Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings
This DVD contains both the original Shrek film, and a new 15 minute feature in 3D.
Shrek, on its own gets 5 stars. It is a truly amazing film, funny to people of all ages. The animation is beautiful, the voices great (my favourite is by far Donkey, voiced by Eddie Murphy). If you havn't seen this film then buy this DVD with no doubts, even if its just for the main...
Published on 22 Jun 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GreAt film - Flat 3D
In my opinion, Shrek is a must have movie. So, when I saw this 3D Blu-ray, I didn't hesitate in buying it, despite it having quite a hefty price tag... To say I'm disappointed is a massive understatement. There are scenes I was looking forward to in 3D, particularly when our protagonists rescue Fiona from the dragon... I won't dwell on what scenes should have looked...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by Phelix


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful film with wonderful humour throughout., 12 Dec 2001
By 
This review is from: Shrek [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Technically superb with an excellent soundtrack. I watched my first viewing totally captivated. 2nd time around I caught the jokes I missed originally. There is drama, pathos, irony, soppy bits, lavatorial humour and a tour-de-force of special effects. I know the characters are only computer animation, but they have a depth and sensitivity which even Disney hasn't managed to capture. (I'm thinking of Toy Story, not Snow White.) There are lovely touches, the Muffin Man sequence, Robin Hood/River Dance and of course the egg breakfast. The DVD also has extra features in addition to crisp pictures and CD quality sound. Games, Directors' comments and a wonderful interview with the stars. Shrek is a splendid film with astonishing attention to detail. Look out for the earwax candle. Gross, but practical. If you enjoy a good story without subversive subtext or gritty realism, you will enjoy Shrek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For every grown up that has never really grown up., 26 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a must see! From the very beginning you will find yourself laughing out load. Anyone who thinks this is a childrens movie will be much mistaken as this ones for the grown ups. Everything about it from the animation to the script and the actors voices, simply a brillant combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you know the Muffin Man?, 29 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
To anyone from Amzon who might read this-there ain't enough stars for Shrek! ;)
This film is utter genious and for anyone of all ages. Theres enough animation to keep the kids amused with a few jokes aimed at adults to ensure everyone laughs along "Do you think maybe he's compenstating for something...? Eh he he he!"
Mike Myers is just perfact for this part and instantly recognisable. John Lithgow is utterly brilliant as Lord Farquaad "Men of his stature are in *short* supply" but it's Eddie Murphy who steals the show as the lovable and amusing donkey "I like that boulder. That is a nice boulder"
The story is that Lord Farquaad wants the perfect world. But the fairytale creatures don't fit in. So, he round them up and they end up in a swamp. Shreks' swamp. He isn't happy and goes to see Lord Farquaad. But Farquaad sends Shrek on an adventure in exchange for the title deeds to his swamp. Rescue princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz who also deserves a mention) and the swamp is his. Both it's not that easy is it? Oh no... how could a princess ever love an ogre?
Lads, don't be put off if you think it's only for the kids. True, it is a fairytale in it's own right. And yes, it is kind of a love story. But it isn't soppy and doesn't hold back on the jokes. Girls, chances are you'll love it as much as me and wish you had Donkey all for yourself!
"I'm all alone...there's no one here beside me. My troubles have all gone...there's no one to deride meeee. But ya gotta have friendddsssss"
"STOP SINGING!!!"
First class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shrek , you simply must watch it!, 12 Aug 2002
By A Customer
For those who have not experienced the wonders of the animation film which is Shrek...where have you been?!
Ok seriously although this is a film primary aimed at kids it is a film of two layers with sofisticated jokes which adults would enjoy (and even a little dark humour)and bright colourful characters which will keep the kids quiet for hours.

The story is based in the world of fairytales with a bit of a twist. There a numerous allusions to films, pop culture and tv and Dreamworks produces a computer animation in which you forget that you are watching a cartoon .The camera angles are super and the clothes and fur look almost real.

Ogre Shrek (Mike Myers)with Donkey (Eddie Murphy)go off on a quest to find the slightly unorthodox Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz). There is simply not enough room to merit the cleverness of this film and it has a spectacular sound track. Most of all it has layers as Shrek says "Ogres are like onions they have layers".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Insightful, 15 Mar 2005
This review is from: Shrek [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Not unlike "Beauty and the Beast," "Shrek" engages the viewer to know beauty is what is beyond the skin.
The DVD is loaded with extras, but frankly, you might not bother with them. Your kid will play with them, exploring them once or twice, but the movie is the real treat. The mock interviews with the characters are intriguing, and worth watching. The re-voice studio is a hoot, and you'll dig showing it off to your friends, but it loses its novelty soon enough. Because it is a DVD, your kids can watch it into eternity without worry of it wearing out.
Lithgow is very Lithgow, much the same personality as he was on "Third Rock from the Sun."
Cameron Diaz's princess character looks remarkably like her.
Eddie Murphy makes a great sidekick. I was skeptical that he might be too over-the-top, but found his voicings to hit the tone perfectly, with great comedic skill. In short, he's hilarious.
The movie is packed wirth allusions to old great movies and cartoons, mostly Disney, and adults will smile everytime they discover a new line or sequence from a movie they grew up with. Watch for "The Princess Bride," "Robin Hood," "The Sound of Music" and a bevy of other homages.
The ending surprised me, but I'll not spoil it for you.
I fully recommend "Shrek."
Anthony Trendl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BESTEST film I've ever seen!!!, 30 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek [VHS] [2001] (VHS Tape)
This is truly a modern classic. The first time I saw this film I couldn't stop laughing out loud....then I saw it again and again and I still couldn't stop laughing out loud! Shrek is truly on the same par with Toy Story - I would say better. Its got one of those qualities that combines that kind of Disney humour that kids love because it's cute and comical, and adults love because of the way some things are put, with perfect characterisations too. There are so many fantastically funny bits I could mention - the dialouge of the Three Blind Mice, the guy they meet outside Dulok castle, the 'welcome to Dulok' song, Robin Hood ("Oh merry MEENN...!"), and many more. The voices of the characters also seem to greatly reflect the characters of the actual people who play them - the style of Eddy Murphy is instantly recognisable ("I think I need a hug..!").
All in all this film will have you in stitches all the way through. The animation is great. And of course it has that wonderful fairytale quality. A great one for all ages!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lively Animated Tale about Self-Acceptance!, 26 Jun 2003
By 
F. V. L. Buliciri (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shrek [VHS] [2001] (VHS Tape)
I enjoyed Shrek immensely. It's one of the best animated films of all time. The characters are lively, fun and unforgettable. The storyline is interesting and I liked the way the film played around with certain individual themes and presented it in a comical animated way such as the importance of self -acceptance with Shrek's character unable to love himself because the world fears and despises him, the importance of true friendship -with Shrek discovering he has a true friendship with the Donkey and with Princess Fiona in being true to herself at the end of the day and not fulfulling other people's ideals of how or what you should like in order to be loved.
John Lithgow, Cameron Diaz, Eddie Murphy and Mike Myers are all superb as the voiceovers for the main characters in particularly Murphy and Myers who are the best comic duo ever in animated film history.What I especially like about the film is how Dreamworks have turned all the conventional rules about animation on their head and have given us a film with vivid images we'll never forget: popular cultural references to TV culture, the Prince picking his prospective brides to the the tune of The Dating Game, storybook characters being abandoned from their homes, Robin Hood and his Merry Men dancing in the forest. There's so much to enjoy and see in Shrek!
Shrek is a great film that appeals to adults and kids alike. But the message from this film is strong only with self -acceptance are we truly happy as human beings or ogres as Shrek discovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I havent seen the DVD yet but the Movie was fantastic!, 10 Sep 2001
This review is from: Shrek [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
As I said, this movie totally blew me away when I saw it at my local cinema, and the American version of the DVD is excellent, with over 6 hours of bonus footage. Shrek is, to use an old expression, fun for the whole family, I am 20. In essence it is a fairy tale, in the Disney mold, but everything that you have come to expect from Disney is turned on its head by a fantastic script, wonderfull voice actors, especially Eddie Murphy as Donkey, and superb CGI. I dont think I laughed this hard at a 'cartoon' since The Simpsons. Much attention has been given to the, not so sly, digs at old Walt Disney and his stable of characters, and whilest this is very funny, it is by no means the only reason to watch. Worth the money for the animation alone, Shrek is quite simply a must have DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent animated film; fantasy and humour for everyone, 17 Sep 2001
This review is from: Shrek [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I never thought to see, especially within two years, a CGI animated film that would remotely approach "A Bug's Life" in terms of originality, humour and story development, but that's what the DreamWorks team seems to have done here, and there is surely no higher honour. They have used a completely different style, far more in-your-face and accompanied by a fairly heavy music track, to construct their modern version of a hero-rescues-princess fable, which never fails to delight, and delivers laughter by the truckload.
The scene with the incongruously French Robin Hood (complete with an accordion-playing Friar Tuck!) is especially clever, as is the vision of Lord Farquaad's mock-Disneyland court, and the thrilling escape from a castle surrounded by a moat of boiling lava and presided over by a femme-fatale dragoness.
The film is punctuated by a raft of jokes, often at the expense of Disney cute-ism, but it never becomes tiresome or dependent on them, and preserves its own cohesiveness, momentum and storyline. Much of the humour derives from the interplay between Shrek himself, superbly voiced by Mike Myers, who brings out the ogre's suppressed loneliness very well indeed, and his wisecracking donkey friend, a real vocal tour-de-force for Eddie Murphy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious film with high quality extras, 6 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I received this DVD early from another company, after seeing the film at the cinema. It is amazing quality on DVD, losing nothing. The extras are top notch, the karaoke scenes particularly good, as well as the bizarre 'decorate the gingerbread man' section. This really is a must see, must own film that will appeal to all ages. It really gives Disney a run for its money (as well as poking a lot of fun at it!). The story is well thought out, and the voice acting first class, Eddy Murphy being on fine form, as is the evil John Lithgow. You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shrek [DVD] [2001]
Shrek [DVD] [2001] by Andrew Adamson (DVD - 2001)
£7.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews