Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality American Rock/Pop
Train's second album features some cracking sing along rock songs, the ones you'd here on the radio and be humming or whistling all week till you bought the album. Of course, the Drops of Jupiter track falls squarely into this category and this should see it do well in the charts. If you're into the sort of generic, solid, fraternity American rock/pop that people like...
Published on 2 Aug 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good album
I bought this album only hearing a few of trains songs. This album is good, but it only really contains a few songs that i really could get into to. Hopeless i think has to be the best song for its overall performance. drops of jupitar which was ahit is also a pretty good song
Published on 28 Jan 2005 by P. McCauley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality American Rock/Pop, 2 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
Train's second album features some cracking sing along rock songs, the ones you'd here on the radio and be humming or whistling all week till you bought the album. Of course, the Drops of Jupiter track falls squarely into this category and this should see it do well in the charts. If you're into the sort of generic, solid, fraternity American rock/pop that people like Matchbox 20 (sorry Twenty), Wallflowers, Counting Crows, Hootie and the Blowfish and others do, you'll love Train and this album. If you don't lighten up and just enjoy this music, its inoffensive and will have you singing along before long. Ok some of the tracks are just too slick (especially Respect), but you can just skip those few and enjoy the majority. Overall a solid polished effort with more good tracks than bad and well worth a listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American rootsy rock with a dollop of subtley, 10 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
Drops of Jupiter is already a platinum seller in the US, driven in the main, by the piano driven title track, a top ten hit in the US.The song, an album highlight, suggests the lyrical weavings of Adam Duritz of Counting Crows, coupled with a similarity of the Crows musical styling, but with an element of soul. Intial listenings will yield the sonic delights of "Hopeless", "Let It Roll" and "Whipping Boy", a trio of instantly memorable and consuming tracks. "Hopeless" is a slow acoustic driven tale of desperation, with the rhythm section providing a faint suggestion of Oasis' "Wonderwall", and the vocals of Pat Monahan pefectly suited to this type of track. Full harmonies drive the track to conclusion, and get you reaching for your acoustic to get those chords worked out! "Let it roll"'s dreamy start develops into an almost "countryish" composition, understated and tuneful,with the melody excentuated by a drifting slide guitar line. "Whipping boy" provides a strong electric guitar input to the album. It utilises the contrast of a loud beginning and quiet verses that in turn lead to a forceful and memorable chorus. Fans of Hootie and the Blowfish will buy instinctively, and will appreciate the more diversified content on offer. In general, Train offer acoustic /electric guitar compositions with a twisting lyrical content and a melodic sensibility supplying a commercial edge of Americana to the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Train are on track for British success, 2 Aug 2001
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
Train are like the light at the end of the tunnel. For too long the charts and music scene have been smothered with Dance, Rap and ****. This band, this Album and the single (Drops Of Jupiter) are superb, bringing to our ears superb sweeping guitar rifs, Trumpet, Percussion and Mandolin arranged and produced in a way that hasn't been heard since the haunting melodies of the Eagles. Stand out tracks are ......them all. Every track is an absolute gem. If I have to choose a favourite then `Something More' and of course the superb 'Drops Of Jupiter' just send me up there with the band in the solar system. If you only buy one CD this year, make sure it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy ur copy & jump on board to steam ahead with Train...NOW!, 8 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
Ok, so i'll start at the beginning...i'd been hearing the title track to this album "Drops of Jupiter" on the radio these past few weeks, taking some time to actually figure out the name of the band and logged into Amazon and found this, their debut album in the United Kingdom....and am i glad i found it!!! "Drops of Jupiter" is an outstanding track however, i was worried that i'd purchased this album from a band i'd heard relatively nothing about on the strength of one track...what if the rest of the album was rubbish?
I can safely say now, after listening to it about 10 tens fully today alone that i can't believe i had that doubt. This album is truly amazing..the skip button on my cd player need never be touched when this album is in the player...,hey it will never need to be touched again as this album WILL NOT be leaving my player...until their next album is out. Every song is superb and worth listening to time and time again. Train combine great melodies with thoughtful guitar riffs (not forgetting its own orchestra!). I'm into other American in-the-middle-of-the-road rock bands like Matchbox 20, Counting Crows, Hootie & the Blowfish, and i have to say, this album by Train does not "fit in" with the rest of my cd collection, it COMPLETES my cd collection! Trust this stranger, get this album and give Train a chance...go on...proceed to checkout...get that ticket.... you'll not look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a little bit of heaven, 3 Aug 2003
By 
E. M. Lawrence "Lizzie" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
i can't describe how much i love this album. pat monahan's voice makes every song special and there is not one bad track on here. train are equally good at big anthemic rockers as they are at the subtle and haunting ballads. 'hopeless' starts beautifully and simply and builds into an emotional rollercoaster that leaves you kind of exhausted at the end of it. 'something more', 'drops of jupiter' and 'getaway' all have that same bulding quality and sing alongability. something that makes this album really cool is the order oif the songs. it's been clearly thought about because you have a few solid rock tunes and then a ballad to give you a rbeather before launching into something a little bit more contemplative and then finishing with the relaxed and haunting 'mississippi'.
aaaah, i can't recommend this album enough, PLEASE buy it and tell more people about how fantastic train are!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Impressive Set, 12 Dec 2002
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
This group contains some of the most individual talents grouped as one; a grouping of which, has not appeared in a decade. Sure, all the songs have catchy hooks and lyrics, but the instrumentals that weave in and out of each set are remarkable. Colin and Hotchkiss share the honors on simple yet inventive bass, Hotchkiss and Stafford's ryhtym guitars either shout confidence or sneak in on the sidelines. Monahan's vocals are unique enough to keep this band recognizable. Underwood is a classic musician pulling together all the arranging, keyboard effects, percussion, strings programming (great string arrangements) that give this album it's spirit. Each member contributes and shines off the other to produce some of the best music of the last decade. Masterfully produced by Brendan O'Brien, listening on headsets is a delight. Big hits? Every song is a potential hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SHOCK HORROR!!! New American guitar group actually rock!!, 4 Aug 2001
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
With their ecellent new single, the title track of this album, Drops of Jupiter, Train are bound to be thrust into the spotlight and this album is a proud torch for them to carry. Besides this brilliant accoustic offering, the rest of the album is packed with moody, atmospheric tracks that make you sit up and take notice. My personal favourite is "She's on fire", a tune that you'll still be humming hours after one hearing!! With the spectacular vocals of Pat Monahan, who sounds strangely like Michael Stipe, Train really do have the potential to devastate the charts and go on to far bigger and better things!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 10 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
This album is superb. That's about the bottom line. I heard the single 'Drops of Jupiter' and loved it from day 1! Every track on the album makes you want listen. I strongly disagree with the reviewer that compared Train to Travis! Unlike Travis, not one song on this album sounds anything like another! This album has a great blend of Country-Rock, some rockers and some nice ballads. If you are a Counting Crows or Matchbox 20 fan (as I am), I'm pretty certain that you will enjoy this album thoroughly! Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars singalong rock but at the same time serious, 28 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
Train have produced a mixed genre album here. Yes it is rock, but a mix of two kinds.
In some parts 'Drops of jupiter' gives the listener the singalong-happy feel-good-radio- friendly (anything else..!) rock album, but then with some tracks you get the more serious (still radio-friendly etc) rock lp, which is good because that feeling comes as soon as you begin to feel that it is too poppy!
She's on fire kicks of the album with a bang. A fast moving jiggy tune with a good chorus.
I wish you would strikes the serious note over the poppy opening track and others later on in the album. It really does show the fantastic song-writing skills this band has got.
You've probably heard drops of jupiter but if you haven't it has a feel-good tune to it and will please everyone.
It's about you and Hopeless are two completely different songs in their own right. It's about you is part feel-good part serious rock, the track has everything. Hopeless is a medium moving charming song which will calm you down following the opening 4 track onslaught of great tunes, brilliant lyrics and superb instrumentals.
For those who are thinking of buying this - firstly I'd recommend it.
Train similar to Travis, but with a stronger lead vocal and a more American rock feel to the music. Every track is a pleaser and if you are a fan of alt rock, american trad rock or soft rock then you'll love this stunner.
By the way if you like this one then check out Witness - have an album out called under a sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - 'nuff said (well almost)..., 10 April 2002
By 
A. Williams (Blaenau Gwent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
Although many place them on the same track as Matchbox 20 and Travis, they are also something different and it's that which gives listeners appeal. Alt-rock, especially American e.g. Matchbox 20, Lifehouse, Semisonic, Goo Goo Dolls, etc. is not big here but it should be because the sound is so amazing, different to what we've heard from bands like Travis but yet involving it somehow to make something breath-taking. Songs that are so different and yet similar with both full and soft sounds that match moods whatever they are. Faves include just about all but "Hopeless", "Something More" and "She's On Fire" as well as the title track top the bill. Buy and spread the good news 'cos Train are just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drops Of Jupiter
Drops Of Jupiter by Train (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews