Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another side to the Bjork puzzle
I have been a fan of Bjork for aroun 8 years and really love and enjoy her music. I have to say that Vespertine is, for me, her best album! Admittedly it is a little difficult upon first hearing but that is only because you haven't heard the like of it before - not from Bjork or any other artist for that. It is very honest and intimate. You would almost think it a...
Published on 5 Sep 2001 by sevenjk_uk@yahoo.co.uk

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry! Vespertine sucks.
I really love Bjorks previous music, the soundtrack was beautifull. Vespertine is hard work to listen to. Not in a punk way just awkward, the Beta Band have done this style with so much focus. All the songs on this album are lacking the confidence she usually has, hiding behind fashionable production techniques is not the answer. Buy her previous albums, they are...
Published on 3 July 2001 by daniel_crake@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vespertine... What music REALLY sounds like!, 3 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vespertine Plus 1 (Audio CD)
It's fair to say that Bjork is no longer bothered about commerciality any more, and is focusing on her own artistic integrity (and why not after selling over 10million records!) And over the past 3 projects (Homogenic, SelmaSongs and now Vespertine) she is truly putting her fan-base through a test. The test being 'Can you handle REAL music'? Ignore any reveiws that claim to be from 'true Bjork fans' who diss 'Vespertine' in any way, as thoses are clearly people who latched on to her early 90's 'dance floor' era or mid 90's 'It's Oh So Quiet' hit. What Bjork is trying to prove is the power of purity in music, and this is a challenge that only a genius like her can set. So any 'part time' music fans around... go listen to the top ten. 'Vespertine' is Bjork finally finding a semi-sort of Bliss, and expressing it in minimal and introverted ways, which end up sounding so joyous and euphoric that you can't help but smile and shed a tear (as demonstrated on the songs "It's Not Up To You" and "Unison") Elsewhere on the album Bjork is feeling reflective and wonders about finding satisfaction in introverted and personal things ("Hidden Place", "Heirloom" and the beautiful "Cocoon") But after making this theme as clear as possibly, what we are left with is a breath-taking piece of work that musically would appeal to both the Aphex Twin and Arvo Part generations! The amazing unique electronics (courtesy of the fab audio scientists 'Matmos'), the Powerful string sections, the wonderful melodies and phenominal choral arrangemants and of course... Bjork's powerful and luscious vocals, all make 'Vespertine' the masterpiece that it truly is... Listen to it and praise the work of the one true musical genius! This IS music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lush! lush! lush!, 13 May 2002
By 
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
Bjork has so many layers!
Just when you think an artist must have run out of ideas she emerges with this great album
I beleive that she was meant to create albums maker, set pieces and except for perhaps 'debut' i believe she has succeded on every level.
The atmosphere ceated throughout the album is unique , lusciuos and has been touched with the hand of a lady. It oozez femininity, Bjork has taken care of this snow covered garden of eden.
Its far from the dark brooding powerful images of Post, perhaps more in common with Yoga from Homogenic. Its full of the twinkles of music boxes, even a choir. Its shiny, sparkling and vibrant, a winter wonderland.
Hidden Place, Its Not Up To You, Pagan Poetry and Unison are all easy choices for favourite songs on the album. The thing is a Bjork album isnt about singles its meant to be adored in full. And thats coming from me, someone who finds it hard not to skip tracks on any album.
Buy this and love it with all your heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She just gets better and better!, 3 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
Björk has to be THE female artist of the last decade for me! Vespertine is almost the anti-thesis of Homogenic and could be defined as the being the product of the 'icy' side of Björk's personality, 'Homogenic' being the firey one!!
For me, the stand-out track is undoubtedly 'Unison' - a work of art!!
Björk deserves all the critical acclaim she got for this masterpiece - and more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven In Audio Form, 12 May 2005
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
"Vespertine" Bjork's 4th studio album was released in 2001 coming 4 years after my favourite Bjork album "Homogenic". She seems much happier this time around it totally flips the mood from the emotionally confrontational "Homogenic" to this heavenly, euphoric epic. It stands as my 2nd favourite Bjork album.
1.Hidden Place - Is the fantastic opener to this album operatic feel to it with the choir-like back beat and her nice vocals really set this song off. To me this song is like how two people can unite by making their own hide-away 9/10
2.Cocoon - This was the reason why I bought the album, now I know when people say that music video's sell album's the fantastic video just made me love the song I only recently bought this album last year summer to be exact. She's almost whispering the lyrics the message in this song is come out of ur "Cocoon" and be the person you want 2 be 10/10
3.It's Not Up To You - Easily one of the best tracks trippy and melodic this song should have been a single I think with her creativity this would have been a great video but sadly is wasn't a really great song 10/10
4.Undo - Honestly the only weak track on the whole album it just doesn't capture me like the rest of them do, although the beat is very beautiful just don't feel her on this one 6/10
5.Pagan Poetry - The start of the song sounds like the theme music from a horror movie! This song is darkest song on the album her obsession with music boxes is shown on this track, which compliments the eerily beautiful track loved the video too! 10/10
6.Frosti - This short but cute interlude carries on the music box theme she's really played around with it on this one it almost starts to sound like bells I would have loved to hear on sing on this but its still really cool and original 10/10
7.Aurora - I really love this song this goes with the music box theme as well the song its very very beautiful I could picture the video for this being set in like a wintry glacier the lyrics are superb there is also a sense of exoticism to it which sets her voice off just wonderfully 10/10
8.An Echo, A Stain - Seems to me to be about people making the effort to communicate with each other her breathy vocals and the sonar-esque backbeat really compliments her very melodic, and quite powerful 9/10
9.Sun In My Mouth - The beautiful strings just make this song like it was made in heaven and given to Bjork personally its THAT beautiful good song 9/10
10.Heirloom - This song has a really commercial sound I do like it but I usually just skip it 7/10
11.Harm Of Will - Just simply beautiful there isn't really much to say about this song its not the weakest track #4 is but this maybe in tie with it just cant feel her on it 6/10
12.Unison - What a great song love the lyrics "One hand/loves the other/so much on me/born stubborn/me/will always be/before you count 1-2-3/I will have grown my own private branch" probably the best lines I've ever heard in a song which I can relate to actually this also have a commercial sound could have been a single I really love this song one of the if not THE strongest track lyrically 10/10
Top 5
1.Unison
2.Cocoon
3.Aurora
4.Pagan Poetry
5.Hidden Place
I would say from the experience on discovering Bjork I would advise people who are new to her to buy this album 1st then Homogenic, Debut, Post, Medulla then Telegram
This album will satisfy anyone who is willing to listen with an open mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BJORK!!!, 24 Oct 2001
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
I mean, there is nothing like Bjork! Her unique & exquisite style was sent to us again on this album! Lovely lyrics, as ever, makes me ecstatic!More than only recommending it, you should hear her live!!! Absolutely fabulous!!! Must have!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An oral masterpiece? Definately a Van Gogh or Mona Lisa..., 2 Dec 2002
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
This is the most original thing Bjork has done yet. It seems a natural evolution for her music charting a senescence into another phase of her life differing from the hardness of Post and the inquisitive innocence of Debut, perhaps. Vespertine is a percectly suited title for this work of genius. Quiet whispers indeed, but also the beautiful sounds of choirs, conjuring up images of churches and angels. These are complemented by a glorious array of sampled and digital sounds, as always, and combined with Bjork's profound lyrical styling provide what can only be described as an oral masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh vespertine, sweet vespertine, 1 Mar 2008
By 
A. Thomas (essex, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
to anyone wondering whether to buy this album, do it! i went 5 years unaware of this masterpiece and what a source of musical joy it has made in my life.

wonderful melodies, haunting intimate vocals and lyrics, luscious soundscapes, warm electronic beats, glorious choir.

personal favourites are 'undo' 'it's not up to you' and 'unison' and when the choir comes in toward the end it really is musical heaven.

i'm a big u2 fan and i didn't think anyone else could come close but i have to say if i had to take one album with me to a desert island then this would be it. happy listening folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful...., 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
This is Bjork's most beautiful album to date
going for more lush live arrangements and even sparcer electronica undercurrents than before.
Though 'Heirloom' (Track 8) is my favourite, it
does, however, draw unmistkably on Miles Davis's ambient 80's album 'Auora'.
Generally speaking, don't expect any 'Big Time
Sensuality'-style material, this is much more
soundtrack-esque. If you enjoyed the production
on this album, I strongly urge you to check-out
Matthew Herbert's new album (who contributed heavily production-wise to Vespertine).
Beautiful album, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vespertine... What music REALLY sounds like!, 23 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
It's fair to say that Bjork is no longer bothered about commerciality any more, and is focusing on her own artistic integrity (and why not after selling over 10million records!) And over the past 3 projects (Homogenic, SelmaSongs and now Vespertine) she is truly putting her fan-base through a test. The test being 'Can you handle REAL music'? Ignore any reveiws that claim to be from 'true Bjork fans' who diss 'Vespertine' in any way, as thoses are clearly people who latched on to her early 90's 'dance floor' era or mid 90's 'It's Oh So Quiet' hit. What Bjork is trying to prove is the power of purity in music, and this is a challenge that only a genius like her can set. So any 'part time' music fans around... go listen to the top ten. 'Vespertine' is Bjork finally finding a semi-sort of Bliss, and expressing it in minimal and introverted ways, which end up sounding so joyous and euphoric that you can't help but smile and shed a tear (as demonstrated on the songs "It's Not Up To You" and "Unison") Elsewhere on the album Bjork is feeling reflective and wonders about finding satisfaction in introverted and personal things ("Hidden Place", "Heirloom" and the beautiful "Cocoon") But after making this theme as clear as possibly, what we are left with is a breath-taking piece of work that musically would appeal to both the Aphex Twin and Arvo Part generations! The amazing unique electronics (courtesy of the fab audio scientists 'Matmos'), the Powerful string sections, the wonderful melodies and phenominal choral arrangemants and of course... Bjork's powerful and luscious vocals, all make 'Vespertine' the masterpiece that it truly is... Listen to it and praise the work of the one true musical genius! This IS music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to lose an evening with Vespertine, 30 Aug 2001
By 
J. C. Raine "Celievamp" (Hartlepool United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
This is Bjork at her best. There are no other words. The album is seamless, the use of the choir sweeps in and out and around the usual array of strings and electronic music. Give yourself a treat, put it on continuous play. The most intimate album yet, the video for the single 'Hidden Place' is most apt as this does take you right into her head. To pick out one track would be unfair, they are all so good, but I think 'Undo' is (at the moment) my favourite, but then I've only listened to it nine or ten times in the last two days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vespertine
Vespertine by Björk (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews