Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2002
Once again dream theater have managed to stun me!
They have got to be one of the best live bands to ever grace the rock circuit. They are definately crowd pleasers.
From Jordan Rudess and John Petrucci's amazing ability to combine guitar and keyboard smoothly and make it look simple, to Mike Portnoys sheer intensity and ability to groove in odd time signatures and combining with John Myung on the bass to lay down the foundations for all 25 of these great tracks. How can I forget the unmistakable vocals of James LaBrie, truly one of a kind. Most of all there ability to combine all there instrumental talents in to co-writing there own tracks, there is one word for this highly talented group of musicians........ awesome!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2006
I held off DT for some time, because I always feared they were a little up their own you-know-whats, but I couldn't have been more wrong. I'm a big jazz fan with a rock background, and kinda left it all behind, sticking some Whitesnake or something on for a riff fix every once in a while. DT satisfy the muso in me, and somehow their music appeals to the teenage rocker in me and the adult jazz buff. As musicians they are impeccable, and they rock like nothing on earth.
I started with Live at Budokan, and thought that it couldn't get better. It can. Imagine that - this live set blows even that away. It's tighter, and yet seems more varied.
Oh, just get it. Now.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2004
hmm...this was the first dream theater cd i listened to and i love it! yea im a new fan of theirs but i did get the chance to listen to a few of their other albums and have bought a few but thisis the best one ive come across. i'd advise any dream theater fan to buy it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2002
DT play a set of about 3 hours worth of their material (including the complete "Scenes from a memory" album and --- as an encore --- all of "A change of seaons"). It's great material, and these guys are AWESOME musicians (the singer, the only one without a conservatory degree, sounds understandably fatigued near the end of the performance --- although he's in much better shape than on Once in a Livetime), but the polish of their studio albums is missing (this sounds like a direct-to-2-track DAT recording, and at times the mix is just not up to snuff). If you love "live" sounds, or if you've seen the band live and want to recall the experience, get this album. If you're new to DT, get any of their studio albums instead --- in fact, just get *all* of them!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2003
From the first song you hear, "Regression," you can tell this is going to be a great live album. Dream Theater are simply one of the most talent bands around. An operatic singer, a guitarist who likes to show off, and he can, a bassist who must've sold his soul (to rock 'n' roll ;) ), a keyboardist who can play as well as some lead guitarists, and a drummer who has a massive kit and knows how to use every single piece of it perfectly.
If you've heard any Dream Theater albums but not heard them live, you have never lived. If you haven't even heard Dream Theater you must've been living under a rock or something.
When people hear the word "progressive" it automatically brings up thoughts of concept albums, the 80's, experimental rock. And Dream Theater fit two of those critera perfectly. Concept albums and experimental, but they certainly aren't 80's. This is metal, and they may not be as heavy, or as fast as some other bands, but they love to be extremely experimental with their music. Using different time signatures, fast, swooping mood changes, and a lot of improvisation. Even moreso live.
Spread over three CDs, for over three hours of music. Some people may get bored by the longer songs, but you have to be willing to listen for the duration to enjoy the most from the songs. The song "A Change Of Seasons," which is critically acclaimed, and on this album lasts for close to 25 minutes, (album version is closer to 23), and in the middle of the song the bassist, the guitarist and the keyboardist all have their own little solo slots. Such as The Simpsons theme by the guitarist. Showing the skill of each band member, by being able to be halfway through a song, stop completely and let someone have their 15 seconds of fame. Such changes of a song mood don't come easily.
Dream Theater fans new and old alike will enjoy this album. If you're just getting in to them it may not be the best start, but it's probably their best album. If you're an old fan, and you haven't considered buying this album, I couldn't think why you wouldn't want it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2009
Dream Theater, like many progressive bands of their and previous generations, are even better live than in the studio; they have an extra edge and this is clearly demonstrated in this live 3-CD set. Their standard of musicianship is excellent with the only aspect that palls from time to time being Mike Portnoy's drumming which is high energy but too much in your face.

A good cross-section of songs with Metropolis played in full. Great value at the prices offered and a typically generous gig. Buy while you still can!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
is one by a band you really like with a well-chosen set and then.....they improve on the original versions of the songs. This is a wonderful selection of Dream Theater material (including the whole of Scenes From A Memory) and the version on here of "Through Her Eyes" is one of the best live tracks I've heard in many a year. This is also excellent value, containing over threee hours of music and also video trailers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
I have only really got into Dream Theater quite recently after hearing
them on a rock station and am enjoying what i've bought of them so far
'Live Scenes' in my opinion gives you a wide spectrum of a very talented
band and would recomend this if you are like me quite new to this band
you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2004
If anything, I'd recommend getting the accompanying live DVD first as there's more on there to sit back and get into. There's nothing wrong with this album at all, but the whole experience of Metropolis Pt.2 live is better taken with the accompanying moving pictures. The other live stuff is the best bit for me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2002
When i first heard this mind blasting album i thought that this was the finest live set of music i have ever had the pleasure of hearing. From the first moment of the track "regression" Dream Theater move slickly through the full set of Metropolis (scenes of a memory) and play selected tracks such as "caught in a new millenium" and they perform live their critically acclaimed "a change in seasons". This is a must in the collection of prog rock music fans and Dream Theater prove with this treble opus that they are the best in the business. If you like this magnificent musical indulgence then also look at the excellent web site and get hold of copies of albums by James LaBrie's "mullmuzzler" and Transatlantic featuring Mike Portnoy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)