Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best
This is probably the first series other than maybe repeats of the original Star Trek that really gripped me and it was something I just could not miss.
I always remember when I was a child getting excited each saturday afternoon waiting for this to come on and it was my first real escape into the world of Robin Hood.
But this is no standard Robin Hood like so...
Published on 28 Mar 2005 by Mr. C. J. Thorpe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Digitally restored???
I love the series, it's one of the best re-talk of the old story, and I have seen a lot of the adaptations, but I bought this for really stupid amount of money (my bad, of course), because it said "digitally restored". Well, it's not. I was soooo disappointed, as the picture is ridiculously grainy, like direct transfer from VHS. The price aside (stil ridiculously...
Published 8 months ago by Donnar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 28 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. C. J. Thorpe "Lastaria" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is probably the first series other than maybe repeats of the original Star Trek that really gripped me and it was something I just could not miss.
I always remember when I was a child getting excited each saturday afternoon waiting for this to come on and it was my first real escape into the world of Robin Hood.
But this is no standard Robin Hood like so many movies have done it. This is groundbreaking adding in new things that add to the rich tapestry of the Robin Hood legend.
It includes such things as the worship of the Celtic God Herne, something many of the rural people secretly still did back in those times and it had a Priest of Herne the Hunter who acted as a guide and wise man to Robin Hood. He saw Robin Hood's destiny.
There is also the addition of magic to this. It is never blatant and over the top. It is more subtle and adds to the stories rather than takes something away.
In all you get a vision of a truly mystical, supernatural Britain which is how many of the population would have seen it back then.
All the actors were also well cast and fitted well into the roles. I shall always think of the Robin Hood characters looking like these actors.
Of course there is still plenty of good action in each of the stories and gritty, realistic combat. Each story is well written and developed and explores many areas.
The Sheriff is a bit like a pantomime villain, yet despite this he somehow fits in perfectly and he can make you laugh whilst at the same time disliking him. Guy of Gisbon is a bit of a blundering fool in this yet at times you feel sorry for him.
Overall I think this is one of the best series out there and what's more it is British. It also is cheap so if you wish for something that is affordable and will give you many many hours of pleasure it is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Show, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin Of Sherwood: Series 1 - Episodes 1-3 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
This show is a true classic -- the best portrayal of Robin Hood yet to be seen in the eyes of many. It was made in the 80s, but that takes nothing away from it's content. "Robin of Sherwood" is not a fluffy show... it shows the hardships Robin and his men would've had to endure in Medieval Times, unlike other watered-down versions of Robin Hood. (Richard the Lionheart never knights and saves Robin from Prince John.) It's a British show, so of course our hero actually HAS a british accent. The acting is good, especially well is Michael Praed's (Robin Hood).
Robin of Sherwood combines adventure, a little romance, and even mysticism (the outlaws' protector and ruler of Sherwood is the god: Herne the Hunter). It's even enchanting.
Robin of Sherwood is my favorite show, and it is one of (if not THE) most historically accurate show to be put on the screen. It is, hands down, SUPERB, and WELL WORTH the money to purchase it.
Also, be careful not to fall off your chair when you first see Michael Praed. *wink*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost 20 years old but still excellent, 22 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin Of Sherwood: Series 1 - Episodes 1-3 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
The series impressed when it was screened almost two decades ago, and still continues to do so toady. Fine ensemble acting, good interaction between the players and excellent story lines help keep it fresh. The haunting theme music and supporting pieces by Clannad add to the overall excellence.
Gritty action sequences help portray realistically the harsh living conditions of the past and not glorify them as most (if not all) other productions of this legend have.
Michael Praed certainly takes some beating in the lead role, and the support cast is excellent too. For me, he made a much better Robin than Jason Connery who took over for the third season of this series.
The series remains unsurpassed so far, and is quite likely to remain so if the two Robins (Costner and that dreadful American series) after Robin Of Sherwood are anything to go by.
Definitely worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin of Sherwood The Complete series, 17 Aug 2005
Defiently value for money. It takes you back to the magic of when this brilliant series was on the television. I saw it by chance as it is now repeated on ITV3. The sound quality on the DVDs are now enhanced and you get little extras like the "bloopers" from both series that had me in stiches. Also there is the making of both series documentarys. Defiently worth the money and I would recomend this to anyone who was a big fan of this fantastic series. Bring it back please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Impressive Today As Back Then, 26 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This is a rare series that has stood the test of time. Re-watching the episodes does not bring about a "why did we like it back then?" feeling as with some other shows.
The gritty, realistic settings, beautiful locations, tight scripting and good interaction between the players make for an enjoyable watch. Throw in the haunting Clannad theme and supporting music and a winning combination that will be difficult, if not impossible, to repeat is created.
Michael Praed does a superb Robin, a performance that has, in my opinion, not been surpassed as yet. In comparison Costner's comes across as contrived and the less said about the dismal US series, "The New Adventures Of Robin Hood", the better. Some may prefer Praed's successor, Jason Connery, though I think he did not have as much on-screen charisma as the original Robin.
This collection is a buy to keep and would be better if the rest of Series 1 and Series 2 (when it is released) were acquired too, in order to complete the set. You don't have to be a Michael Praed fan to appreciate the programmes, but it's almost certain you will be one after watching them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin of Sherwood, 11 Dec 2004
By 
Wendy (Warrington, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I recently purchased the complete box set of dvd's and watched every episode with much pleasure and delight. Wonderful to relive my youth when this series first appeared on TV. Both Michael Praed and Jason Connery played Robin with such feeling, just how I imagine him to have been. Supporting cast were excellent too along with the beautiful and haunting music by Clannad. Totally untouched by the passing of time, I can really recommend this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best re-telling of the Robin Hood legend ever, 8 July 2000
By A Customer
I first saw this as a kid on TV in the early 80's and it definitely stands the test of time. The outlaws are all young and ragged as they would have been (not a pair of lincoln green tights in sight!) and their characters avoid many of the cliches found in other adaptions and are believable. The locations are also beautiful and realistic (lots of mud!). The adding of magic and a forest god sets it apart from all the other versions but it still has loads of action and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best portrayal of Robin Hood ever, truely amazing., 16 Aug 2000
By A Customer
i am a great fan of the Robin Hood legend, and have seen practically every Robin Hood film that was ever made,but never have i seen anything quite like "Robin of Sherwood". Every tape in the 3 series are worth watching. They add a mystical, yet enchanting feel to every episode, and i think that anyone who hasn't seen these videos is missing out! welldone Jason Conery, Michael Prade, Nickolas Grace, Judi Trott...and all the merry men :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Influential Robin Hood since Errol Flynn, 25 Jun 2004
By 
Allen W. Wright (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
I'm always amazed by how many North Americans remember this series. Mention Robin Hood, and this series almost always comes up in conversation - even though it only aired on PBS and obscure cable outlets in the US and Canada.
Certainly writers remember Robin of Sherwood, concepts and characters from this series have been reused and recycled by other movies (hello, Mr. Costner), TV series and novels. Upon seeing it, a friend of mine remarked "Oh, so this is what every version of Robin Hood in the last 20 years has been stealing from!"
Great writing (by Richard Carpenter, mostly, not Richard O'Brien who was only a guest baddie in a few third series episodes), great chemistry by the cast. It does look a bit 1980s-dated now, but the important elements have stood the test of time better than nearly anything from that era.
This series is deservedly remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Digitally restored???, 30 Jan 2014
I love the series, it's one of the best re-talk of the old story, and I have seen a lot of the adaptations, but I bought this for really stupid amount of money (my bad, of course), because it said "digitally restored". Well, it's not. I was soooo disappointed, as the picture is ridiculously grainy, like direct transfer from VHS. The price aside (stil ridiculously high for mere 22 episodes), I would not recommend as the picture is really getting on ones nerves, which is such a pity, cause the story - apart from last two episodes, when they needed to wrap the series quickly, as Judi Trott badly wanted to do "big" movies and finish with the shooting - is very nicely told and the actors are very good, also a lot of filming is done outside, which helps the whole feeling being "real". They don't do many series like this one today, all the more pity for the quality of the video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Of Sherwood: Series 1 - Episodes 1-3 [DVD] [1984]
Robin Of Sherwood: Series 1 - Episodes 1-3 [DVD] [1984] by Peter Llewellyn Williams (DVD - 2002)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews