Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In memory of Noriyuki 'Pat' Morita - June 28th, 1932 - November 24th, 2005
I want to make one thing clear before I comment any further. This film never was, isn't now and never will be the most original or complicated movie I have seen, but I really couldn't give a flying circus because it does what it does very well. I can say at least three positive words about this film beginning with the letter E, ENTERTAINING, ENJOYABLE, ESCAPISM and that...
Published on 26 July 2007 by Gwen Parkinson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Video - Audio - Subtitles
Video: 1080p HD - 16x9 - 1.85:1

Audio: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1: English, Italian, Spanish,

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Italian, Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, European Portuguese, Swedish
Published 16 months ago by COLOMBO


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fim, didnt play too well in the xbox., 3 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Rp Bignell (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Couldnt get it to play from the xbox, but works fine on my pc. Great film, never gets old. I love the final fight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Karate Kid, 14 July 2009
By 
Mrs. G. Swain "Force 10" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Excellent Service, bought for my parents who where house sitting, therefore pleased with the quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Eva Fielding-Jackson (Bristol, Avon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
light and enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great family film, well researched - Excellent., 15 Aug 2001
This review is from: The Karate Kid (DVD)
This is a brilliant film - Pat Morita gives an excellent portrayal of the the wise old man passing his worldly knowledge onto a young and impressionable teenager. When Daniel (Ralph Macchio) moves to a new area, and has difficulty fitting in, he starts being bullied. Then he meets Mr Miyagi (Pat Morita) who begins teaching him the Japanese art of Karate. This part of the film was especially appealing to me as I study Karate myself. This film is very well researched, and tells the viewer a lot about the ancient philosopy and tradition of the Japanese. This is a great film for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Miyagi is great, 14 April 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a pretty good movie, which in essence tells the story of the kid who has sand kicked in his face, gets taught by a master and then fights the bullies in a Karate tournament.

The fight scenes are well done and Pat Morita (now sadly deceased) as Mr Miyagi steals every scene he is in. His training of the kid takes unusual forms, such as cleaning the cars, painting the house etc. The moment of revelation for Daniel is a great scene, when he realises that all this seemingly meaningless work serves its purpose in mastering a martial art.

This is a movie with a few little morality tales. On the downside sadly, sometimes these messages are a little to obviously waved in front your face. Another aspect of the film that I found very irratating was the 1980's pop songs (not the original score which was fine). I was never a fan of 1980's pop in the 80's, even less so now, and worse still the songs concerned were really only played to lyrically re-enforce an already obvious point in the film.

However, overall this is an entertaining, if flawed film, that is worth getting if you can pick it up cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I got love for you, if you were born in the 80's, the 80's..., 12 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
It can be truely said that there are many things in life that promise so much and deliver so little. In the case of the cult classic, The Karae Kid, the opposite is true. Indeed writing this review as a man now in his mid/late 20's the premise of the film seems at best unoriginal, and at worst cliche, driven hell, and indeed it is! So why do I love it so much? The answer to this lies in the time when I first encountered this film. As a young 8 year old boy it stirred within me the kind of passion and desire that would see me induct myself into every martial arts class available! It has all the right ingredients, playground violence, mild profanity, a good looking woman, all bathed in hazy Californian sunshine. Essentialy the film is about good v.s. evil, trial over adversity, and a story of a lonely young boy, who despite a sharp wit, has a soft punch. This is exploited by the local Karate fraternity (the Cobra Kai's), led by the blonde bombshell himself Johnny Lawrence, (William Zabka.) All is well in sunny California, until Karte Kid, Daniel's, (Ralph Machio) hormones get the better of him, and he is caught flirting with Johnny's ex girlfriend Ally (Elisabeth Shue.) Unhappy by this, Johnny gives Daniel a series of beatings, that a lesser "man" would run as fast as was possible away from! Not Daniel though, our brave little punch bag, sorry I mean soldier, befriends a wise old man, who when not pruning Bonsai tree's, just happens to be a kick - ass Karate expert! Enter Mr Miyagi (Pat Morita), who is the reason why this film transcends beyond 80's family fluff, into an enchanting, phlisophical, serenity. Instead of the male bluster of comparitive films such as Rocky (which I also love), The Karate Kid delivers its message with beautifully timed moments of poise and grace. Crane Kicks, wax on wax off, its all there. Instead of concentrating on the testosterone fuelled male ego, the film presents a sensitive and caring side to the world of sweat, blood and tears. Exemplified by the countless moments when Daniel shows how naive he is, and Mr Myagi shows how insightful he is. When Mr Miyagi asks Daniel why he is learning Karate, Daniel replies, to "train to fight", When asked again, Daniel says, "So I won't have to fight." The same then could be said of the film itself. We could ask , why do I watch The Karate Kid? The answer would come in an instant. So I won't have to sit through some cheap, knock off film, starring Chuck Norris!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The manliest movie possible!, 12 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Ever had one of those days where you feel like nothing? Where everything is on top of you? Need that inspiration to keep you going? Need that FIRE in your soul that wills you forward and lets you overcome anything!? Then look no further! THIS IS THE KARATE KID DVD!

You know it. I know it. Life sucks. BUT WE GOTTA OVERCOME IT! But how you ask? By believing! And if you don't believe in yourself, believe in this DVD that believes in you! That guy at work that got your promotion? PUNCH HIM IN THE NECK! Your girlfriend leave you for another man? PUNCH THEM BOTH IN THE NECK! You a hobo only capable of reading this review because you're using a computer in a library? THEN FIND THE RICHEST GUY YOU KNOW AND PUNCH HIM IN THE NECK! This film will set your soul of fire!! It'll be like an inner explosion of pure manliness! What can keep you down now!? FIGHT! FIGHT HARDER TILL YOU WIN! This DVD teaches you not only how to fight but how to look cool by catching flies with your chopsticks! CHOPSTICKS! Have you actually tried that!? Its REALLY hard! But this old guy in this film can do it! AND SO CAN YOU! YOU JUST NEED A BURNING SOUL READY TO OVERCOME ANYTHING! GET THAT PROMOTION! FORCE YOUR WAY INTO A THREESOME! FORCE THAT GUY TO GIVE YOU HIS CREDIT CARD! RISE TO THE TOP! I KNOW YOU CAN DO IT AND EVEN IF YOU DON'T KNOW YOURSELF, THEN THIS DVD KNOWS! KICK REASON TO THE CURB! OVERCOME IT ALL! SKYROCKET TO THE MOON AND LOOK DOWN ON EVERYONE LESS OF A MAN THAN YOU! THIS IS THE KARATE KID!

AND IT'LL MAKE YOU A MAN! BUT NOT JUST A MAN! A KING AMONG MEN! STEP ASIDE JESUS, THE KARATE KID HAS ARRIVED!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!!, 25 Jun 2001
what a classic..this sums up the 80's movie scene for me! they just dont make em like they used too! from the great soundtrack to the action packed scenes and the great story! ...it just beats anything else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disaster!, 1 Sep 2010
I received this item about a week after i had ordered it - only to discover they had sent me the completely wrong item! I wrote them an email, response not within 48 hours as stated. When they got back to me they said they would send the correct order out, which is all fairness they have, however, nowhere does it state that this DVD could not be played back on UK dvd player - so now i have 2 dvds, neither of which i can play back on my DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Karate Kid
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews