Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£23.19+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2005
Yes- There is the manadatory "pokemon-ness" of the film, it's a pokemon film after all but once you get into the story you'll want to watch it over and over again! Here's the story:
Molly's father is an archeologist ( well in the pokemon world) and one day he disappears leaving her orphaned; when she is informed of his disappearance she is given a box containing ancient letters- her father's last discovery before his disappearance (This is when the fun starts). The letters somehow end up summoning the mythical pokemon- Unown- from a different dimension!
These pokemon have the ability to turn Molly's thoughts into reality and as with every child what they wish for is simply fantastic! translating into some of the best looking graphics I've seen. As her thoughts change, her enviroment changes and the animators refused to take short cuts.
I haven't said too much about the story but I believe if you want to get this dvd - get this dvd for the story- valuable lessons are learnt as a girl gets caught in a web of her own making in the quest to get her father back. It's what I would call a "heart-acher" instead of a tear-jerker. It's as sobering as the pokemon the first movie( if you thought about it)- deeper but less epic than the second movie and stands on its own two feets with ease. In other words- BUY IT NOW!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 17 January 2006
Overall looking from a movie point of view, it's not bad at all. As a fan of Pokemon i like watching the series, the movies and playing the games. I like the way the movie was produced and done. I like the visual effects, which some say may not work. But i think overall it's a nice family film, and i can't see a Pokemon fan being disappointed. But great to check out!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 13 August 2001
Pokémon 3 is on Home Video, what can I say? If you enjoyed the action packed movie on the big screen, then take it home on VHS! You have all the cuteness of the Mini-Movie, Pikachu and Pichu, and all the action in the full length feature, The Spell Of The Unown! I recommend this to any Pokémon fan who wants the battle of Entei and Charizard to watch at their leisure!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 8 October 2001
As i am a teenage pokémon fan i think that this pokémon movie is the best yet!, the short movie pikachu and pichu is good and quite funny as well, and the main pokémon movie the spell of the unknown is execellent!!!, i recommend that all pokémon fans of all ages should buy this best pokémon movie ever made so far!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 November 2004
This movie wasn't bad, but it wasn't a masterpiece, either. When it first came out i was looking forward to seeing it...
Personally, i found the movie too much like an episode, all battle - but if you love battle sequences then you wil love this film. The unown sing a rather eerie song, and i like the way they did them in computer graphics and how they made them move. The young girl on this movie annoyed me a little, though.
it automatically gets stars just for being pokemon, and if you are a fan, then get this movie, even if it's just for your collection. If you like anime and enjoy pokemon now and then, i suggest you rent before you decide to buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 18 February 2002
Again Pokemon manages to blend philosphy, morality, action and humour together in one. The mini-movie is a great romp to entertain all fans, espically the younger audience, whereas the spectatular main feature is much more serious and dark. It asks another teasing question - which is better? A life where you have everything you dream of, but all is fake, created from your imagination, or one where life is hard and cruel, where you may lose those that you love, but where the friends are real? This is the question 8-year-old Molly has to answer. Recommended for Pokemon fans and general Anime fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 July 2010
The spell of unknown
I thinck the spell of unknowns a little bit good its just that why would a girl wish to teriraise the world. Well near the end of mine it started to go a bit funny and its not my player.

Pikatu and picu
This short film was the best short film nothing wrong hapend. It was funny I thinck this is the only reson why to buy the DVD!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 20 October 2001
'Pokemon 3: The Movie (2001)' is by far the best instalment yet, of the pokemon movies. With a great storyline, stunning visual effects and amazing music, it's a great chance to meet all your favourite characters, from Ash and Pikachu to the amusing Meowth, Jessie and James of 'Team Rocket'. It also gives the chance for you to see many new amazing pokemon, such as the mischevious pichu brothers, to the mysterious unowns. This movie is a massive hit and won't disappoint any fan, of pokemon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
The reason for me choosing this rating was because this is in my top 5 Pokemon film. This film is the third installment (hense the third movie). Not only has it got the film, but also a mini movie, 2 movies for the price of 1. The value for this was unbelievable and well worth the cost. The main movie shows Ash and friends as they travel through the Johto region. A crystal catastrophe is unleashed and it's up to Ash and friends to figure out how to undo the damage to the certain town there in.

Ash's Mum is kidnapped by the legendary Pokemon Entei and it's up to ash to come to her rescue. Uncertain of what he'll uncover, he unlocks the secret power behind the turn of events which is a young girl whose dream becomes a nightmare by a pokemon known as the Unown. Who are the Unown and will ash be able to save the world once again, if like me, you would like to know, I highly recommend you purchase this item to find out what happens!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
I've been a large pokemon fan right from the beginning upon being given my first game boy colour and pokemon blue. Since then i have stuck with the series. I found myself missing the original Pokemon series and games, this is one classic that i had not previously owned or watched to the full extent so i saw the cheap price and obviously bought this great film.
Although the graphics and style are not as refined as the newer films, the essence of classic 'Pokemon' is there.

This is a great family film that i would highly recommend to fans of the series, game and any viewer that's new to the brand.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Pokémon 2000 [DVD]
Pokémon 2000 [DVD] by Veronica Taylor (DVD - 2001)

Pokemon 4Ever [DVD]
Pokemon 4Ever [DVD] by Michael Haigney (DVD - 2011)

Pokemon Jirachi Wish Maker [DVD]
Pokemon Jirachi Wish Maker [DVD] by Pokémon (DVD - 2006)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.