Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo Amazing!!
Cannot recommend this masterpiece enough!!I watched the film 'Superfly' late one night on t.v. and couldn't get enough of the music in the background.I knew I had to have the soundtrack which was better then the actual film. 'Superfly' the album is just fantastic.Every song tells a story but they are sooo melodic and catchy. My personal favourites are 'Gimme your love'...
Published on 12 Mar 2007 by Hitsvillegirl86

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Ruined the mix!
I compared this new edition to my original 1990 Ichiban/Curtom CD, and the original is WAY better! Charly took Rhino's horrible remaster for this. However, the second disc of rarities, single mixes and instrumentals is essential. So, hunt down the Ichiban pressing and dump Disc 1 of this set.
Published 10 months ago by Vincent G. Marino


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential album, 23 Sep 2005
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Superfly represents the pinnacle of Curtis Mayfield impressive career - it still sounds fresh today and stands comparison with any other of the great Soul albums of the early 70s, and surely it is the greatest soundtrack from a Black artist (just better than Shaft because of its variety) Ironically it has a resolutely anti drugs message for a film which had a drug dealer as its hero.
Here you can listen to single mixes, instrumental versions and demos, all of which showcase the mans incredible ability - OK maybe thats for anoraks and obsessives - but whatever, if you have any interest in Black music this album is essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a really good cd, 23 Feb 2001
By 
Michael Fingal O'Flaherty Brett (North London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Superfly 2cd Special (Audio CD)
I first heard this when it came out in 1972 (I think!) and was struck by its sincerity and directness..........the sax solos and conga drums were unusual too then. The song Freddie's Dead with the contemporary lyric 'We can deal with rockets and dreams....but reality, what does it mean?' Seemed very perceptive and full of insight........but what was the alternative-Alice Cooper? It reinforced my prejudice that only black Americans could make popular music of any significance.............and it's still true. And I'm white and from North London........but there you go. Best wishes. Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
By 
nigel carty (Melbourne, victoria, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Fly [VINYL] (Vinyl)
excellent as good today as it ever was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: Superfly [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Fast delivery, perfect product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 10 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superfly - O.S.T. (Audio CD)
ace cd cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb early 70's soul, 15 Feb 2007
By 
A. J. Rabet "Rabs" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great soundtrack album of soul music coming from the film of the same name. It has a resolutely anti-drugs message even though the film has its anti hero a Drugs dealer. There were several other films dealing with drugs in a realistic way such as Panic in Needle Park made at the same time whereas today the subject seems to be ignored even though drug usage has risen.

With regards to the music the album is full of wonderful horn arrangements and wonderful percussion and Curtis Mayfield's falsetto is wonderful throughout.

It really makes you want to roll out your white convertible Cadillac, put on your platforms, flares, large lapelled jacket and shirt and just be baaaaad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superfly, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Graham S. Owen (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superfly (Audio CD)
Purchased on a nostalgic whim but you cannot turn the clock back - it has two great tracks but the remainder of the album seemed tired and dated - but to be fair it is an old album and was original in its day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superfly
Superfly by Curtis Mayfield (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews