Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars147
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2001
For one whole day and night after having watched 'Moulin Rouge' in the cinema, snatches of songs such as 'Children of the Revolution', 'Come What May', 'Your Song' and 'Up Where We Belong' were constantly spinning round in my head. This could mean only one thing - I had to buy the soundtrack! And when I did, I saw with a mixture of intrigue and disappointment that the CD included not only 'Lady Marmalade' but also 'Nature Boy' and 'Children of the Revolution' as versions sung by celebs and not the cast members. While these covers are good, I don't think I would enjoy them so much if they weren't bringing back memories of this beautiful film. The CD is saved by Nicole Kidman's sweet version of 'Some Day I'll Fly Away' and Ewan McGregor's amazing voice in everything he sings, especially 'Your Song'. It is a real pity that they couldn't include more songs by the original cast, but I'm world-weary enough to realise that commerciality rules all. So my advice to anyone wanting to buy this CD is: buy it, but wait until you've seen the film. Part of the joy of the film is playing Guess The Song, and most of the joy of the CD is the feeling of being transported back to the Moulin Rouge, so don't ruin either experience by putting the cart before the horse. And one last question: why doesn't the CD include 'The Show Must Go On' - one of the film's most soul-stirring songs?
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2001
Although all the wonderful songs on the album certainly merit five stars, I haven't given it five because so many of the film's great songs are missing. Where is Jim Broadbent's hilarious rendition of "Like a Virgin"? And where is the sequence where the story of Spectacular! spectacular! is explained? And what about the rather surreal re-working of "The Sound of Music"? And speaking of music, where's the main title? Don't get me wrong, it's a great album, (all the stuff the other reviwers have said is absolutley true) especially for those who've not seen the film andthat Elephant Love Montage really is great, especially Ewan McGreggor's "Up Where We Belong"; I only whish it could have been a double CD with some of the tracks listed above included as well. If it's a soundtrack to a musical it has to include most of the musical's songs!
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2002
Moulin Rouge is a fabulous assault on the eyes and one of the best films ever created. Visually creative, innovative and spectacular! This Collector's Edition of the Soundtrack captures the very vibe of the film itself, its music.
From "Lady Marmalade" by four of today's hottest female artists, the breathtaking, spine-tingling epic track that is "Come What May" to the contributions from musical marvels such as Beck, David Bowie, Fatboy Slim & Bono, you cannot fault this soundtrack.
But all of this superb music was captured by the first release of the soundtrack. What makes this edition so special is that it encapsulates all of the music from the film that the first one didn't. The fantastically funny "Like a Virgin", the melodrama of "The Show Must Go On" and the daftly excellent "The Pitch Spectacular Spectacular" are all on the second CD, deemed not commercial enough for the first.
Ardent fans of Moulin Rouge, and there are many of us, will not be able to stop themselves buying this collection! If you bought the first one, give to someone as a gift, and do him or her a favour. Let them experience what you have and share what makes Moulin Rouge such a "Spectacular Spectacular" - its music.
Make them cry to Nicole's beautiful "On Day I'll Fly Away" and sing with Ewan on Elton John's classic "Your Song". Thank the stars that contributed their music to the film, like Madonna, Elton John, Paul McCartney and so on. Without them, neither the film nor its soundtrack would be worth a listen.
If you are anything like myself, when you are not watching the movie, you will listen to the CD, sing along at the top of your voice and learn to love the film even more every time you listen. A fabulous Movie. A fabulous Soundtrack. Add both to your collection now and play them forever and ever.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2002
Wow! This CD is a must for any Moulin Rouge fan, or even just to listen to. The first CD, which I borrowed from my sister to listen to to begin with, is excellent with some wonderful tender songs; Come What May, One Day I'll Fly Away; to some gutsy songs; Diamond Dogs, Children of the Revolution; to some incredible songs which will leave you lost for words; Hindi Sad Diamonds, Sparkling Diamonds, le Tango de Roxanne.
The second CD features remixes of those on the first CD, with some songs which weren't featured on the first CD. The Pitch is incredibly funny, and those of you who have seen the film will be able to picture the cast in your minds, doing the dance routine. The Show Must Go On makes Jim Broadbent and Nicole Kidman shine in this excellent adaptaion of the Queen original.
To conclude, I can only say 3 words to you.
BUY! BUY! BUY!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2001
If you've seen the film, you'll know how wonderfully wacky and off-beat it is. This album follows the same direction....from mainstream pop songs like Rhythm Of The Night to the excellent version of Diamonds Are A Girls Best Friend, this album is a great way to re-live the magic of the movie. Of course, the biggest drawcard is the chance to hear Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman sing, and they measure up very nicely. Their vocal talents are showcased on several tracks, but the highlight would have to be Elephant Love Medley - a collage of many love songs, where Nicole and Ewan really shine in their vocal abilities. Another standout track is Diamonds Are A girls Best Friend, with Nicole in lead vocals. This would have be the best version of this song - a throughly modern version of a wonderful classic. A slight disappointment is the exclusion of 'Like A virgin' - if you've seen the movie, you would know how hilarious this version is. Do yourself a favour - go and see the movie and buy this CD!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2003
If you've seen the film, you'll know how wonderfully wacky and off-beat it is. This album follows the same direction....from mainstream pop songs like Rhythm Of The Night to the excellent version of Diamonds Are A Girls Best Friend, this album is a great way to re-live the magic of the movie. Of course, the biggest drawcard is the chance to hear Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman sing, and they measure up very nicely. Their vocal talents are showcased on several tracks, but the highlight would have to be Elephant Love Medley - a collage of many love songs, where Nicole and Ewan really shine in their vocal abilities. Another standout track is Diamonds Are A girls Best Friend, with Nicole in lead vocals. This would have be the best version of this song - a throughly modern version of a wonderful classic. A slight disappointment is the exclusion of 'Like A virgin' - if you've seen the movie, you would know how hilarious this version is. Do yourself a favour - go and see the movie and buy this CD!
The soundtrack for the extravaganza that is Baz Luhrmann's "Moulin Rouge" is every bit as sparkling as the film. David Bowie's "Nature Boy", which forms the beginning and end of the cd (and the film) begins with Christian (Ewan Mc Gregor) telling us that the story of "Moulin Rouge" is one of love. Quickly followed by the films energetic "Lady Marmalade" the pace is kept up right through to one of the film's original songs "Hindi Sad Diamonds", which incorporates parts of "Diamonds Are A Girls Best Friend". The most surprising track on the CD is probably the "Elephant Love Medley", performed by Nicole Kidman and Ewan Mc Gregor. This song shows the vocal talents of the unlikely duo off to a tee, as well as capturing the fun, infused with tragedy of the Moulin Rouge. The soundtrack is one of Truth (David Bowie's "Nature Boy") Beauty (Nicole kidman's "One Day I'll Fly Away") Freedom (Bono, Gavin Friday and Maurice Seezer's "Children of the Revolution") and above all LOVE (Nicole Kidman and Ewan Mc Gregor's "Come What May"). If you enjoyed the film, you will love the soundtrack!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2006
A brave move to set a period film against the backdrop of a very modern soundtrack, but in this case, it works, and very well too.

Fans of the movie will love this soundtrack, but it's also just a great CD, one that should be a staple of any collection. The clever reworkings of so many old hits, El Tango de Roxanne in particular, give a new flavour to the tracks and help to up the kitsch value of the movie. Although it was a huge worldwide hit, it was certainly quirkier than most of your five-star movies, and the soundtrack is exactly the same.

The Elephant Love Medley is a sparkling blend of too many songs to count, but you'll have fun trying to name them all, if you're not too caught up in just how wonderful Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman are. Their voices sound beautiful together and apart, and with the infectious and familliar tunes, you won't be able to help singing along, or at least humming!

Come What May is, in my opinion, the best song on the album. It's a proper passion-filled duet with an amazing crescendo that just begs you to get all choked up with emotion. The centre-piece of the movie, this sounds just as good on CD as it did in the cinema.

Every track on here is worth a mention, and I'm no expert, so I'll leave it at that. Buy the CD, analyse it yourself.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2001
The pleasant surprise of the movie and of the soundtrack is that Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor can really SING. The best songs on the album are mostly theirs: McGregor's cover of Your Song, Kidman's One Day I'll Fly Away and Sparkling Diamonds and (best of all) their duets: Elephant Love Medly and Come What May. Aside from these the other two songs worth especial note are Bowie's haunting Nature Boy and the dazzling take on Roxanne by McGregor, Jacek Koman and Jose Feliciano. See the movie and buy this soundtrack!
Hopefully there'll be a second CD as some great songs from the movie didn't make it to this one (notably the Broadbent/Kidman/Company cover of the Show Must Go On and the hysterical Broabent/Roxburgh cover of Like a Virgin).
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2001
A good collection of tunes, but I certainly don't remember David Bowie or FBS appearing in Victorian top hat & tails in the film. There were some outstanding pieces of music from the film missing from this CD - "Like a Virgin", "Show Must Go On" and plenty of incidental tunes that could quite happily have fitted on the CD without getting 2 versions of "Lady Marmalade" & "Nature Boy". Call me Mr Cynical, but whenever I see the "Music inspired by..." sticker my heart sinks, because it's just another way of bilking the punters, who are going to shell out again in 6 months time when "Moulin Rouge... Part deux" is probably going to be released. Please, just give us the OST!
After all that, the songs are good and well produced, and there is enough of the film on it to keep you relatively happy.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2002
Being the biggest Moulin Rouge fan ever i longed for the soundtrack. On my birthday it was given to me and i absoloutley loved it. The way modern songs are used but with a twist are fantastic and Nicole shines like the sparkling diamond she is meant to be. Ewan shows us that his talents reach a lot further than acting and Baz once again proves he is a truly fantastic director. I give it 12 out of 10. A must have for anyone who has seen the film.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)