Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Chop socky Rothrocky
This film is crying out for Mystery Science Theatre treatment. Cheesier than a giant Edam, and with dubbing that is both out of synch and truly awful it really is so bad it's good. Jackie Chan lookalike, his whiny girlfriend/sidekick, a comedy kid, and a random Rothrock in action. A baddy who appears like a Chinese black and white minstrel in a bin bag cape, and whose dim...
Published 8 months ago by Top Tec

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfunny and out of sync
An early film in Rothrock's filmography and she's not really in it that much, the main emphasis is on a kid and some grown up adults who bumble around throughout the whole movie. These two are meant to be the comic relief but they are not funny and are in too much of the film to be amusing side characters. Some of the fighting is good but I've seen a lot better...
Published 23 months ago by Air Raid Patrol


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfunny and out of sync, 18 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Prince Of The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
An early film in Rothrock's filmography and she's not really in it that much, the main emphasis is on a kid and some grown up adults who bumble around throughout the whole movie. These two are meant to be the comic relief but they are not funny and are in too much of the film to be amusing side characters. Some of the fighting is good but I've seen a lot better.

The film is dubbed into English but this isn't usually a problem for me, what I did find irritating was that the sound was out of sync with the pictures. Most apparent when someone's head gets put through a glass cabinet but the smashing glass sound happened over a second beforehand. This is more than likely to be a problem with the transfer to DVD than the original film but still annoying.

Probably not good enough to watch again anyway I would definitely not watch it again due to the sound syncing issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars “Did you eat my dog?” [Sheila Chan], 26 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince Of The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
“Did you eat my dog?” [Sheila Chan]
This 1989 action martial arts action comedy has a basic plot where the bad monk kills the top monk, whose spirit enters a child who becomes the living Buddha so the bad monks want to kidnap the child so they can use his powers and it’s up to Cynthia to save the day.
It’s a mix of over the top corny slapstick comedy and martial arts -like the early Jackie Chan, and the acting is very budget Asian. Much of the first hour features Sheila Chan as the foul-mouthed teacher and there’s lots of swearing around young children who also get whacked across the head a lot [lose a *]. Rothrock makes a few fleeting early appearances but doesn’t really figure until the last half hour [lose a *] but her fight scenes are exceptional [regain a *] The picture quality is very VHS long play standard [lose a *] but worse than that is the cropping of the film to suit an old 4:3 format, but you end with scenes in which one nose talks to another and the single subtitle loses the bottom 2/3 [lose a *] –fortunately it’s all badly dubbed into English so doesn’t present much of a problem [lose another *]. I honestly can’t see where the $35, 000,000 budget went –money laundering perhaps?
I bought this to see Rothrock fight with her Sai but the whole cover is a fraud [lose another *] Oh, just realise I’m on zero stars!!! But I’m forced to give it a 1 [lose another *]. Probably the third worst film I’ve ever seen, but if you’re in a daft mood and make fun of it as you watch, you might get it to rate ***.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chop socky Rothrocky, 19 Nov. 2014
By 
Top Tec (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prince Of The Sun (DVD)
This film is crying out for Mystery Science Theatre treatment. Cheesier than a giant Edam, and with dubbing that is both out of synch and truly awful it really is so bad it's good. Jackie Chan lookalike, his whiny girlfriend/sidekick, a comedy kid, and a random Rothrock in action. A baddy who appears like a Chinese black and white minstrel in a bin bag cape, and whose dim witted henchman looks like Kim Jong Un in specs. Silliest film I have seen all year without Tom Cruise in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars prince of the sun., 24 Oct. 2010
By 
D. W. Horney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince Of The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the early Cyntha Rothrock films. It is dubbed with bad acting, but worth watching just to see Cyntha Rothrock in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cynthia Rothrock is great in this film, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. A. G. Suddaby (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince Of The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
I JUST LOVE TO SEE CYNTHIA ROTHROCK IN THESE TYPE OF FILMS IS JUST GREAT. AND AT A GREAT BARGAIN PRICE TOO!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun to watch, 5 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince Of The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
Cynthia is very enjoyable to watch in this film. Don't expect too much in the acting / plot department though - its not exactly a big budget spend here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 April 2015
By 
Mr. D. W. Root (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince Of The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
Rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince Of The Sun [DVD] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prince Of The Sun [DVD]
Prince Of The Sun [DVD] by Yi-Jung Hua (DVD - 2001)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews