Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another side to the Bjork puzzle
I have been a fan of Bjork for aroun 8 years and really love and enjoy her music. I have to say that Vespertine is, for me, her best album! Admittedly it is a little difficult upon first hearing but that is only because you haven't heard the like of it before - not from Bjork or any other artist for that. It is very honest and intimate. You would almost think it a...
Published on 5 Sep 2001 by sevenjk_uk@yahoo.co.uk

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry! Vespertine sucks.
I really love Bjorks previous music, the soundtrack was beautifull. Vespertine is hard work to listen to. Not in a punk way just awkward, the Beta Band have done this style with so much focus. All the songs on this album are lacking the confidence she usually has, hiding behind fashionable production techniques is not the answer. Buy her previous albums, they are...
Published on 3 July 2001 by daniel_crake@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another side to the Bjork puzzle, 5 Sep 2001
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Bjork for aroun 8 years and really love and enjoy her music. I have to say that Vespertine is, for me, her best album! Admittedly it is a little difficult upon first hearing but that is only because you haven't heard the like of it before - not from Bjork or any other artist for that. It is very honest and intimate. You would almost think it a diary full of personal thoughts and feelings (especially listening to 'Cocoon'). Bjork fans know that with her albums she tends to take a new and surprising route with each album and goes for a particular sound eg with the album 'Post', electronic sounds were the focus and 'Homogenic' focused on strings and voice. 'Vespertine' has real beautiful uplifting choir voice which gets quite lush in places as well as the electric harp and strings. Highlights include 'Unison', 'Pagan Poetry', 'Aurora' and 'Hidden Place' which stands out using noodle-like sounds against a choir. I think this is an excellent album and am really glad I have it. With each album Bjork does something new and this is a good addition to a collection or if you just want to hear something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars album of the year?, 7 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
Well there's little doubt in my mind this is the best album I've heard over the last year or two. (I would have dubbed it the album of the millenium but that would be a little pretentious.) On my first listening I was looking for the instantly accesible, catchy tunes, and there a few of those but repeated listenings kept increasing my appreciation of this album and in particular allowed me to enjoy it as an organic whole. Bjork has crafted something absolutely fascinating, music that allows us to share her own fascinations, whimsies, wonders and moods. Its hard to describe the impact of this intimacy. I can't think of a singer since Kate Bush who has acheived such depths in her music and who gives her immagination such free reign. I don't think everyone is going to respond to this album as I did, but I do think everyone should give it a try. Simply fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Clear and Beautiful as Crystal ..., 17 Mar 2006
By 
G. Bowden "genejezkova" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
Whether she liked it or not, "Dancer In The Dark" had cemented Björk’s place in pop culture as a pioneer of the utmost order, as well as leading to the most questionable choice of dress in a singer’s career ever with the infamous “swan” draped over her shoulders. After collecting accolades for both her music and her acting (among them two Golden Globe nominations and another nod for the Best Song Oscar), it would have been assumed by many that Björk would have come out firing on all cylinders with her next LP. Björk’s mind, however, humbled by the success of "Dancer" and a newfound loving relationship with performance artist Matthew Barney, was on a different plane altogether. The result, "Vespertine", could easily be described as the stuff of dreams, featuring soundscapes and melodies unlike any to be found in her career.
The main difference between "Vespertine" and the albums that precede it lies directly in their environmental space. "Debut’s" pop music exemplified the best of early ‘90s UK dance, whilst "Post" saw Björk travelling the world with many an eclectic collaborator, swinging wildly from the urban metropolis to the tropical rainforest. "Homogenic" represented a return to her nativeland with its raw geology and sweeping romanticism, whilst "SelmaSongs" used sounds directly from the film set itself to spark the character of Selma’s musings into songs. "Vespertine" is very different because the environment explored here is Björk herself. Using the advances of Internet glitch-pop much like Radiohead did with "Kid A", Björk concocts epic pieces of music that beguilingly soar into the listener’s consciousness. As strings and choirs cascade around beats that remain little more than indistinct scuttles and scratches, moments are reached that frequently rank as the most beautiful in Björk’s career.
Björk’s classical influence is engaged more than ever here. Briefly touched upon in the "Post" and indulged in far more with "Homogenic", Björk and trusted arrangers Guy Sigsworth and Vince Mendoza (who worked their fabulous wiles on the arrangements for "SelmaSongs" also) supply moments that border on the ethereal, aided substantially by the choice of choirs and Zeena Parkins on a resplendently beautiful harp. Meanwhile, the programming is subtle in the extreme; for the more boisterous songs, bass lines can be discerned, but for the most part the minutiae of the beats themselves (taken from shuffling cards, crushed ice and heavy breathing, amongst others) don’t so much pin the song down rather allow them to breathe and give them texture. And they are all held together by Björk’s luminous vocal, which has really never sounded so assured and graceful.
Another gracenote of "Vespertine’s" is in the thematic strands that hold it together. Whereas "Debut" was sweet and mellow throughout with the odd dance break, "Post" was enjoyably all-over-the-place and "Homogenic" trudged malignantly through its destructive lava field, "Vespertine" manages to cover all aspects of Björk’s new world without repetition or a discernible through line. All of the songs are concerned with love and carnality, from blissful first encounters (“Hidden Place”) to whispered reassurances (“Undo”), from the inner sanctum of sexual harmony (“Cocoon”) to the ambivalent exercising of perfunctory lust (“Harm Of Will”). It is without doubt Björk’s most sexually explicit album, but inversely intimate rather than extrovertly porny and raunchy (the light to "The Teaches Of Peaches’s" dark, if you will). Her lyrics also suggest an evolution in content and character, highlights including “Unison” (an affectionate dig at Lars Von Trier) and “Pagan Poetry” (a celebration of an achingly secret love).
It must also rank as Björk’s most collaborative album, as well as her most referential. Working with the likes of Marius De Vries, Matthew Herbert, Matmos and Zeena Parkins, she also has lyrics from esteemed literary luminaries E.E. Cummings and Sarah Kane, not to mention a typically disturbing piece from filmmaker Harmony Korine. That all of the work coalesces into a whole is testament to Björk’s production skills, herself acting as sole producer on the majority of the songs on offer here. In a touching way, "Vespertine" has Björk come full circle from the sojourn she set out on with "Debut" in 1993 … "Vespertine" has the same amused, benevolent detachment of "Debut", but the knowledge and sage-like tone behind her voice and her soundscapes exhibit a maturity and poignancy that nestles the listener inside a glacial paradise. It’s like listening to iceberg’s melting away with love and warmth on a clear day and surely one of the most beautiful albums ever made. A shocking superlative, I know, but it really is that gorgeous …
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quite simply the most stunning album, 23 Feb 2006
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
this is without doubt one of the most sublime and beautiful albums ever recorded. Bjork is completely in control of an inner world view. The image rich lyrics, the fearlessness and intimacy of the vocals alongside the cutting edge electronica and lush orchestral arrangements show an artist who never fails to dare with every release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice crystal beauty?, 8 Sep 2001
By 
J P V Guffogg (St Leonards, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
Being new to Bjork, I wondered how I'd like this. I had only heard a few tracks from previous works (on a free promo CD in the Times!). There is a crystal clarity to this, a sparseness, yet with the lush sounds of harp, celeste and music box. Her voice is intimate and breathy, and again passionate and full-throated. She sure can sing, and even the obscure lyrics have meaning. I love the way she twists the meter round within the music, and the Icelandic accent adds to the interest. Some tracks - like "Aurora" just seem to soar away to the sky. I love it. But don't listen to it too often, as it could lose meaning - you have to listen properly to appreciate. I certainly will be buying her previous works too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep it in a Hidden Place, 31 Aug 2001
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
Vespertine is by far Bjorks most ambitious work to date. From the bouncy pop of "Debut," to the Electronic, jazz influence of "Post," to the almost Techno/Classical theme (if there is such a thing) of "Homogenic" to the soothing electronic take on chamber music of "Vespertine." And it's a real corker.
The theme is that of "An album that sounded like it was made while someone was cooking pasta," as Bjork recently put it. It's a swirling, cosmic album of gothic imagery and dreamscapes; soothing choir voices interweave harps and electronic blips and deep bass-lines. Bjorks distinct voice as always sounds so natural and unfiltered; this carries the album along beautifully.
Stand out tracks include "Hidden Place" (the first single), "It's Not Up To You," "Undo," "Pagan Poetry" and "Unison." "Harm Of Will" being my personal favourite. The highly textured soundscapes are layered beautifully throughout, showing thoughtful production. Much of the rhythmic blips, squeaks and taps, courtesy of Matmos are much more understated here than in any other of Bjorks solo workings. The overall melody too is far less unforgiving from that of her previous working "Homogenic." The album soothes, it lulls, calms and uplifts. It is, without a shadow of a doubt, her finest work to date and deserves a place in any true music fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuously Ethereal, 22 Jan 2007
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
Vespertine is not quite like Bjork's earlier albums (Debut, Homogenic, Post). Its lush orchestration and heavenly choirs take her to a new level. It takes a while to appreciate, but is now my absolute favourite. The Bjork voice is as fresh and the lyrics are as quirky as ever - who else could come up with "Now I have been slightly shy / But I can smell a pinch of hope"? Pure poetry! From the opening track "Hidden Place" to the gorgeous "Unison", this is music at its most ethereal and sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeling like Winter, 5 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
I have nothing more to add to the already exsisting reviews but to give my nod of agreemnt. She has done some wonderful songs and they are soothing..very much like a "Vesper" like evening..in Winter. As Winter is my favorite time of the year..I was happy to hear these songs. They all have a "Wintery" feeling..you can see the snow and ice outside of your window..from your house..while you are inside wrapped in a blanket drinking hot chocolate. To simply say..this may not be the Bjork album for everyone..some will be surprised at the mellowness of it..compaired to her other works. So, wrap up in a blanket and let Bjork sing you to sleep with her soft voice, music box and fairy tale like songs....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real artist, 11 Jan 2007
By 
L. Rahmani "Larn555" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
i listened to this album in my car, if i listen to the track 'undo', i will be brought to tears by the end and feel emotionaly stired up. this happens each time, which i cant fathom becuase no other music can do this to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If there is a music of the Gods, this is probably it., 18 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Vespertine (Audio CD)
In an interview once, Bjork said that after the bruatality of Homogenic she wanted Vespertine to sound like 'living in a bubble'. Well she succeded. Beautiful from start to finish, this is not music to wash dishes to but to immerse yourself in. Sit or lie down in a darkened room, listen through headphones and you will be transported to inner worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0acbdbc)

This product

Vespertine
Vespertine by Björk (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews