Customer Reviews
Bad


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why have they replace tracks with edited versions?
This is one of my favorite Jackson albums, I think I may prefer is to Thriller. However why have sony replaced Dirty diana with the edited single version, taken the breathing off Smoth Criminal at the beginning,Removed Jackson's speach at the beginning of i just can't stop loving you. There are slight differences to bad and the way you make me feel with the vocal being...
Published on 18 Aug. 2011 by The Big G (Gordon)

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The original remastered album?
... Except it isn't, is it? Because this lavish 3 CD, 1 DVD box set with it's poster, sticker and 2 well produced books of photos STILL features the edited, intro-less version of the album's first single, I Just Can't Stop Loving You!

This was also included on the 2001 remaster of the album and proved to be an extremely unpopular decision so why do it again...
Published on 17 Sept. 2012 by bobby morrow


‹ Previous | 118 19 2028 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aging Like A Fine Wine, 15 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Twenty five years. Go back a quarter century before then, and its before Elvis, before The Beatles, and Hitler only dead seven years. And it seems like yesterday. How could it be?

Still, Death sells. Now that Jackson has been dead three years, we've seen a greatest hits set, a behind the scenes documentary, an album of unreleased/unfinished studio stuff, a remix album, and now, the a packed-to-the-brims fat reissue of his high-water mark - 1987's "Bad". Popular convention has it that "Thriller" is the best album (and it's not bad, as such, though "Thriller" is often anodyne and schmaltzy). Popular convention is wrong. "Bad" has aged well - mostly, and is also, - mostly - absent from the kind of sentimental histrionics that spoils Jackson's key talent as a peddler of slightly sleazy disco pop. From a quarter century remove, and shorn of the bonkers rumours, "Bad" is an excellent pop album : full of strong, memorable songs structured to leave the listener wanting more. Only "Speed Demon" flags slightly, and is conspicuous by being not quite as good as everything else (the Nero remix on the bonus CD is a complete rethinking with tons of modern flourishes).

The bonus CD is the main draw to the avid fan made of demo evrsions of unfinished/unreleased songs recorded around the time. No chance, then, of hearing an embryonic version of "Bad", for example. "The Price of Fame" is easily companion to anything on the main CD. How this sat in a drawer for 25 years surprises me. Of the other material some is known from the 2004 Box Set, some isn't, and some are foreign language versions of well known material. The set is only padded out by new remixes of "Bad" (that are, at best OK) and "Speed Demon". Perhaps the big miss here, is the 12" remixes from the time of release : though some weren't very good, and others were on the hugely expensive and rip-off CD/DVD single reissue box set of a few years ago, full length, artist approved, extended mixes of songs such as "Smooth Criminal", are simply missing.

The other attraction is a DVD, and CD, of Jackson live at Wembley Stadium in 1988. Taken from a screen-feed onto VHS, it is a flat, unexceptional visual document designed to complement the attraction on stage, and not be a document of the "Bad" stage show. So, no helicam shots, no wide pans from the back of the stadium, and remastered from a video tape. It's a good show, but perhaps not the most representative film of the tour - if there is one. Still, 8 nights at Wembley Stadium is a world record matched only recently by Take That. Well done.

Overall though, its a good set with some very good, long-lost material, padded out by remixes, missing some others, and with a rare live show. It doesn't feel shortchanged, but is lacking upon close examination. On the other hand, a proper remaster of this record is long overdue, and as a greatest hits, it is probably the finest single vinyl slab Jackson ever released : "Thriller" eat your heart out - "Bad" is the Michael Jackson high watermark. For a short while, this man was, undoubtedly, a musical genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 6 Oct. 2012
By 
Ms. S. Clarke "petalflower" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love Michael Jackson so much that everytime I see him my heart feels broken with the loss of the most talented performer ever known and the most beautiful person with so much love in him. It was criminal what he had to endure but I truly believe in my heart that Michael was sent to us from God as a Angel and is now back to where he came from. Sorry if that came across too much but I felt that I just had to express my feelings. Now going onto the review of the amazing box set. The leather box set which is beautiful contains material which is so priceless and the dvd concert is awesome. As for the picture quality considering it was from Michael's personal collection it was brilliant and in no way disturbed me at all from watching the most amazing concert I have ever seen. Some reviews say otherwise but in my personal opinion watching this amazing concert on my Samsung new 46inch tv was excellent and the picture quality as I said was in no way distracting at all from enjoying the concert. From the moment you see Michael appear on the stage you are spell bound by his magic that will never ever be beaten, not in my lifetime anyway. The whole concert is just mind blowing with the talent of Michael and his endless energy that keeps going on and on and as for watching his dancing it is just like he is floating on water with his magic feet and has the voice of a angel. The songs just keep flowing with you glued to the screen amazed by what your watching. I cannot say what part I enjoyed most as everything Michael does is amazing. The box set has some lovely booklets to read and the cds are brilliant. Listening to the unreleased songs is just pure pleasure. I havent played the live concert cd yet as feel that it will spoil me watching the concert again but I will play it in time but I'm just feeling at the moment that it spoils it for you watching the concert but that is my opinion. The poster is lovely and to finish off all I can now say is if your a Michael Jackson fan then why on earth have you not got this as you will not be dissapointed and if you are then you need serious help. The price of the set is brilliant so what are you waiting for order right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slightly flawed release, but a good package as a whole., 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The original 'Bad' album is a five star record for me. Not every track is fantastic, and nothing quite reaches the perfection of something like 'Billie Jean', but as a whole work it is far more consistent than its predecessor. The 'extras' are pretty generous - and these vary from fascinating to superfluous. The live CD of the concert is great, though it is unfortunate that they didn't opt for a 2CD option for the audio so the whole track list (that appears on the DVD) could be maintained.

Most fans will be keen to hear the demos and outtakes. Of these, 'Price of Fame' and 'Abortion Papers' are the best - either could have been worked up and would have made fantastic additions to the album proper, or even replaced something like 'Liberian Girl' (which I always find a bit weak on the original album). The decision to not develop 'Abortion Papers' was understandable, given the touchy subject and the slight similarity to 'Billie Jean' (in parts) of 'Price of Fame' perhaps explain both being kept in the vaults. 'Streetwalker' is a pretty good track, familiar to anyone who bought the 2001 remaster, as is 'Fly Away'. The only real dud of the demos is 'Free' which is just a bit throwaway, and even ends in laughter - perhaps suggesting that even whilst singing it Jackson knew it wasn't a keeper. These do, collectively offer valuable insight into the recording process of the album, and the demo of 'Smooth Criminal', named 'Al Capone' is fantastic. It has a completely different draft of lyrics as well as pretty different vocal and musical arrangements. Next to the other demos it is head and tails above the rest of the material, and it is certainly justice that it was included on the final album, all be it in a pretty altered guise.

The real stinker with this set is the pointless, modern, remixes tacked on the end. They are awful. Why some contemporary remixes, or actually nothing, could have been considered is slightly odd. Still, they are unwanted guests but they don't ruin the party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad (Remastered) (MP3 Download)
best album I have heard in a long wile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BARGAIN!, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A MUST-HAVE!!!! EXCELLENT BARGAIN!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 23 Aug. 2009
By 
Shanice David "Shan" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad (Audio CD)
very good album and comes with interviews about the making of the album. comes with bonus tracks that are not on an orignal album. overall great and simply michael jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Following up 50 million album sales..........., 28 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Bad (Audio CD)
Quite frankly anybody would find it hard to follow up 50 million record sales and quite possibly one of the finest pop records ever created, even Michael Jackson. He did come out with a pretty solid album however with mostly self composed material, the album does consist of some fine Michael Jackson moments. Smooth Criminal with its infectious dance beat, the snarl of Dirty Diana, the beauty of Man In The Mirror and the simple formula that Michael Jackson did so well in the 80s, the ability to produce a great pop song in The Way You Make Me Feel.
Unfortuntly the album didn't reach the soulfulness of Off The Wall or the perfection of Thriler due to the inclusion of some songs that the album could do without. Just Good Friends definitely belongs on a Stevie Wonder album rather than a Michael Jackson album, Another Part Of Me seems to go nowhere apart from the oohs and owws the come into it more than any other Michael Jackson song and not to mention the pretty average Speed Demon and the pretty cheesy ballad of I Just Can't Stop Loving You.
The album shouldn't be judged on these songs however, half of the album is pretty fine in its own right, the album after all did produce a record number of number 1 singles, as perfect as pop can get so even though it lacks the soul and confidence of Off The Wall or the pop-perfection of Thriller its a decent album in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have album, 31 Mar. 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad (Audio CD)
What ever you think of Michael Jackson as a person, when ever you come to his music it's amazing and this album somes that up. Full of classics and brillilant and diffrent songs. You all probably know the top ones like Smooth Criminal (one of the nest songs ever), Bad and Dirty Diana. But one that stands out that probably dosn't get enough play time Liberian Girl. This is not far off a Greatest Hits, 8 songs are classics the other 3 are still good songs. A must have album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was there ! ( the best concert i've ever seen ! ), 20 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. R. Haden "hdrob9" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was there all those years ago. To see Michael Jackson in concert, was a dream come true, and now to own that concert, brings back the happiest time of my life.
Thia isn't a biased opinion, but in my opinion, the BAD concerts were the best i'd ever seen.
The quality of the audio is faultless and the visual's are excellent. The new / demo songs on CD 2, are a great mix of catchy grooves & dreamy ballads. You also get the remastered album & an audio cd of the concert. ( two booklets, sticker & poster ) It's very well packaged in a faux leather like box.
It's well worth the money...i would have paid ten times more ! Just a very special memory, to keep for the rest of my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad (Audio CD)
great replacement from tape 2 cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 118 19 2028 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad
Bad by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews