Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!... in a nicer box
Here it is. The cleverest film this century has to offer so far, has made it's way onto Special Edition DVD. Though the movie itself is worth five stars alone, I found that the special features surprisingly let it down.
Written and directed by the critically acclaimed Christopher Nolan (The Following, Batman Begins), while including talent such as Guy Pearce and Joe...
Published on 13 Jan 2005 by Meatbag

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you concentrate throughout!
Really good film, but you have to follow it very closely!! Makes you think what would you do if you had his 'condition'?!

One thing stood out for me.....he obviously never heard of a video camera! (Will make sense when you watch)

Worth a watch if you like your thriller films and whodunnit films.

I would just buy the DVD version as there...
Published 16 months ago by Clarkkent


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!... in a nicer box, 13 Jan 2005
Here it is. The cleverest film this century has to offer so far, has made it's way onto Special Edition DVD. Though the movie itself is worth five stars alone, I found that the special features surprisingly let it down.
Written and directed by the critically acclaimed Christopher Nolan (The Following, Batman Begins), while including talent such as Guy Pearce and Joe Pantoliano, this is by far the most inventive film in years. Starting with a horrific yet beautiful scene where Leonard (Pearce) kills a man in cold blood, the film begins to track events that took place before the incident. We soon discover that his actions were fuelled by the revenge for his dead wife, while a rare disorder means he is unable to keep new memories. Nolan manages to put us in Leonard's shoes by shuffling the scenes in reverse order, meaning that we too are unaware of the previous events that took place. To remind himself where he is, and what he is doing, Leonard constantly makes notes so he can carry on tracking down his wife's killer. The film quickly becomes sort of a 'why dunnit' than a 'who dunnit' by effectively taking us back through time to the story's origin. Even while having Leonard's various messages to work from, the film still manages to pull off a few suprises, ending with a truly unexpected final twist.
Apart from the addition of the director's commentary, I was actually quite disappointed with the special features in this edition. Don't be fooled by the idea that the extra two discs are full of new goodies. Because to be honest... they're not. There's about one or two more documentaries than the original edition, and an additional option where you can view the screenplay while watching the film, (very useful for budding filmmakers!). But this is hardly enough extras to fill TWO WHOLE DISKS! Considering only big-budget epics (such as 'Lord of the Rings') have enough extra features to manage this. However you may enjoy the hidden 'Easter Egg' where you can view the whole film in chronological order. Even though this feature was also included in previous editions.
I very much recommend you getting this if you haven't already. If you already own an older version however, I would advise you not to bother buying the Special Edition just for one or two extra features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stuff, but forget the hidden extra, 21 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
There's not much to add to what's already been said about this truly excellent movie. It works because of the way it's made - the trick of telling the story in reverse puts you right inside the head of Leonard and leaves you as confused as he is. My only gripe about this DVD is the thing most other people seem to like - namely the hidden feature which plays the scenes in forward order. I'd seen the film 5 times before I watched this 'forward' version and each viewing was a splendidly confusing experience; the film made more and more sense every time - each viewing held new revelations. Now, having watched it 'forwards' and having had my deductions confirmed, I've rather lost the will to watch the 'normal' film again which I think is a great shame.
So, buy the disc, watch the film again and again, but only watch the 'forwards' version if you're totally confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the moment it ends, you'll want to watch it again., 13 Dec 2006
If you're looking for something intense, suspenseful, and different than your usual effects-packed thriller, this is the best movie you will see in a long time.

The movie starts with a murder -- a revenge killing, in fact. But was the right person killed?

Leonard Shelby (Guy Pearce) is a man with no short-term memory. He hasn't been able to form new memories since the night his wife was murdered. Now he's on a hunt to find the murderer but with no way of remembering names, dates, places, facts and faces. I am not going to say more not to spoil the numerous surprises. Trust me though, it's really great!

Don't worry about trying to empathize with Leonard because Writer/Director Christopher Nolan puts you right in Leonard's shoes. You live the story in reverse order so that you never know more than Leonard does. In one scene you see Leonard getting information from a person who knows him -- maybe a good person; maybe bad. In the next scene you see a previous meeting between the two which sheds more light on their relationship. Later still you see how they met. But is that all of the story? You've yet to find out... and you won't know everything until the last scene. By living it backwards, you, like Leonard, have no knowledge of what came before.

It's brilliant story telling. But you might get frustrated because you don't know what's going on. In fact, that's the whole idea. Just sit back, try to relax (though that's difficult in this movie), and find out just how twisted and complex Leonard's world is.

This film will leave its own memento on your mind, and you'll have a hard time forgetting how much you enjoyed it. At least, that worked for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember You Are Mortal, 2 Mar 2008
By 
Joe Cutts (Sheffield, south yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Memento is a truly complex and engrossing thriller, full of twists and ambiguous peripheral sub-plots which only the most observant of viewers will catch. If you can get interested enough to explore beyond the basic experience, it's as about as cerebral anything committed to celluloid in its depth and deliverance of narrative.

Leonard Shelby has a memory span of around 15 minutes (not a hard and fast rule - this can change dependent on stress) due to Anterograde Amnesia - meaning he can remember the past but cannot make new memories - as the result of head trauma suffered during an attack in which his wife, we are lead to believe, was killed. Now, with only notes and Polaroid pictures to remind himself of what he is doing, he's searching for the killer in order to extract revenge.

Okay, so it's an original story, and it's also really original insofar as it's a plotline which is told in neither a linear or non-linear fashion, but in reverse chronological order, however even beyond that (if you followed it) there's so much more beyond the confines of what we do see and hear, that it leads to an incredibly complex and wonderfully intricate story.

If you only watch it once and understand it completely you're a genius because it's taken me several viewings to get the entire picture. I was also lucky enough to find the "Easter Egg" (possibly the best Easter Egg on any DVD ever - if anyone knows of a better one, please let me know) and found that even after watching Memento in chronological order, it was still engrossing and deeply intricate.

The special features on the region 2 disk delve a little deeper into the history of storyline also, giving us some hints and clues as to how Leonard Shelby ended up in the time and place we join him, and even the special features themselves are cryptic and accessed only through careful examination, analysis and exploration. EVEN THEN, there's a great deal of symbolism (torn out newspaper clippings in the shape of America, references to the nihilistic nature of a life lived without cognisance of actions etc.)

It's clear that writer/director Christopher Nolan invested a lot in this, creating a story that can be disregarded as `decent' or explored as magnificent in its dimensions.

Top marks, and some of the best special features on a DVD, but I can also see how some people wouldn't enjoy it simply because it's not mindless enough. However, if you're an obsessive mind and the sort of person who likes to look beyond the surface, you'll love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 13 Jan 2005
Christopher Nolan's 'Memento' is an unusual, extremely innovative and most importantly brilliant piece of filmmaking. Guy Pearce plays Leonard Shelby, a man left incapable of forming new memories due to brain damage suffered following an attack in his home. The attack also left his wife 'dead' and this inspires Leonards motivation to live - to hunt down and kill the people responsible.
Because of Leonards condition, he is forced to make notes throughout his investigation in the form of tatoos, journal entries and notes on the back of photographs. As the film progresses, it becomes apparent that Leonard is facing a uphill battle to acheive his goals and is an easy target for those who wish to manipulate him.
The supporting cast are also excellent - Carrie Ann Moss as Natalie, a female Leonard befriends and Joe Pantoliano as Leonards friend Teddy. For many, it may not be a particularly easy movie to view due to the order that events are sequenced in the film - Leonards phone conversation is placed in between the scenes of the film which run in reverse. However, a feature on the dvd is a special edit of the film which runs in chronological order.
One of the most original and best films of the decade so far which gets better with repeated viewing (the ending will definitely leave you thinking). Memorable and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is one of the best I have ever seen, 2 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
This is not just a film to be watched but experienced. The premise is superb; the plot twists back and around on itself, each scene making you question what you have seen before. From the end at the beginning to the opening climax (you'll understand when you watch), the film is superb as you join Leonard in his quest to find the truth.
And a hint - I'd strongly recommend the DVD version so you can rearrange the scenes into a more logical order - this might spoil the 'flow' of the disjointed scenes, but it clears up an awful lot of confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memento - in depth, 28 April 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (New Malden, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Amongst cinema fans Memento has been seen as a true classic and rated very highly. The film has had almost a cult following and its complex, and twisting plot with hints of information rather than the full story ideally lend it to such a following. Much has been made of the way the film is told backwards, but its more complex that this. There is a narrative that is told in reverse - but at the same time another narrative that runs forward, and in the last scene of the film the two combine.

Given its complexities and the chronology of events Memento is a film that has to be seen more than once. Thus it a perfect DVD purchase. This special edition comes on three disks with lots of extra featuers, of which my favourite was the 'Anatomy of a Scene'. This documentary takes you behind the scenes with detailed information that take your enjoyment of the film to another level.

Overall this is one of the best DVD special edition releases you could by. Highly recommended to everyone and a must for the memento fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wicked film, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a psychology teacher and can no longer teach memory without this movie. It gets all students facinated in the subject. I love looking for the subliminal messages and hidden clues I spot something new every time. I agree with the comments above about the easter egg don't watch it. I have watched this with classes 30 plus times and never tire of it but if i could see it in order the beauty of the film would die for me.

This is a cult film for a reason it is genius I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star without a doubt, 2 May 2007
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm not sure if the previous reviewer was watching the same film as the rest of us as I (and most people) think it is brilliant.

The pivot of greatness that this film rests upon, and it's unique selling point, is the way the film flows. Yes it plays "backwards" but it's so much more than that. Each scene plays for about 5-10 minutes before cutting to the next scene, which again, lasts for around 5-10 minutes, but it ends exactly at the start of the previous scene! (Hope you're with me!). This is done in such a clever way and always keeps you guessing, even know you know the eventual outcome!

Not only this, but there are black & white "flashback" narrative scenes throughout the film which actually play in the correct sequence! The way these two styles blend together is truly astonishing. By the end of the film, I too wanted to see it again! Not only is the story/plot itself good, but it's the way it's presented that really gives this film the wow factor.

Give this film a go, you won't see another film like it for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monumental film, 11 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. RB FORTUNE-WOOD "Rowan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memento [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
Memento is the compelling story of a man attempting to find and kill the murderer of his wife. His problem is that he has short-term memory loss. The story is well told through a jumble of non-sequential vignettes, which reflect the fragmented perspective of the protagonist (Leonard). Leonard attempts to overcome his problem by constructing a world of notes and tattoos in place of memory. Leonard pieces together the evidence with his notes and as the detective mystery unfolds a shocking outcome is revealed in perhaps the greatest cinematic twist of all time.
As well as maintaining a non-didactic plot, the film manages to ask the important philosophical questions, how can we know our actions have consequences? Does the world stop existing when its not being perceived?
This is not an easy watch; nevertheless it is a highly rewarding one. All the characters are flawlessly acted by a superb cast that includes; Guy Pearce, Joe Pantoliano, and Carrie-Anne Moss, who gives a much better performance in this then her awkward performance as Trinity in the Matrix trilogy. The directing is first rate, orchestrating the complex parts portrayed so well by the actors and the filming augments the feeling of disorientation throughout.
On plot and delivery alone, perhaps my all time favourite film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memento [2000] [DVD]
Memento [2000] [DVD] by Christopher Nolan (DVD - 2002)
3.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews