Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent conclusion to the series
Firstly a warning: If you have yet to see both seasons of the Twin Peaks Series THINK VERY CAREFULLY before buying this. Not only does it give away Laura Palmer's killer (a twist that'll ruin everything up to mid-Season 2), but will make very VERY little sense (even for an avid Lynch fan).

For those, however, how have traversed the awesome TV series this film...
Published on 15 Aug. 2006 by P. Godfrey

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray dialogue inaudible
While the picture transfer to Blu-ray is fairly good, something seems to have gone horribly wrong with the sound transfer.
The dialogue is so quiet it is impossible to watch this disk in a domestic environment without subtitles.
The original film was Dolby Stereo, also known as Pro-Logic in home cinema systems, when decoded Dolby Stereo routes the dialogue to...
Published 18 months ago by P. Suthers


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Jun. 2012
After looking forward for a blu-ray release of this film for so long, this version is sadly disappointing. Not only are there no extras whatsoever (the coveted deleted scenes are missing, and even the documentary and EPK stuff from previous releases are absent here), but there are several moments in the film where the audio pitch drops suddenly for a brief moment, which is extremely distracting. I find it incredible that a release like this from a major distributor of a film with such a devoted fan base has received this kind of shoddy treatment, and hope sincerely that the error will result in a recall that at least corrects this technical issue. Until then, it's a very poor product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As fresh as it was then., 7 July 2009
Can't believe over 20 years have passed since I first watched this movie. I enjoyed it then as much as I did now. David Lynch is very much an acquired taste and this movie is a little more main stream than some of his other offerings (Lost Highways etc), that said its not for the faint hearted and is certainly more hard core than the TV servies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fire Walk With Me, 23 Dec. 2001
Pure genius, thats what it is. Fire walk with me is a must for any David Lynch fan. It uncovers the darker side of Twin Peaks and Laura Palmers life. It is set before the television show and the feature length movie. If you have not seen the series or the movie then fire walk with me may be a little confusing at the start. Its main focus is on the activities involving Laura Palmer, her friends and family and the midgit in the red suit. It shows you what happens in the last seven days of Lauras life and eventually who kills her. There are a few moments that are creepy and Davis Lynch has used these to create an atmosphere that makes you want to keep watching. It answers alot of the questions that the series and film make you ask, and gives a wider insight to Bob, Mike and there world. If it couldn't get any better, it does with an appearence from David Bowie. Fire Walk With Me is well in my favorite films and will hopefully encourage you to look out for more of David Lynch's works. These include films like The Lost Highway and The Elephant Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lynch Mob at its best, 17 Aug. 2001
By 
This is one of David Lynch's finest films. Considering the popularity of the TV series, this would seem a hard act to follow. As usual, Lynch doesn't fail to intrigue and push the envelope even further. The film does pander to those who wanted to see the last seven days of Laura Palmer's life, but it also sets many subplots in motion which were hinted at during the series. Fire Walk With Me is much, much darker than the series in terms of style, direction, plot, acting, humour and cinematography, and in many ways stands independantly of the series. The beauty is that one does not need the other. They are both memorable in their own ways, similar in some but extremely different in others. This is a classic film, not to be missed out. NOTE: As a suggestion to anyone interested in getting into Twin Peaks and hasn't viewed anything yet, do NOT watch this film beforehand. Make sure you watch the series in their entirety (don't forget to watch the Twin Peaks pilot at first!), and then watch the film. Many people who have only seen the film misunderstand many of the contexts and meanings, and don't get the chance to appreiciate it to its full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Certificate reduced to a 15?! Too bizarre for telly? Unsatisfying?, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where to start? With so much of what was (is) loved from the series missing here, is there any point to this prequel what so ever at all? Well actually yes. Now we can truly and genuinely know what actually happened to Twin Peak's prom queen. And is it too much to take? Sometimes, yes. Would it have been better left off a mystery? Possibly. Can I remember the name of the... I just remembered. Laura Palmer's last days on earth as a living, breathing human being. You can be sure of one thing, they won't be pleasant. Chris Isaak here impresses. David Bowie does not. Sheryl Lee is wonderful as the tortured victim / heroine. Ray Wise makes the flesh crawl in an incredibly unnerving, yet tragic, performance. But there's no appearance from many fan favourites and that's what gives this film a 3 star rating. Not bad just could have been a whole lot more. Worth watching. Essential viewing to some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Audio Issues, 6 Jun. 2012
By 
S. Milne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must agree with the previous reviewer. Good film - but there are at least three (possibly four) moments during the film when the sound behaves peculiarly. The effect is akin to what you might hear if you slowed down an audio tape. There is an example in the closing couple of minutes of the film when the angel appears before Laura and the music goes seriously wonky. Its clearly faulty. Would be interesting to hear if others have the same issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Normally I wouldn't give 5 stars to media that included ..., 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Normally I wouldn't give 5 stars to media that included incest and rape, but this certainly helped me make sense of the series. Dark and disturbing, this documentary sheds light on the perils of drug use amongst highly attractive teenage women. I'm on my second copy of it because my first one wore out. Although actually it didn't because it was accidentally stolen by a friend who I lent it to but I never asked for it back. In an unintentional act of revenge I did not return a set of cutlery he provided for a 54 mile sponsored walk we did together. But I did not let that detract from the overall viewing experience of fire walk with me. And maybe one day I'll get copy one back (which for reference had a different cover). I haven't even tried this copy yet. But please don't let that impact on your potential viewing experience of this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound Glitches On The 2012 DVD Too - Not Just The Blu-Ray, 4 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. J. A. I'ONN (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hi. Just to let you all know that the four-or-so sound glitches are also apparent on the DVD of Universal-Indivision's 2012 release too. So, it's not just a problem of the Blu-Ray mastering.

I'm thinking of ordering the Australian Region 4 PAL DVD, which also has the theatrical trailer and cast interviews as special features - but unfortunately no subtitles!!! I might wait to see if the UK DVD gets fixed and re-released first. You REALLY need subtitles during some scenes.

p.s. I'd have rated the movie five stars if it wasn't for the audio glitches. Sheryl Lee's performance throughout is AMAZING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Void of the Object of Desire, 5 Nov. 2008
This is most certainly a departure from the Twin Peaks TV series. Shot in a more distinctively Lynchian style with greater use of sound design and lighting effects the overall atmosphere is one of menace and nihilism. Those who appreciated the humorous touches and points of mysticism in the TV series will probably find the films brutal schizophrenic approach to the subject matter disturbing. Laura Palmer is a far more sympathetic and human character in this film than in the TV series where her story is told by others and a general sense of enigma is propagated regarding her status and the reasons behind her death. Fire Walk with me however is at its most basic a film about the horrors of incest and sexual abuse, but filtered through Lynchs twisted symbolism and narrative disjuncture.

Contrary to other reviewers I found the performance of Sheryl Lee to be excellent with what is undeniably difficult material. Trying to express the extreme mood swings and emotional turmoil of a person on the edge of psychosis is no easy job for an actress but her performance is both engaging and poignant, especially when the character reaches the point of resignation where death seems a better choice than life.

It is undeniably uneasy viewing and the cameo of David Bowie is really quite pointless, but perseverance and fidelity to the horrors of the Real (as opposed to religious obscurantism) will reap rewards for any Twin Peaks fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars After watching the rather dated, but no less enjoyable ..., 19 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After watching the rather dated, but no less enjoyable, television series, the expectations surrounding the viewing of this film were somewhat mixed.
Is the film actually meant as a prequel to the television series - preparing the viewer for the extended, but not conclusive, treatment off the overall story - or a sequel to enable a back-projection of understanding? I am still unsure, as I am about the place of the first murder and set of FBI agents (an interesting early role for Keifer Sutherland). The link between those sets of events and characters is weak.
The film itself has its moments of stark drama, surprising (after the rather coy television series) sexual explicitness, and, for me, failed to develop the wide range of major characters - something the longer two-season television series managed to do (again, did the film take the viewing of the TV series for granted in terms of viewer knowledge and appreciation. So too, some of the major motifs in the film, notably "dreams" and "the log lady" could have done with greater development.
An interesting exercise, but I am left feeling that a 20 episodes TV series probably deserved a more thorough prequel or sequel. So too, the Blu-ray lacked the colour and crispness associated with the brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me [DVD]
Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me [DVD] by David Lynch (DVD - 2001)
£23.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews