Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good two-tone compilation
Anyone who was around at the time will remember the unique and energetic sound of the Specials, Selector and so on as they combined ska with punk to create a fresh new sound that attracted disaffected youth in Thatcher's Britain.

There's a great set of tracks here by the two acts above plus Rico, Madness, and others.

Sadly, presumably due to record...
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by Martyn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad CD
I bought this to broaden my ska collection and it's not bad, but there are a couple of 'iffy' tracks which I have to skip when playing it
Published 13 months ago by andrew shaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good two-tone compilation, 12 Jan 2011
By 
Martyn - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
Anyone who was around at the time will remember the unique and energetic sound of the Specials, Selector and so on as they combined ska with punk to create a fresh new sound that attracted disaffected youth in Thatcher's Britain.

There's a great set of tracks here by the two acts above plus Rico, Madness, and others.

Sadly, presumably due to record label issues, there's nothing by the Beat on here, which makes it incomplete, and of course there's so many good Specials numbers that it's impossible to get all the good ones on.

So if you do what i did and combine buying this with 'You Just Can't Beat it - the Best of the Beat' and the 'Best of the Specials' you can't go far wrong...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Little Two Tone, 10 Feb 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
Two Tone was the UK's most exciting new musical movement at the start of the 80s. Groups like Madness, The Selecter, The (English) Beat and The Special AKA, all on the Two Tone label, revived the Jamaican ska beat and created a new urgent sound that took youth culture by storm. This is a valuable introduction to the Two Tone beat, but unfortunately anything but complete. In the first place, the Beat is completely absent. The compilers could at least have included their classic version of Tears Of A Clown. In the second place, too many classic tracks have been omitted. Where's "A Message To You Rudy" by The Specials, "Madness" by Madness, The Selecter's eponymous "Selecter" and their well-known "Too Much Pressure?" I also think that Madness is hopelessly underrepresented as they're the band that ultimately achieved the greatest success. At least some of the earliest Two Tone hits are here, like Too Much Too Young, The Prince, On My Radio and Let's Do Rocksteady, plus later classics like The Specials' Nelson Mandela and Ghost Town. It is with some reluctance that I award this album a fourth star. Although it's a very listenable compilation, its title ought more appropriately to have been been "Too Little Two Tone."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ska Ska Ska, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
Too Much Two Tone, YOU CAN NEVER GET TOO MUCH TWO TONE, all the ska two tone classics with a few extra tunes added. Ska Ska Ska
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
Superb album great tracks easy listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 22 April 2014
By 
D. Lowther (South Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
All the hits with bags of Ska from The Specials, The Beat etc. A great chill out album with lots of character from the 80's. A must have for all Ska fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An good overview of two tone, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
This is a good introduction to Two Tone and played it a lot in the car>if you want a taste of the this style of music this is a very good CD collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No complaints., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
Bought for brother in law for Christmas... he texted me the same afternoon to say he'd already listened to it twice and it was bringing back great memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ska music., 14 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
this cd brings back all the back in the day,parties and all the good old days of wanting to dance on the dancefloor, would tell all rudeboys and rude girls to get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad CD, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
I bought this to broaden my ska collection and it's not bad, but there are a couple of 'iffy' tracks which I have to skip when playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to that........, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Much Two Tone (Audio CD)
..buy (& listen) to this: The best of the Two Tone era, every track sounds as fresh today as when released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Much Two Tone
Too Much Two Tone by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews