm and a leg' , so bought this second hand. Good condition and works fine. Good to see the film, Church and West Somerset Railway again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
Good film set in period during WW2 when nearly all the men have gone to war leaving women to help with farming This particular story deals with love lost and regained with some poignant moments dealing with the effects on those left behind of men who lose their lives or are seriously maimed on the battlefield Good convincing acting from all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Without doubt, this is one of the best films that represent the second world war and how life was being lived at that time, albeit fictional.Just as in real life it is chock full of emotional drama and physical trauma.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Beautiful film, very good DVD, delivered in time. I love that story, version is beautifuly made, camera and sceneries of Dorset are fabulous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
.
Sums up an an almost forgotten episode in British history.What a splendid film this is with fine casting and wonderful visuals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
A really good film that I have been hoping to add to my collection of personal favourites for many years. Fast and efficient delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)