Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Is for Rock", as they say in the Czech Republic.
After the strange and twisted ramblings of Yellow Blues one could be forgiven for apprehension regarding the purchase of a new Rollins Band CD. But fear not, "Nice" is the real follow-up to "Get Some, Go Again".
Lots of thumping riffs, screaming vocals, and finger-punishing solos threaten to perforate your eardrums, especially if you listen to...
Published on 19 Sep 2001 by C. Verspeak

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why......?
Why is it that I continue to buy Rollins albums? I have them all and yet play them the least of any CD I own. The music is just well, standard rock fair for the most part, with only the odd storming tune thrown in. Live performances are again standard, and to say that Rollins' literary works are some of the most inspirational I've ever read, his lyrics for the most part...
Published on 28 Oct 2001 by J. L. Papworth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Is for Rock", as they say in the Czech Republic., 19 Sep 2001
By 
C. Verspeak "f*" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice (Audio CD)
After the strange and twisted ramblings of Yellow Blues one could be forgiven for apprehension regarding the purchase of a new Rollins Band CD. But fear not, "Nice" is the real follow-up to "Get Some, Go Again".
Lots of thumping riffs, screaming vocals, and finger-punishing solos threaten to perforate your eardrums, especially if you listen to this through headphones. This is a FAST and LOUD album. High tempos keep the songs moving almost too fast. One can imagine the drummer having a fit as he pounds out the rhythm and the guitarists try to keep up. Jim Wilson, himself a rocker from way back, thanks Hank on the CD inlay for making sure the band rocks and it is evident he does.
As well as the usual Rollins punk attitude there is an element of funk here too. "Up for It" and "I Want So Much More" feature female backing vocals (a first for Rollins?) and "Your Number is One" fairly twitches along, getting slightly lost along the way.
The production is more raw than on "Get Some..." and sometimes the guitar parts suffer for it. The solos are not as good as I think Jim could have made them but his loss is bassist Marcus Blake and drummer Jason Mackenroth's gain. Their parts are what drives most of the songs, accompanied by Hank's usual roar.
I have already annoyed the neighbours with his one and I am looking forward to irritating everyone else on the tube later in the day. If you see me jerking and twitching around in the station please don't try to stop me until you see blood leaking from my headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars funky hard core rollins, 2 Oct 2001
This review is from: Nice [Clean Cover] (Audio CD)
rollins just seems to get better as time goes on. some of the new tracks are very funky and will surprise old time black flag fans. the new band are tight and grove as well as rock out big time. if you like rollins buy this... if you've never heard any buy it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exactly what heavy music is at its best, 2 July 2007
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nice (Audio CD)
I could almost review this without even listening to it. Ingredients : one LA rock band, plus workaholic singer known for self-loathing. End result - pounding riffs with funk/blues jam, topped off with hoarse, frighteningly sincere screaming and unexceptional lyrics. Sounds like every other band that ever does anything from LA. But what's missing? Well, gas masks, milliondollarvids, and a rampant desire to franchise everything to death.

Rollins Band. All about The Music. Nothing else. Load in, load out, tour the world, and scream. He certainly doesn't stop though does Henry. Since 1999 he's released four spoken word CD's, four music CD's, two books, two DVD's, a VHS video, and toured the world three times - twice with a spoken word show, - once with his band. Workaholic is an understatement.

But to be honest, I really wish I could see a sense of humour in this guy in his music, excepting the much missed "Liar" from his old-era Rollins Band. The musical onslaught, a pounding unrelenting assault of sat-alone-no-girlfriend-music suffers from its unrelenting intensity. There is literally no room to breathe. And the lyrics? Imagine someone pointing the finger at you repeatedly for an hour without letting you say a word.

Excepting one small thing - "Too Much Rock N Roll" - which is the most violent expose of the corrupt, stinking corporate rock scene - and the one that bankrupted Henry Rollins back in 1997 when his former label collapsed. Sadly, thanks to record company politics, the track can only be found on some special versions of the CD. Have a look at the back and make sure it has 14 or 15 songs on before purchase.

What can I say? It's absolute brilliance - if you like that type of thing - and shows the teenagers exactly what heavy music is at its best - its NOT pop with guitars. It's NOT Black Sabbath with samplers and facemasks. It doesn't feature any scratching, rapping, or CGI Videos that ape old James Bond or Kung Fu. Just four men in a room making a noise, with their senses of humour removed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why......?, 28 Oct 2001
This review is from: Nice (Audio CD)
Why is it that I continue to buy Rollins albums? I have them all and yet play them the least of any CD I own. The music is just well, standard rock fair for the most part, with only the odd storming tune thrown in. Live performances are again standard, and to say that Rollins' literary works are some of the most inspirational I've ever read, his lyrics for the most part are, again, run-of-the-mill. Perhaps I expect too much from a man who sets himself up to be some kind of ubermensch, but "Nice" hasn't changed my opinions too much. Why....anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well alright..., 10 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Nice (Audio CD)
Some albums give some very strong images through their music and their lyrics and their feel. Admittedly, Nice projects some potent little pictures in the back of your mind and they mostly revolve around the following: Huge Harleys eating up long dusty roads; Mr Rollins being buff; women with the Rollins Band; Oil; Sweat; Suave; Clubs; Recording Studios. So the album is a cheesy, U.S.-induced release that sounds the way Henry Rollins looks.

This is an adventurous and somewhat pretentious remark, but... it's true!

Crudely, 'Nice' can be dissected into three distinct parts. 'One Shot' is a classic opener, in that it sets it all on the line, pulling no false moves. It isn't the most serious of rock tracks - roots are firmly in the leather-rebel biker rock scene and without an open mind it is almost laughable. This along with tracks such as 'What's The Matter Man' and 'We Walk Alone' make one segment.

'Up For It' follows in with funk in numbers, backed with the obligatory black backing singers. It's catchy and it boasts a catchy break beat. This and its carbon copy - 'I Want So Much More' - make the second segment.

And for the final piece to this release, there are those songs that are slightly more innovative and sharp. 'Hello', which in a nice way is reminiscent of the old hit 'Liar', is mildly addictive, 'Your Number Is One' also stands apart from others due to the distinct bass line and the cheeky fusion of jazz and rock n roll that is 'Let That Devil Out' is, well, different.

But it's all a bit tacky and Henry Rollins vocals are transparent and limited (the inlay states him to play the 'throat'). Nice is mediocre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wicked, 14 Oct 2001
This review is from: Nice (Audio CD)
yeh this albums great, every song's really good, and they range from fast pumping punk rock songs to laid back blues style songs. a brilliant album that u must get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nice (Ltd.)
Nice (Ltd.) by Rollins Band (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews