Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo Amazing!!
Cannot recommend this masterpiece enough!!I watched the film 'Superfly' late one night on t.v. and couldn't get enough of the music in the background.I knew I had to have the soundtrack which was better then the actual film. 'Superfly' the album is just fantastic.Every song tells a story but they are sooo melodic and catchy. My personal favourites are 'Gimme your love'...
Published on 12 Mar 2007 by Hitsvillegirl86

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Ruined the mix!
I compared this new edition to my original 1990 Ichiban/Curtom CD, and the original is WAY better! Charly took Rhino's horrible remaster for this. However, the second disc of rarities, single mixes and instrumentals is essential. So, hunt down the Ichiban pressing and dump Disc 1 of this set.
Published 10 months ago by Vincent G. Marino


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooo Amazing!!, 12 Mar 2007
Cannot recommend this masterpiece enough!!I watched the film 'Superfly' late one night on t.v. and couldn't get enough of the music in the background.I knew I had to have the soundtrack which was better then the actual film. 'Superfly' the album is just fantastic.Every song tells a story but they are sooo melodic and catchy. My personal favourites are 'Gimme your love' which is sexy and smooth, 'Eddie you should no better' is just beautifully sung and 'Freddies dead' which is funky soul at its best. But all of the songs have a certain charm and its one of the few albums that I can play straight through from beginning to end which is very rare.If you have ANY taste in wonderful soul music with an intelligent message sung by the vocally blessed Curtis Mayfield then please do yourself a favour and pick up this wonderful album, you won't regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curtis Mayfield - Superfly, 2 July 2002
This review is from: Superfly (Audio CD)
This limited edition version of the Curtis Mayfield soundtrack contains additional tracks and alternative versions.
The first CD is full of Mayfield classics which make him a representative for the social movements of the 60's and early 70's. He makes a stand against racism and for race pride. 'Pusherman', 'Freddie's Dead', 'Superfly' and 'You should know better' are great tracks symbolising characteristics of black american culture that would exist long into the future.
The content of this record is still very much relevant today, which makes the lyrics interesting. The beats are tuneful and rhythmic, this soul album is truly a classic. Anybody who listens to any type of music of black origin, will love this album and should own it.
Disk 2 is packed with instrumentals, remixes, demos and alternative tracks. The music is soulful and has a chill out quality to it, something you can listen to whilst relaxing, and something you can dance to.
Altogether a great album. 5 out of 5 for this relevant soul classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sure is Funky, 8 Nov 2008
Strange to imagine this being made to accompany another form, it is so engrossing and elevating, so complete, on its own.

It's easy to get lost in the opulence of the instrumentation, the sweetness of the voice, but it pays to take note of the descriptions of Mayfield, who is always too considered a commentator to pass into pontificating, he offers people as they are, and offers himself right back.

Curtis was almost gratuitously endowed with musical talent, an impassioned performer, staggering voice, accomplished player, and much more. Therefore, it is not surprising that he has given us such an polysemous catalogue of work, from the most carefree, unadulterated pop, to harrowing, distressing lamentations. What marked him out was the ability to have something to say, but never to tire you with polemics, and such a confidence as to know when to shut up and let the sound speak.

If you are a Hip-Hopper who finds themselves engaged in curt, colloquial musings on Production, listen to this and realise that it can, indeed, be an art.

You can try and play this in the background, and be surprised as your feet tap, and your head begins to bob insistently, and make it clear that this is more than worthy of far greater attention. It's equally; absorbing, agitating, hopeful, weary and wistful across the record. But more than anything: it is Funky.

'Little Child Runnin' Wild' and 'No Thing on Me' are simply stunning.

This album would grace any collection, or indeed any room, at any time. I'm so glad I've got my own! Sensational man, sensational sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars his masters voice, 15 Aug 2007
This review is from: Superfly (Audio CD)
amount of tracks(not including bonus tracks) :9
excellent:6
v.good:0
good:3
fair:0
poor:0

oh how these glorious days of black music are missed! there was never a better time than the early 70's. reggae, funk, motown, the philly sound. what great days they were. it makes you see clearly just how far down the plughole black music has travelled from those days to the souless, tuneless dirge they now turn out. this is one of, if not THE, best examples of just how inventive, musical and soulful black music used to be. a razor-sharp collection of songs with wonderful melodies, biting, insightful lyrics and fantastic musicianship. it never really got better than curtis mayfield. every album the man made had some gems on it. this one had it all. makes me wanna march up to the disgraceful 'mobo' awards and shout out, 'listen to this you idiots! this is what its all about! listen to what youve lost!' of course its not only blacks who are turning out such crap these days - white people are giving them more than a run for their money. i guess we just have to face the fact that the age of great music is well and truly gone. theres never been a collection of songs as soulful as this on one album. and the voice! THE VOICE!. make no mistake, curtis was the man. he must be spinning in his grave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential album, 2 Dec 2006
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superfly (Audio CD)
Superfly represents the pinnacle of Curtis Mayfield impressive career - it still sounds fresh today and stands comparison with any other of the great Soul albums of the early 70s, and surely it is the greatest soundtrack from a Black artist (just better than Shaft because of its variety) Ironically it has a resolutely anti drugs message for a film which had a drug dealer as its hero.

The most well known tracks "Superfly", "Pusherman" and "Freddie's Dead" will need no introduction, and represent some of the most memorable music from the early 70's when Soul ruled, but get this album, also, for 2 of the more laid back tracks, "Give Me Your Love" and "Think" and you won't regret it.

This set has demos and radio promos, in addition to the original album, which, for a soundtrack, really does stand alone, with not a filler track in sight. If you have any interest in Black music this album is essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic soul album of the 70s, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superfly (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl shortly after its original release and decided it was time to have the convenience of playing it in the car - it remains a classic mix of soul and early funk but has a distinctly refined and innovative sound that only Curtis Mayfield could bring to albums of this era. A soul classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good if not even better than I remembered it, when I had it back in the 1970's on an LP, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superfly (Audio CD)
You can just listen and listen to this all day long. Instrumental's are amazing. This was one of the best pieces of work Mayfield ever did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superfly very good well worth listening too, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superfly - O.S.T. (Audio CD)
Brilliant album thanks, I watched the film in the 70s and always liked the music I would recommend people to listen to Curtis mayfield
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ruined the mix!, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Vincent G. Marino (Staten Island, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Fly (Audio CD)
I compared this new edition to my original 1990 Ichiban/Curtom CD, and the original is WAY better! Charly took Rhino's horrible remaster for this. However, the second disc of rarities, single mixes and instrumentals is essential. So, hunt down the Ichiban pressing and dump Disc 1 of this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Emma Harvey "EH's" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superfly (Audio CD)
Although I think he makes a lot of references to drugs in the lyrics (I think) which does concern me slightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superfly
Superfly by Curtis Mayfield (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews