Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars START YOUR CLASSIC MICHAEL JACKSON COLLECTION HERE
This has definately got to be placed in the greatest albums of all time. This was Michael's first, true solo album and is just one of his greatest pieces of work. However, the reason that this album is special is quite simply...because it's just darn good!!
The album opens with the classic disco anthem "Don't stop til you get enough" and runs smoothly into...
Published on 6 Jun 2002 by foxmulder89

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what i expected
As a MJ fan, i am very disappointed with this album. I personally do not like all the talk, although interesting you only want to hear that once, I bought this album thinking it was just the normal album but it is not. Do not buy this one if you want the original Off the Wall album.
Published 23 months ago by Pooch


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars START YOUR CLASSIC MICHAEL JACKSON COLLECTION HERE, 6 Jun 2002
This review is from: Off the Wall: Special Edition (Audio CD)
This has definately got to be placed in the greatest albums of all time. This was Michael's first, true solo album and is just one of his greatest pieces of work. However, the reason that this album is special is quite simply...because it's just darn good!!
The album opens with the classic disco anthem "Don't stop til you get enough" and runs smoothly into "Rock with you" and the funky "Working Day and night." These three tunes combine with the title track "Off the wall" and "Get on the floor" to provide 5 simultaneous disco, foot-tapping classics.
The mood changes as the album goes on to the classic soul-smoothie song "She's out of my life," which has undoubtedly got to be the best slushy tune he's ever made, as it's not OTT. Not that any of MJ'S love songs are OTT!! But "She's out of my life" is his best slow tune to date!
Check out the album track "It's the falling in love" with it's catchy chorus and classic MJ harmonies.
Let's face it, both Michael Jackson and Quincy Jones, who produced this album, are both musical geniuses! The combination of talent from Michael, Quincy and Rod Temperton helped to produce one of the best soul albums of all time!
Start your MJ collection by buying this album and listening to the remastered classic tracks and the extra-features! You can listen to this over and over again without ever getting bored. GO AND BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funkiest Jackson Album Ever!, 27 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Off the Wall: Special Edition (Audio CD)
If sometimes you yearn for some funk, you've come to the right place! Jackson's 'Off The Wall' was a milstone in his career, giving us a glimpse of what he was capable of as a solo artist. With fantastic arrangments by the legendery Quincy Jones, each number sends musical shivers up your spine as you listen to the fantastic musicians play and marvel at Jackson's impecable delivery. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning, timeless album. A must-buy., 30 May 2007
By 
J. Coyle "rolling stock" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Off the Wall: Special Edition (Audio CD)
Have to agree with the previous reviewer - this rivals the magnificent Thriller, and in places, surpasses it. The introduction, MJ's spoken voiceover, to Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough, (The force... it's got a lot of power..")is spine tingling. No music lover should be without this album; it provided a template for decades of (others') music to come, in my opinion. The various croonings, the backing vocals and Michael's "Oohs" are sexy too! The music presents the perfect balance of light, funky and seductive.

The contribution by British songwriter Rod Temperton must not be overlooked either. The sultrily sung 'Rock With You', the joyous 'Off the Wall' and the quirky 'Burn This Disco Out', were all penned by this man who went on to write the track 'Thriller'. Neither must the fanatstic percussive elements that are the hallmark of this album.

The Paul Mcartney penned 'Girlfriend' really suits Jackson's voice and youth at this time while She's Out of My Life has become his very own 'My Way. 'I Can't Help It', written by Stevie Wonder, is a delicate jazzy number that showcases Jackson's voice superbly. This album won only one Grammy at the time (for best r n b vocal, I think) but its worth has stood the test of time and become a favourite with music critics.

I can't recommend this album strongly enough. I'm passionate about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His Best, most Complete Album, 30 Dec 2006
By 
Derrick Johnson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Off the Wall: Special Edition (Audio CD)
This 1979 release, IMO is his best solo release, and sounds timeless. Forget the hype surrounding the man; this is Michael at his best. Subsequent releases (particularly Thriller) would go on to cement his name in musical history (and IMO cause him to try and chase the record sales on future releases) I wish Mike would go back to this winning formula. Take one excellent producer (Quincy Jones) a backing group of top rate musicians (Paulino Da Costa, for example on Percussion) and live instruments, with great songs (by Michael himself, Stevie Wonder, Rod Templeton) This is one CD that you can let play without skipping tracks. From the great 'don't Stop (`til you get enough) listen to the great percussion that under pines this track, to rock with you, Working day and Night, and the title track, just flow. One of the essential albums of the 70's, 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackson�s finest album revived., 11 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Off the Wall: Special Edition (Audio CD)
This remastered edition of Michael Jackson's critically acclaimed album relights the sparkle of the late seventies disco era in a tantalizing ride that encompasses soul, funk, pop and dance. It has since become a milestone in black music and is among the best albums ever recorded in the history of music, thanks in part to the excellent Quincy Jones production, which invigorates each of the songs through its fresh sound. One of Off The Wall's greatest appeals is that each track is individual and unique, hence creating an ever-changing soundscape from the first song to the last. In fact, the songs are so accomplished, so incredibly self-contained, that each one is of first-rate standard.
The album begins with the high-spirited, plain excellent Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough, a bubbling adventure in dance, before delving into the wonderful vertigo of Rock With You. Off The Wall's other highlights, namely the title track, the genuinely emotive, yet not mawkish, She's Out Of My Life, and the addictive harmonic sweetness of Stevie Wonder's I Can't Help It, continue to delight and intrigue the senses and establish the album's superlative status. Jackson's vocal talents, in addition to the development of his new sound, provide the backbone for musical pleasures that were on the horizon, in the form of the splendid, if slightly overbearing, Thriller and the rousing Bad, two other must-haves in Epic's wise reissues of this great artist's catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of 1979, 5 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Off the Wall (Audio CD)
When the United States Postal Service's "Celebrate the Century Express" train stopped in my hometown during September 2000, the songs coming from the outdoor speakers were those from this album, including "Girlfriend" and "It's the Falling in Love". This was fitting, because "Off the Wall" is one of the finest pop albums of the 20th century. Produced by Quincy Jones, who also produced George Benson's magnificent 1980 album "Give Me the Night", the album is enjoyable from start to finish, with 10 solid songs that deserved their popularity among radio listeners and rollerskaters. In his autobiography "Moonwalk", Jackson described Jones as "the best producer I could have asked for" and explained how the two felt it was important to "capture passion and strong feelings in a recorded performance." They succeeded in their quest. Michael's singing is brilliant. Bassist Louis Johnson plays as well as Chic's bassist Bernard Edwards. The rhythm section varies the beats at various parts of a song so that they don't end up being monotonous. And the guitar players are great, too. The songs "Rock With You" and "Off the Wall" have solid grooves that can be listened to repeatedly with great enjoyment. The vocalists and musicians on this album are masters of the R&B, disco, and pop genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Off the Wall, and Get on the Dancefloor!, 29 Mar 2005
This review is from: Off the Wall: Special Edition (Audio CD)
Well, what can be written about Michael Jackson that hasn't already been praised before? His exceptional vocal range, musical versatility, composing skills, charisma and dance power - these factors combined, and more guarentee a success. But merely for the fact that it contains some superb music, Off the Wall will always hold a place in my music collection.
Each song is superb - I believe it is alot more tight than Thriller, which although contain some true classics, wasn't as consistently brilliant. However on Off the Wall every track is instantly loveable.
Don't Stop 'Till You Get Enough - When I first bought the Off the Wall album a few years ago, this track burst forth into my head - I recognized it immediatly. A classic. Super opener. 10/10
Rock With You - The best on the album in my opinion. Great song with lovely backing vocals and an irresitable beat. 10/10
Working Day and Night - 9/10
Get on the Floor - 9/10
Off the Wall - Simply amazing. Such an infectious beat, you can't help singing along. Glorious!
Girlfriend - Adultery, Michael?(Girlfriend/I'm gonna show your boyfriend/that I'm the only boyfriend for you) Still, musically you're still my favourite. 9/10
She's Out of My Life - Jackson plays the smultzchy ballad card, and he plays an ace. 9/10
I Can't Help It - Another great track from the hitmaker in the sky. 10/10
It's the Falling in Love - This took some getting used to, but when I did get used to it, t'was amazing.
Burn This Disco Out - Undoubtedly one of the best disco songs ever, from my favourite disco composer, Rod Temperton (He also wrote my favourite disco song ever, the classic "Boogie Nights"), Burn this Disco out has the wonderful sing-a-long lyrics of "Wanna Dance/Wanna Shout/Wanna Burn this Disco Out" and boy, you'll wanna burn away with him and shake that thing.
A masterpeice from the King of Pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need this, 22 Sep 2005
By 
Ms. Charlotte Jackson (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Off the Wall: Special Edition (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite albums of all time and it will never EVER be topped!It never fails to get me dancing and sounds like it could have been produced yesterday. If you haven't heard this album, I can assure you it will become a firm favorite after the first time you hear it. You will hear how so many artists after (Justin Timberlake, Jamiroquai to name but a few) have blatantly copied the original and best. If you like 70's music of any description (or even if you dont!) you need this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 27 Dec 2006
This review is from: Off the Wall: Special Edition (Audio CD)
Michael Jackson finally came into his own with his debut solo album for Epic Records. Off The Wall was released in August of 1979, and became the first album in music history to generate 4 top 10 hit singles in the U.S & U.K. A 5th single was issued in the U.K, the McCartney penned 'Girlfriend', which only managed to crack the top 50 in the U.K. Still though Off The Wall was a huge commercial success for Jackson, as it established himself firmly as a solo artist, out-selling all previous Jackson 5 & The Jackson's efforts. Jackson was crushed Off The Wall only garnered 1 Grammy win in a R&B category. The RIAA certified Off The Wall at 7x Platinum, and went onto sell 20 million copies world-wide. It was the biggest recording by a black artist in history - until Jackson released his next solo effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 20 May 2007
This review is from: Off the Wall: Special Edition (Audio CD)
With off the wall Michael Jackson would step out from the shadow of his father, and stand even further out from his siblings. He was already considered a brilliant talent, and a young genius as Stevie Wonder had once been thought as. But this album would take him to the next level. Not long after this Michael would make what is regarded as his best album (thriller) and off the wall is often seen as a prologue to that album but in my opinion Off the wall stands up on its own two feet as a classic, and in some respects can even rival Thriller.

1. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough

This is the track that is talked about most when discussing the album, it kicks things of at a fast pace, and everyone remembers the slow build up before Michael screams and truely gets the album started. It is probably the albums stand out track which Michael would be happy with as he wrote it. Lyricly its not perfect but something in the music really gets you going. 10/10

2. Rock With You

Rock with you is another track that is often remembered from this album as it was played a lot in the discos popular at the time of release. In my opinion it doesn't stand as strong as the jacksons big disco hit 'shake your body down to the ground' and I have always felt this song doesn't stand up as well as some of the other songs on the album - Its very much of the era. If you are new to this album you may not understand what some of the fuss is about this song but at the time it was a huge hit and quite inovative, so I wont knock it down too much. 9/10

3. Workin' Day And Night

often underlooked but I feel this is even better than rock with you. The percussion on this track (masterminded by Michael and Randy by the sounds of it) is really funky and I feel this song is more authentic than rock with you and stands the test of time better. Then again some people would strongly disagree. 10/10

4. Get On The Floor

This is co written by Louis Johnson who in my opinion is the fourth cornerstone of this album (along with Michael, Quincy, and Rod temperton) His bass playing on this album is amongst the best of this era, truely original and inovative. His playing truely shines on this song, but the song still sounds forgetable. It actualy stands up fairly well compared to other disco songs, but it isnt the best song Michael has ever written but it isn't a bomb by any means. 7/10

5. Off The Wall

Good, not great. The title song is quite unique and I believe his brothers do backing vocals which makes it sound a bit like a Jacksons song. Its another good song by no means filler but better things were to come on this album. 8/10

6. Girlfriend

This was a Paul Mcartney outcast and the song is rather medocare. Its what i would describe as a 'cute' love song, but its more Jackson 5 than Michael Jackson. 7/10

7. She's Out Of My Life

Shes out of my life is the outatanding ballad on the album, and it still stands amongs 'ben' and 'you are not alone' as his best. Its lyricly so perfect and musicly sophisticated but its Michaels voice that stands tall, it could make a weak man cry. beautiful. 10/10

8. I Can't Help It

I mentioned Stevie Wonder earlier on, well here is one of his songs, and not his best it has to be said. I would say that this song doesn't really suit Michaels voice and this song wouldn't have made the album I think if it hadn't been for the writers name. 7/10

9. It's The Falling In Love

Another ballad, but this one is the more poppy of the two on the album and also the less heartfelt. Its a good song and I love Michaels voice on the second verse (and yet again Louis Johnsons Bass skill really shine through) however it isn't a standout track. 8/10

10. Burn This Disco Out

The albums final track is a real disco stormer and like Rock with you it hasn't dated brilliantly however I love its funkyness and it makes the album end on a positive note. 8/10

There is not a bad note on this album and I never get bored of it. Its one of the few albums I can listen to from start to finish without losing intrest. This is a great credit to Michael and Quincy Jones. The songs aren't always the best but the singing is always perfect and the production from start to finish is phenomenal. The percussion, bass and guitar and other instruments really stand out and everyone involved helps to make this a brilliant soul/funk/disco/pop album. In my opinion this is Jacksons most authentic album. It's his most 'black' album. The production is the best Quincy Jones would ever do and sounds much less dated than the other two Jackson albums he did. So is this better than Thriller? Well the things I have just mentioned are all favourable and Off the wall certainly has some things over Thriller, but Thriller has the better songs and it came at a much better time. Thriller is his most successful and maybe also his best. I'll leave that to you.

This special edition is really good it comes with cool photos and some bonus tracks. I was slightly disapointed with these bonuses as they aren't as good as the ones seen on Thriller and Bad, but they are worth the money none the less.

Overall 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Off the Wall: Special Edition
Off the Wall: Special Edition by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews