Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic live set full of techno tweekin of fav daft tracks
fantastic vibe from crowd , daft at there best , after the indie-organic tech sound of the debut homework release , this tour must have been so good , wish i had seen it, chemical brothers are the live act kings , but daft punk are the french and funked version, didnt know these guys could use live sampler's so well, and they push the crowd with some harder beats aswell,...
Published on 19 Oct. 2001

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present
This CD was bought as a Christmas present for my son therefore cannot comment on its content however it was on his Wish List so I am sure he will love it. The negative side would be if he opened it on Christmas Day and there was a fault with the item
Published 16 months ago by Jude


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic live set full of techno tweekin of fav daft tracks, 19 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Alive 1997 (Audio CD)
fantastic vibe from crowd , daft at there best , after the indie-organic tech sound of the debut homework release , this tour must have been so good , wish i had seen it, chemical brothers are the live act kings , but daft punk are the french and funked version, didnt know these guys could use live sampler's so well, and they push the crowd with some harder beats aswell, wish there was more than 45 mins tho. love it , if you love the daft sound , this is daft , harder, live, and sweaty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music sounds better with you, 2 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Alive 1997 (Audio CD)
ALIVE 1997 is a live recording from Daft Punk's successful DaftenDirekt Tour following the release of their luminary debut album 'Homework'.
As previously previewed on their DVD- 'D.A.F.T: A Story About Dogs, Androids, Firemen and Tomatoes' and featured in lower quality on their web venture 'DaftClub', the music is more than a mixing of album tracks but a furious live performance. Elements of rapturous cries from the audience, frenetic live looping, cuttings and samplings of album tracks such as WDPK and Rollin' & Scratchin are spliced blisteringly fast. Armand Van Helden's '10 minute funk mix' of 'Da Funk' 7mins 29secs in, being a noteable highlight. I mention the time as the CD has no track distinctions. Such astounding live mixing has only been equalled by dance music contemporaries such as 'Orbital' and 'The Chemical Brothers'. Like these contemporaries, Daft Punk rebuild tracks to audience electrifying crescendos, using detroit acid house inspired techno squeals or distorted Roland 909 samplers whilst simultaneously working in drum sequences and adding their now recognisable trait of french disco filtering. It's no wonder that like 'The Chemical Brothers' and 'Orbital' it takes two of them!
The only let downs being it's length as it clocks in at just above 45 minutes and the age of the material. However this is an excellent CD definately that should not be confined to the bargain bins of Summer dance compilations as the highly unique live reworking of 'Homework' tracks and remixes is worthy of being seen as original material in it's own light. All this makes it an essential purchase for Daft Punk fanatics and fans of dance music in general.
Satish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Punk - They way they were - and should be remembered, 5 Oct. 2001
By 
G. Strachan (Denver) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alive 1997 (Audio CD)
Homework was one of those albums. It's up there among the greats. Having been a huge fan fan (both live and and recorded) since then, I was more than a wee bit dissapointed with Discovery. Call me selfish, but I didn't want them to "develop" or "mature". I wanted them to stay "daft" and "punk".
Now that Alive 1997 is out, I have another reason to remember why they're so fantastic. What an amazing live set. I saw them at the Arches in Glasgow on the same tour and was blown away. This is a must for original DP fans. To create beats, loops, and sequences like this, the boys must have some sort of psychic connection. They work together flawlessly and it's a joy to listen, not only to the music, but to such a great live act. My one and only fault with the set is that there's no "Burnin'". That, to me, is Daft Punk's finest. I can still remember the first time I heard it at Slam at the Arches, with all the hairs on my arms standing.
PS - Try and stop the hairs on your arm going crazy at 08:28!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alive eat your heart out DAFT PUNK FAN, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive 1997 (Audio CD)
AGHHH XX OMG I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT GOOD QUALITY CONDITION, WOULD LOVE FULL PERFORMANCE OF THIS AMAZING SHOW I THINK ALIVE 2007 WAS EVEN BETTER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They did it first., 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive 1997 (Audio CD)
in 1997, few made it big playing music like these two. They took a sound that at the time was not followed anywhere near to the extent it is now, and made it popular. Just like every album they make, it's different. Listen to all their albums. In order of production time. You'll be shocked by the diversity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovery! if I'd had the chance I have seen these lads live.., 19 Feb. 2014
By 
Janus Johansen "Muad" (Drumconrath, Meath, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive 1997 (Audio CD)
This is an AMAZING little mix.. a bit short - but crank it up and you wont notice..
Got me to work in record time this morning.

Get selection of tunes, great manipulations, great mixes.. fun fun funk funk funk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An example of how to do a live CD, 8 Oct. 2001
By 
This review is from: Alive 1997 (Audio CD)
I was surprised that they actually decided to release a life daft punk gig on CD. This is the sort of thing I have wanted in a long time. I preferred the first album, Homework, to the disco-oriented Discovery and to release a live set featuring tracks from the former is something i've longed to hear. This is 45 minutes of Daft Punk at their best. If you like this you should check out Everything Everything by Underworld - it's even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alive 1997 (Audio CD)
This CD was bought as a Christmas present for my son therefore cannot comment on its content however it was on his Wish List so I am sure he will love it. The negative side would be if he opened it on Christmas Day and there was a fault with the item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alive 1997
Alive 1997 by Daft Punk (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews