Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite adaptation of my favorite Christmas tale
Christmas just isn't Christmas unless you watch at least one version of A Christmas Carol, and this is by far my favorite. George C. Scott gives one of the greatest performances I have ever seen an actor give; he truly becomes Ebenezer Scrooge to the fullest degree possible. Scott can say more with just the slightest hint of a facial movement than many actors can say...
Published on 11 Dec 2002 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What the Dickens!
I showed this rather old film to a class studying the text for GCSE as I thought it would be a change from a cartoonish version. Anything to amuse and help them get to grips with it...This film being older than the students, now seems rather clunky and wooden in places but it serves a purpose.
However most of them don't have much idea of what it was like in...
Published 21 months ago by sherbert


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

125 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite adaptation of my favorite Christmas tale, 11 Dec 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Christmas just isn't Christmas unless you watch at least one version of A Christmas Carol, and this is by far my favorite. George C. Scott gives one of the greatest performances I have ever seen an actor give; he truly becomes Ebenezer Scrooge to the fullest degree possible. Scott can say more with just the slightest hint of a facial movement than many actors can say during the course of an entire movie. All of the performers here are excellent, bringing to life adored characters such as Bob Cratchit, Tiny Tim, and Scrooge's nephew Fred. All four spirits are remarkable, none more so than Scrooge's old partner Jacob Marley; having Marley's jaw drop after untying the burial cloth holding his mouth closed is an important aspect of the story and certainly does make an impression on the viewer. This is just one example of the moviemakers' faithfulness to Charles Dickens' original story; another would be the inclusion of the two miserable children, Ignorance and Want, beneath the robes of the Ghost of Christmas Present.
This timeless tale works extremely well on its own, but the unsurpassed acting skills of Scott make it almost more than real. The change wrought in him during the course of the night, as he changes from a man of crass materialism and unkindness to a repentant soul pleading for a chance to change his ways, is powerfully presented and really touches the viewer emotionally. The simple happiness revealed in the lives of Bob Cratchit and others are as heart-warming as the forgotten mistakes and pains of a younger Scrooge are agonizing. If there is any heart out there that is not touched by the goodness and courage of Tiny Tim, I don't even want to know about it. No matter how many times you watch this movie, it proves itself capable of bringing a tear to your eye, a lump in your throat, and ultimately the very spirit of true holiday cheer and Christian charity that Dickens intended it to convey.
I cannot say I have seen every adaptation of A Christmas Carol, but I really cannot believe any other version could exceed the quality and emotional impact of this one. No matter how many times I read the story or watch the movie, it remains a source of eternal joy to me. This is more than a movie for me; it is an important and necessary part of each and every Christmas holiday season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An little known christmas gem, 15 Nov 2001
By 
T. Roberson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
For anyone, like me, sick to death of the various americanised remakes - from the muppets to scrooged - this one will come as a breath of fresh air.
A genuinely moving retelling of the original story which also manages to remain thoroughly festive from start to finish.
The magic of this film owes much to the superb performances of not only George C Scott in the lead role, but also that of the excellent supporting British cast (Incidentally, George manages an admirable job of shaking his American accent).
This remains my all time favourite version of this classic christmas tale. If you only ever own one version of A Christmas Carol, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Scott - the most believable onscreen Scrooge of them all, 24 Dec 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
"These are garments, Mr. Cratchit. Garments were invented by the human race as a protection against the cold. Once purchased, they may be used indefinitely for the purpose for which they are intended. Coal burns. Coal is momentary and coal is costly. There will be no more coal burned in this office today, is that quite clear, Mr. Cratchit?"

Common wisdom has it that Alastair Sim is the greatest screen Scrooge, yet much as I hove Sim's work it's hard to shake the feeling that those who say it have never seen the 1984 television version of A Christmas Carol that garnered George C. Scott a particularly well-earned Emmy nomination (he didn't win, but since he wouldn't have turned up anyway that's probably no great surprise). Scott is absolutely remarkable in the role, actually making what is too often a stereotyped and blustering role into a truly credible human being. It's not just the best Scrooge, it's also Scott's best performance, at once both intelligently thought out and played with real emotion.

Scott certainly wasn't adverse to the taste of scenery in his louder performances, but he resists the temptation to ham it up with a surprisingly sensitively underplayed performance that doesn't go for the usual notes to play but finds his own much more convincing ones in the part. He's a monetarist who genuinely enjoys making money and just as genuinely can't understand the mindset that despises both poverty and the acquisition of wealth: it's a concept that's simply beyond him. He's not a joke or a parody but a damaged and misguided man who has to be guided back to the company of his fellow man, and you actually care about him enough to root for him to do so along the way.

Scott is the main reason to see this version, but not the only one. Ably directed by Clive Donner, who edited the Alastair Sim version, Roger O. Hirson's screenplay emphasises character over special effects, which are fairly simple but for the most part effective, only running into difficulties in the more awkward to stage moments from the novel like blanking out the Ghost of Christmas Past with her funnel cap. Much of the film is staged fairly conservatively until the appearance of The Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come, at once the most stylised section, and also the most touching, but it's a particularly handsome production that makes excellent use of its locations in Shrewsbury - a particularly appropriate location, since Dickens gave his first of many public readings of the book there. There's a fine supporting cast too - Edward Woodward as the Ghost of Christmas Present, David Warner and Susannah York as the Cratchits, Frank Finlay going a bit OTT as Marley's Ghost as well as familiar faces like Joanne Whalley, Nigel Davenport, Roger Rees, Liz Smith, Derek Francis and Michael Gough in smaller roles along the way. Nick Bicat's score does overdo Mickey Mousing the drama in a couple of places, but for the most part it avoids overegging it too much. Nothing in the film quite comes close to Scott's extraordinary lead performance, but for the most part cast and crew support him admirably.

Long available on a budget DVD release, although there's some detail lost in the darker shadows of the offices of Scrooge and Marley, Fox's Bluray is a big improvement on their previous DVD release, with a lot more detail in the faces that carry much of the film. Although this was released as a feature film internationally, the extras-free disc preserves the original 1.33:1 fullframe ratio. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A TIMELESS 'CHARLES DICKENS' CLASSIC', 8 Oct 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
'Charles Dickens's' 'A Christmas Carol' is probably one of the most enduring tales of all time, and very poignant story at this time of year. (The shops already having Christmas fare on show)
'Charles Dickens' was arguably the most talented writer of his time telling the tales of what he saw around him including things like the old work-houses.
The 'George C Scott' version is often hailed by critics as the finest version of this tale, telling the story of 'Ebenezer Scrooge' who through life had forgotten the values others have at Christmas time.
He was lonely, mean, and lived only to make money not caring about others or what people thought of him.
He is visited Christmas eve by his old partner 'Marley'(Frank Finlay) who had now passed on, 'Scrooge' is warned of visit's during the early hours of Christmas morning by ghosts of Christmas past, present and future, and is given a lesson and a chance to change his ways..
This is a heart-warming tale, this version is very well portrayed by some notable names of the silver screen, including 'Edward Woodward' 'David Warner' and 'Susannah York'
A pretty good upgrade to the Blu-ray' format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best - If Not THE Best!, 20 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
This is a superb adaptation. It is 'A Christmas Carol' as it should be - not some modernized version. The fine cast perform admirably - especially the leading man. When I discovered that George C Scott was an American, I was amazed! In this film, his English accent is perfect, and he is arguably one of the finest Scrooges ever depicted on screen.

This is definately one for the dvd shelf.

Best bit: Scrooge: (to Ghost Of Christmas Future) "you're devilish hard to have a conversation with!"

Priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas isn't Christmas without it, 4 Feb 2009
By 
A. B. Paine "Happy man" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Bought this because my video-tape copy just got worn out. Watch it in the week before Christmas, and if nothing else it should make you ponder on the merits of commercialism (especially at Christmas), reflect on benevolence, and get you in the Christmas spirit - if you'll pardon the pun! George C Scott is excellent, but so's most of the cast. I was initially unimpressed by some of the script - e.g. Scrooge asking the visiting ghost of Marley (like he was some expected mortal visitor) whether he can sit down, and when the ghost says he can, Scrooge, pointing to a vacant chair then says 'well do it then'!...just the kind of conversation one would have when confronted by a ghost (never mind the pointlessness of even a chain-burdened ghost sitting down!). - But then I read the book, and, with my apologies to the script-writers, found this very passage of dialogue in it! (Could this be where the expression 'what the Dickens are you talking about?' originates??!!) Notwithstanding all that, a great film and a great book. I'd also recommend the Muppets version too - Micheal Caine's Scrooge I thought was even better than GCS's albeit in a very different context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perennial christmas favourite, 16 Feb 2005
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
This is one of the finest productions of this Charles Dickens classic story about the miserable Ebenezer Scrooge being shown the error of his ways. He is visited first by the ghost of his old partner Jacob Marley who warns the old man that his immortal soul will wander the earth for eternity if he doesn't mend his miserly manner. He is also warned he will be visited by three ghosts, Christmas past, Christmas present and Christmas future who will try and help him avoid an eternity of wandering bound in chains. Initially Scrooge is sure the spectres are caused by "a piece of bad beef" but as the story progresses he is forced to face the reality of his life and to realise that he has a duty to his fellow man.
George C Scott is outstanding as the miserly, miserable Scrooge. Other well known faces appear such as Edward Woodward, Frank Finlay, Susannah York and Angela Pleasance. This is a film that warms the heart and never becomes dated. Essential viewing during the festive season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol DVD 1984, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I think this is the best version of A Christmas Carol. I was delighted to obtain it from Amazon as I lost the video I previously owned which was a tradition to watch on Christmas Eve. Great price and free delivery too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone who enjoys Christmas., 21 Oct 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
George C Scott is, for me, the ultimate Scrooge. I watch this movie every Christmas without fail to get me in the mood. It just wouldn't BE Christmas without it.
The atmosphere created by the scenery, the excellent acting and depth of characters capture the period superbly and are a credit to Dickens's novel. The casting is spot on. Frank Finlay is a marvellous Marley with his haunting voice. George C Scott shows the wicked humour of Scrooge to perfection with his ready barrage of quips and Edward Woodward excels as a jolly but slightly sinister ghost.
A great combination of sentiment, humour and good old fashioned acting. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAR AND AWAY THE BEST VERSION OF A SEASONAL FAVOURITE!, 12 Oct 2000
By 
So many different takes on Dickens' 'A Christmas Carol' have been made, but I think you'll find this one deserves to be at the top of the tree, if you'll excuse the seasonal pun! Clive Donner's superb version remains true to the literary classic, with a great cast turning in top-notch performances.
The sadly-missed George C. Scott stars as the miserly Ebeneezer Scrooge, so convincing the role was made for him! Derisory put-downs and sarcastic quips have seldom been delivered with such venom. Scott lends so cruel a streak to his character, that the transformation to good guy at the end of the film is still doubted!
A bevvy of Britain's finest character actors turn up in supporting roles - David Warner as the simple but good-hearted Bob Cratchit, Edward Woodward as the colossal Ghost of Christmas Present, and Frank Finlay as an almost comedic but very dead Jacob Marley.
The film was shot on location in Shrewsbury, and the transformation into grubby 19th Century London betters any studio effects. Every effort is made to transport us back among the carol singers and street urchins of the time.
I know people still claim that Alistair Sim's 1951 effort 'Scrooge' is the best take on this classic, but for my money, this is the definitive holiday movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Carol [DVD] [1984]
A Christmas Carol [DVD] [1984] by Clive Donner (DVD - 2005)
£3.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews