Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two classic films staring the great Vincent Price.
The Fly (1958) is a truly great film. The film itself uses implication to show the horror of the monster rather than graphic detail (indeed it is only shown clearly in one scene). Although the story is based upon a simple idea it works very well and the quality of the acting is superb. Not wanting to give too much away there is one memorable scene where the monster...
Published on 18 May 2002 by E-K-L (find_hate@hotmail.com)

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Help Me"
These two films are both frequently over-looked by people who only remember the David Cronenberg version from the 1980's.

Firstly let me say right from the start that I enjoyed both these films, regardless of any reservations I may have about them. They are good quality horror films of the 1950's. Overall I rate the first film slightly higher than the second...
Published on 5 Dec. 2007 by S J Buck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two classic films staring the great Vincent Price., 18 May 2002
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
The Fly (1958) is a truly great film. The film itself uses implication to show the horror of the monster rather than graphic detail (indeed it is only shown clearly in one scene). Although the story is based upon a simple idea it works very well and the quality of the acting is superb. Not wanting to give too much away there is one memorable scene where the monster tries to write a message for help on a blackboard while its 'fly arm' battles to stop it.
In my opinion it is the acting and direction rather than the plot which makes this film great. Vincent Price plays a concerned brother in law very well indeed and you can feel the sadness of the character as events beyond his control threaten those he loves. Patricia Owens plays an unfortunate wife who does what she has to do even at the risk of facing imprisonment.
This film is in full colour with a variety of subtitles and comes with an original theatrical trailer. Watch the trailer first - it sets the atmosphere without giving away any of the plot of the film. Simply great.
The Return of the Fly (1959) was obviously a lower buget film than the original, but it is still a great film. The main clue to the lower buget is that the film was shot in black and white unlike the original which was in technicolour. The film features much more of the monster and more Vincent Price (yay!). Set about 15 years or so after the first film the film begins with a saddening funeral.
This is much more of a monster flic than the first Fly film and focuses much more on action rather than upon the fight of a monster to retain his humanity. Although the quality of acting is still excellent and the characters are still interesting and complex one can easily see the original as the superior of the two films. Although there are some nice touches (such as the monster having to drag a useless limb behind it)the plot lacks the emotion of the first. The low buget can be seen on the man-headed fly which looks far inferior to the similar creature on the first film. Despite these flaws this is still a great film and in its own way a worthy enough sequel to the Fly.
The Return of the Fly is presented in black and white, with loads of subtitle options and the original trailer. The trailer is quite good but is a bit of a spoiler (although it seems to quote most things out of the film's context)and is worth looking at.
To conclude I would say that these a a great buy for any horror / monster film enthusiast.
E-K-L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entomological Thrillers, 16 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
The Fly (1958) is a great 1950s sci-fi/horror movie about a scientist's experiments with the transfer of solid matter from one place to another that go horribly wrong when he tries to transport himself and an unexpected passenger goes along for the ride. Horror legend Vincent Price plays a good guy in this one for a change and the excellent colour cinemascope photography makes this a visually rewarding viewing experience.

Return Of The Fly is a pretty good sequel to The Fly (1958). The action begins a few years later with Phillipe, the original scientist's son, all grown up and wanting to continue his father's experiments (silly boy). You just know the consequences of doing this will be tragic! Strangely enough this film was shot in black and white whereas the original made a year earlier was shot in colour but, like its predecessor, it was filmed in cinemascope and is still a visual treat. By the way, Phillipe is played by a young Brett Halsey who went on to star in Mario Bava's Four Times That Night and Lucio Fulci's Touch Of Death.

Language Options:

The Fly & Return Of The Fly - English Language with optional Czech, Danish, Finnish, Hebrew, Hungarian, Icelandic, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Swedish and English for the hearing impaired subtitles.

Each disc also includes an original theatrical trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Help Me", 5 Dec. 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
These two films are both frequently over-looked by people who only remember the David Cronenberg version from the 1980's.

Firstly let me say right from the start that I enjoyed both these films, regardless of any reservations I may have about them. They are good quality horror films of the 1950's. Overall I rate the first film slightly higher than the second one, because its in colour and mainly because the first film has a much better ending than the second, which is a little too Hollywood for my liking.

For their time both films are actually pretty scary. In fact the 2nd film has one classic scene where regardless of the fact that you know what is going to happen, when it does it still makes you jump. By todays standards the special effects are primitive, but I was quite surprised how effective they were considering we are talking about films over 40 years old.

The acting and direction is generally of a decent standard and the only area where the films sometimes let themselves down relate to parts of the plot which don't quite follow logically.

So overall whilst these two films are certainly not masterpieces, they are much better than expected, and in a few key scenes quite haunting. You won't forget the phrase "Help Me" for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fly & Return Of The Fly, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
I just wanted to point out for the people for whom this may be a deciding factor that contrary to the description above, these movies are NOT in French language at all and there are no French subtitles either.
As I was buying this as a gift for a French person who would've have found the subtitles (at least) useful, I thought I'd clarify this so that the same thing doesn't happen to someone else.
Other than that, no problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My oh my, what great Fly(s), 11 July 2010
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
I just bought this 2 disc edition then viewed them.
Picture quality is very good for both films, which are in widescreen AND both have true STEREO soundtracks. No special features...except the trailers. Horror/fantasy enthusiasts do not miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUT....., 12 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant films ....the BUT is for the description by Amazon .... this is NOT the 1986 remake as stated by Amazon but the Orginal Version of the The Fly from the 50s and its sequel. Come on Amazon at least take the time to provide a description of the actual item for sale. Note: There was a common error with the release of this DVD set, whereby the 1986 remake was mistakenly burnt onto a DVD, which had cover graphics of the Orginal Version Fly. Looks like whoever reviewed this for Amazon had one of those faultly sets. This occurred with me, and I contacted the distrbutor of the DVD direct and they happily replaced my DVD set and said they were aware of the error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two classic 50s horrors., 13 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
Great value for money, pairing the original Fly movies together. The first is the superior one, but it's fun having the 2 films in one set as one follows the other. Great movies- I have detailed reviews on both on seperate reviews of the dvds themselves.

One note of caution, these are the original Fly films, 58 and 59 releases. Amazon's product description reviews the 80s movies, so just be sure to check what Fly movies you are after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Original Versions, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
These are the first two Fly films and good to have them on DVD, however I really find it strange that the first film called simply The Fly is in colour whereas the Return Of The Fly is in black and white. Wonder if any film boffins can explain why the sequel wasn't also in colour. All said in done even in black and white for the second film makes good viewing and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good double feature of the Fly and The Return Of ..., 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
A good double feature of the Fly and The Return Of The Fly. Vincent Price playing the good guy in this however, where his brother experiements in the lavboratory and dies and his son continues in the Return of The Fly. Amazing has to how The Fly the first one is made in colour and The Return of The Fly is made in black and white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One has buzz, the other no sting, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
Peter McGarry (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] (DVD)
The original is a far more enjoyable and indeed credible version of the tale. The performances are agreeably serious and you can get quite a buzz from the final touching shot. But forget the sequel - it's appalling. And I can only wonder how Vincent Price agreed to carry on with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD]
The Fly/Return Of The Fly [DVD] by Kurt Neumann (DVD - 2001)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews