Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
This album finally broke Jimmy Eat World into the mainstream late last year, and it's hard to think of a band more deserving of success. Dropped by their label after the commercial failure of their critically acclaimed 1999 album 'Clarity', they overcome this setback to record what is quite simply one of the most infectious and affecting albums of the 21st century...
Published on 18 Oct 2002

versus
9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a talented band
This album isn't for heavy, darker music lovers, but is more of a lighter version of Blink 182. Jimmy Eat World have a powerfull and striking sense of rhythm. The album starts off strongly with Salt Sweat Sugar and A Praise Chorus which are both vibrant and energetic with plenty of power. These are balanced by some more mild, tranquil tracks including Hear You Me and...
Published on 26 Feb 2002 by bethanz@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 18 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
This album finally broke Jimmy Eat World into the mainstream late last year, and it's hard to think of a band more deserving of success. Dropped by their label after the commercial failure of their critically acclaimed 1999 album 'Clarity', they overcome this setback to record what is quite simply one of the most infectious and affecting albums of the 21st century.
The album opens with the blistering guitar assault of 'Salt Sweat Sugar' (formerly 'Bleed American'), an astonishing combination of volcanic riffage, perfect melody and angry lyrics (the song details the struggle of coal miners). 'A Praise Chorus', which follows, is 'classic' Jimmy Eat World - a furiously energetic opening, with the song gradually building up to a wonderful, emotional and blurred final coda ('I wanna always feel like part of this was mine/I wanna fall in love tonight'). It's pulsating, thrilling, moving - everything a song should be. Exhiliarating single 'Sweetness' is also all of the above, and like almost every song on the album is crushingly, bruisingly emotional ('Stumble till you crawl/Sinking into sweet uncertainty').
The pure poppy perfection of 'The Middle' enhances and exacerbates the terribly important message of the song (the song is a sympathetic and incredibly uplifting message to the millions of people struggling to comprehend the cruelty of people and the world - 'Just be yourself/It doesn't matter if that's good enough for someone else/It just takes some time/Little girl you're in the middle of the ride/Everything, everything will be just fine'). 'Your House' is a tender, unashamedly romantic and effortlessly catchy acoustic track, again building up to a very moving climax.
The album's two most outstanding songs are tracks six and seven, 'Hear You Me' and 'If You Don't, Don't'. The former is a soft, sad and tearjerkingly sweet letter to a friend and mentor who has passed away, with every note resonating with sadness and regret ('What would you think of me now, so lucky, so stong so proud?/I never said thank you for that/Now I'll never have the chance'). It may well have sounded corny in other hands, but thanks to Jim Adkins' vocals, which are truly stunning (as indeed they are throughout the album), it's devestatingly good. Almost impossibly, 'If You Don't, Don't' matches it for emotion, note for note and word for word. An upbeat yet yearning guitar-driven melody backs up some of the most heartfelt lyrics on the album, and when Adkins sings 'we once walked out on the beach, and once I almost touched your hand' it all becomes almost too much to bear.
However, the four tracks which follow are by no means put in the shade. The two songs which follow, 'Get It Faster' and 'Cautioners' are more experimental turns. On the former, soft-loud dynamics are juxtaposed quite brilliantly, and Adkins practically spits fire at his lyrical target ('I wanna do right by you, but I'm finding out, cheating gets it faster'). 'Cautioners' has a more expansive sound than anything else on the album, and is given five minutes for its tired, broken lyrics and slightly off-beat drum rhythms. This is followed, however, by the poppiest moment on 'Jimmy Eat World', the frighteningly catchy 'Authority Song', with female backing vocals and brisk guitars. The closer, 'My Sundown', is really something to behold, an epic, tropical ballad which shimmers beautifully on the horizon like the setting sun across the ocean, before it drops beneath the water and all that remains is darkness and silence. I haven't quite figured out whether it's about suicide or not (it does sound like it might be), but it's so incredibly touching anyway that it probably doesn't matter.
This was an album that soundtracked my summer this year, and will probably soundtrack many more. It's unsettling, moving, energising, uplifting and exciting all at once. It's the sort of album that can change your perception of music and maybe your perception of the world. Not many albums can do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy takes over World, 21 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
This band has been threatening greatness for two albums and has finally come up with their undeniable masterpiece. While 'Static Prevails' and 'Clarity' were both excellent albums, there was something missing, the something that avoids all other efforts and only makes it into a truly classic piece of work. What that something is, I will probably never know but 'Bleed American' has it in droves.
It is at once both hard-edged and punky while still retaining the soft approach, deftly executed, that has served them so well in the past. While the record holds on to the distinctive sound that they had created, a sort of funny hybrid between emo-rock, punk and pure, unashamed pop, there is a new element at work here. It is hard to put a finger on what is different because the tracks are very much moulded in the shape of their previous incarnations but an overriding confidence and assuredness seems to add another element. You just have to press play on the first track and hear the first riff strike you like shock treatment to know what i am talking about. The title track is an anthem, a classic and it paves the way for an outpouring of other brilliantly envisioned and honed tracks that will remain in your head and no doubt in your stereo for weeks, months, years. The second track, 'A Praise Chorus' is toned down slightly but still retains a punk sound rapped in a beautiful bed of fuzzy emo-rock quitar. The refrain is magnificent, awe-inspiring. The genius does not let up. 'Middle' is another anthemic track that is so catchy it cannot be real. Will the barrage of quality tunes never end? No! 'Your house' follows, a ballad. If it was possible for a song to physically glitter, this one would. It is both immediately hook laden and subversively sweeping, mixing a soft, punk-like verse ('You tear my heart right out') with an uplifting chorus that is both cliched and formidable. 'Sweetness' follows and I'm afraid that you have to listen to it to actually appreciate the pure genius that it encapsulates. It is one of the best songs I have ever heard. 'Hear you me' is a more conventional ballad that is slow and uninteresting at first but, after a couple of listens, grabs you and pulls you into its ephemereal excellence.
What follows next are two tracks that are typical J.E.W. 'If you don't don't' and 'Get it faster' are about as run-of-the mill as you are likely to get on 'Bleed American' yet they are two extremely well devised pop tunes. 'The Cautioners' comes next and it is another ballad, much like 'Hear you me', and acts in much the same way. It's a grower but one worth the wait. 'Authority Song' is my favourite track on an album of favourite tracks. Suffice it to say, it is another song that has to be listened to to appreciate fully. In fact the whole damn album is unbelievable and must be bought. Oh, and the final track, 'Sundown', is also great, of course.
I am now a J.E.W. fan. I have only just bought 'Bleed American' and subsequently purchased the other albums quite rapidly afterwards. I have not been a fan since their beginnings so I believe I am not as bias as I could be perceived as being. I enjoy great rock music and this is one of the best rock albums I have EVER heard. This is one of those albums that will stay in my collection for years, it's energy and poignancy will never fade.
Everybody needs to hear 'Bleed American'. You must obey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect rock entertainment, 22 Nov 2003
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
Like many people, I came to Jimmy Eat World through Bleed American, their most immediately accessible album. This often means that the songs fade through repeated listening, and that other albums offer a better long term prospect, but in my opinion this is easily the best they've produced.
Salt Sweat Sugar is a blistering start, all chugging guitars and shouted chorus, before moving into more melodic territory for the next few songs, including the infectious The Middle which briefly threatened to take JEW mainstream in the UK. It didn't though. Then we're on to the album's highlight, the single Sweetness. This song is so simple, so loud, so perfect, its the song we should all have written. The next song, the name of which escapes me, is almost as good, before the quality starts to waiver very slightly towards the end.
Nonetheless, this is an album that improves with listen after listen, with a new song each week becoming your favourite off it. This is extremely high praise in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweetness indeed!!, 29 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
I recently discovered Jimmy Eat World after the song My Sundown played on one of my favourite TV shows. I bought this album and am really impressed with the band and the variation of different sounds on the album is stunning. My Sundown is a slow, ballad which sounds like a spring morning and makes me smile everytime I hear it and I was almost expecting the rest of the album to continue in that vain. I was wrong.......but not in a bad way. The album is rock music at it's finest - both loud rock (Bleed American), sing along rock (The Middle), pop rock (If You Don't, Don't) and soft rock (Hear You Me) music feature alongside one another and create an album so beautiful and varied I am positive everyone can find at least one song on it which they love.
Emo is the genre the band want to be placed in and in this album they certainly create emotion through their music with a wonderful complilation of songs for everyone to love and enjoy.
If you want to try Jimmy Eat World I would personally start with Futures, their more recent album which I love even more, but Bleed American is a terrific album for any mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful And Uplifting Album, 23 Mar 2003
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
It's not hard to see, after hearing this album, how assering themselves as a leading band in the category dubbed 'Emo' or to us normal people alternative rock (emotion always behind it whether it be happy or sad). It leads straight in with "Salt Sweat Sugar" (previously "Bleed American") a fresh mix of vocals with power chords and strong backing vocals which continue to provide a unique 'Jimmy Eat World' sound for the rest of the album.
A great introductory album to the band showing off their range from the soft, heart-warming "Hear You Me" to the heavier "Get It Faster" and the more often mix of fulfilling lyrics and strong music such as "Sweetness" and "A Praise Chorus". The whole album is enjoyable and obvioulsy a lot of work has gone behind the album, it was released with the intention of grabbing a strong fanbase (outside the US). After listening to this album i advise you work your way back through the albums as they show a lot stronger side of the band which isn't as mainstream.
The mixing is tremendous and the album flows perfectly with that right mix of heavy and soft, making it easy listening from start to finish taking you through different moods, different sounds, but always powerful music form Jimmy Eat World. It all goes rushing toward the fantastic "My Sundown" which perfectly finishes off the album, the album had a massive appeal to me when i first listened (having just lost a love (sic)) but even after it still has a great appeal and it is not just for the emotive types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Nov 2003
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
Its one of those albums you listen to once and then find it impossible to stop listening to. I have been a fan since Clarity and loved it for what it was, an emo masterpiece, but Bleed American is something more. It starts off with the loud, fast and hard title track and from there takes you to nearly every emotion possible with each subsequent track. Every song is a classic, you will quickly find your favourite, mine is "Hear You Me" or "The Middle" depending on my mood but this album always seems to lighten my mood and get rid of any stress. "The Middle" has one of the best guitar solos I've heard in a long time and the way "Get It Faster" builds up from nothing to raw emotion and guitar riffs is great.
In short this is one of the albums that should be in any music fans record collection who appreciates great music. A masterpiece in the overcrowded pop and rock music genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Praise Chorus, 21 Nov 2003
By 
V. Hinde "foreign film convert" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
This is the finest, most emotionally punkish album we have heard in our lifetimes. From the uplifting 'Sweetness' to the moving 'Hear You Me', every single track on this album is a classic, a song for every emotion. Original and interesting use of guitars combined with masterful lyrics make this an album head and shoulders above a market full of watered down talentless bands. Jimmy Eat World, we salute you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top-notch, 2 May 2002
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
Before hearing Bleed American I had only heard "Bleed American" and "The Middle". So I was a little unsure about buying their album, but any doubts I had were dismissed straight away after hearing it just once. The start of "Bleed American" sets the tone for the rest of a highly under-rated album, I feel. The rest of the songs continue the high standard set and engrave their melodic chords and down-to-earth lyrics in the back of your skull. I find it hard to put bands into genre's, as music styles can often vary. Some say J.E.W are emo, rock, soft rock, or to be really broad, alternative. But the only genre I put them in is the same one as Weezer - CLASS. If you havent got it, GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Nov 2004
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is one of the greatest albums of recent years. It's songs are excellent; a combination of good musical talent and lyrics that mean so many things to so many people. Many of my friends have asked me to get them a copy of this album and anyone who borrows my MP3 player seems to listen to hardly anything else (perhaps it's my musical taste, but more likely to be the superb quality of this record.)
Highlights for me include the emotional "Hear You Me", upbeat "Authority Song" and one of the big hits "Get It Faster"... and "Your House"..."Salt Sweat Sugar" is good too.
Let's just say this is a great album go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately one of the best albums of the year, 16 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD)
Buying this album was the first time I had bought a CD on the strength of one track (The Middle), but it was definately worth the risk. All the tracks are strong within their own styles, from the loud Salt Sweat Sugar, to the calm Hear You Me. This is a must-have album, and The Middle should have charted much higher than it did when released as a single. Clevr lyrics and memorable melodies make this a fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jimmy Eat World
Jimmy Eat World by Jimmy Eat World (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews