Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saviours of heavy metal
Produced by Johnny K (Disturbed, Machine Head), this is the band's 'first' album; with the previous release of Throttle Junkies being disregarded by the band as their first effort as they felt it wasn't "really a true reflection of themselves".
Some say they sound like Pantera; some say they have the lyrical skills of Alice in Chains; and others say they...
Published on 27 Jan 2002 by i_am_disturbed_316@hotmail.com

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some killer,some filler.,ah well
Soil in 2001 were a pretty strong force and this album was the reason why,looking back it was clear that in the single halo that they in many ways had defined the genre of nu metal,it was a punchy song with belting chorus and when played in a club everyone was keen to have a sing a long,the years since this have been mixed for the band,interest in the follow up album...
Published on 18 July 2006 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saviours of heavy metal, 27 Jan 2002
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
Produced by Johnny K (Disturbed, Machine Head), this is the band's 'first' album; with the previous release of Throttle Junkies being disregarded by the band as their first effort as they felt it wasn't "really a true reflection of themselves".
Some say they sound like Pantera; some say they have the lyrical skills of Alice in Chains; and others say they have the same intensity as Disturbed. As much as they may be right, SOiL have their distinctive and unique sound.
The Chicago five-piece take the brute force of metal and refine it to a highly sophisticated attack, one where they slam with hypnotizing force and paralyze with monster riffs and bludgeoning blows.
These five extremely talented musicians have certainly carved out a masterpiece with "Scars" and they are one of the most genuiene bands to emerge in recent time.
If you want a record with no rapping, no sampling and no mixing - just your heavy metal with a unique twist - then this is definatley the album for you (or to save you), whichever way you want to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Album..., 3 Feb 2005
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
This being the first Soil record I own, after hearing Halo and Unreal, the album, for the most part doesn't disappoint. As with most nu-metal though, it is let down by lack of solos, but all instruments are well-played. Ryan's voice is top notch, sounding like a lower Blackie Lawless.

The top songs are "Halo, "Unreal", "Understanding Me" and "Need To Feel". Some of the songs towards the end of the album are forgettable, but only due to the strength of the first half, having said that though, there isn't a bad song and a refreshing lack of filler.
If you're a heavy metal fan, the likes of 'Tallica, Sabbath, and *sigh* Alice in Chains (if thats yer thing) get this. It's a shame Ryan left though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scars, 25 April 2007
By 
Leigh A. Jones "SOiL_Junkie" (Prestatyn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
This was the first album I heard by SOiL...Now I run the UK SOiL Junkies page on MySpace, am constant on the forums and have a wall dedicated to them in my room. Seen them twice and I am on a hunt to own ALL CDS done by them...

THAT is how good this Album is. It has led me into an obbsession.

This band turned me to a whole new music scene and types of people. Maybe the BEST SOiL album. If you like Metal/Rock...GET THIS ALBUM!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid lump of dirt clod, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
This album is made up of solid catchy riffs and catchy choruses designed to get your singing along there is some good chunky guitar and MANLY vocals that are melodic but TOUGH !!!. musically it is fairly simple and firmly in the rock/ numetal kind of genre but this one is probably a classic of the genre really with plenty of really top class songs on it like Halo which was a hit and a had a video and everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliance, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
Awesome album-well worth a listen :)
Especially live tracks 2 and 9 - but the whole thing is great to have blasting from the speakers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my review, 7 Mar 2014
By 
suzanne k cruickshank (fraserburgh, scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
i love it because it is clean, easy to play and what i was expecting. I would deeply recomend this service again and consider buying from them again. very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What the..., 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
Came across this band by chance and so glad I did.
I bought the album to put on my MP3 for running as a bit of a boost but have to admit it is now on a constant loop in my car. Unusually there isn't a track I dislike and wish I had bought it years ago!
I will be checking out their website and will go to see them live when they are next in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Under-rated Album of all Time ?? - Could be !!!, 15 Dec 2012
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
I've bought this album three times over the years. Saw them in the UK in 2001 when they first released it and again in 2011. There are no weak songs on this fantastic album. Halo, Unreal and Black 7 are quite simply brilliant but every track in between is superb. It's difficult to compare them but if you like Metallica at their melodic raw best, you'll probably like this. Ryan McCombs is second only to Het from a metal vocalist perspective. If there is a better band who never got the break they deserved, I don't know of them !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected!, 20 Sep 2010
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
I only really ordered this album as I had heard "Halo" so many times in clubs/bars that I fancied looking into the album it came from. I was surprised to find I really liked the album, nothing catchy but still good, expecially for the price. If you've heard a song before or are a fan of Drowning Pool or Disturbed then this will probably be good for you, however it won't go far to grab the attention of music lovers that don't already have a fondness for metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Soil - Scars, 17 May 2009
By 
Mr. M. W. Simpson "mick simp" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scars (Audio CD)
Already have the album myself, but my brother wanted a copy. he heard Halo and liked the song, also he asked me if it was a good album which it is. The best songs in my view are Wide Open and Black 7, but the album has a whole is really good. Their first, and best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scars
Scars by Soil (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews