Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, great playing, great album
BFF had a (deservedly) loyal fanbase, so I guess many of them would disagree with me, but in my opinion this is a better than any of those released by the 5. A mark of genius in songwriting is to make the complicated sound simple. Ben Folds does this time and time again on Rocking the Suburbs, as almost every track features some of or all of: weird chord progressions,...
Published on 4 April 2005 by James Packer

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the Ben Folds Five instead
I'm a Ben Folds fan, so I got this album as soon as it came out, and there's great writing and playing on it and if you're a BF fan, you'll want to hear it, and you'll dig it.
If you're new to Ben Folds however, this album is nowhere as good as any of the Ben Folds Five records, so buy those instead. The solo Ben is being much more worthy and serious than the BF5...
Published on 30 Sep 2001 by jasoncarty@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, great playing, great album, 4 April 2005
By 
James Packer "jamespacker" (Chester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
BFF had a (deservedly) loyal fanbase, so I guess many of them would disagree with me, but in my opinion this is a better than any of those released by the 5. A mark of genius in songwriting is to make the complicated sound simple. Ben Folds does this time and time again on Rocking the Suburbs, as almost every track features some of or all of: weird chord progressions, modulation, huge wall-of-sound harmonies, intricate rhythms and awesome musicianship. The fact that it all fits together so seamlessly, that it sounds so organic and un-contrived indicates that this is a masterpiece.
The range of songs is fantastic. Many sound similar to his songs whilst with the band, such as Gone and The Ascent of Stan. However, it is on the barer, more stripped down songs where this album really comes into it's own. Still Fighting It, Fred Jones Part II and The Luckiest are three of the most gorgeous, heartrending songs you will ever hear. In particular, The Luckiest is love captured in musical form, and you would have to be dead inside not to empathise with the ache in his voice as Folds imagines never meeting his true love.
Any song I haven't mentioned is still an absolute gem, there is simply no filler on the album. The title track is often slated, given it is not typical Ben Folds fodder, but it is very tongue in cheeky and hugely catchy, and difficult not to like. The first two songs sound lighter, and have a distinctly pop edge to them, but again have hooks to spare, and taken in conjunction with track 3 provide one of the best openings to a record I've ever heard.
His next solo effort is imminent, so fingers crossed for more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More majestic song-writing and pyrotechnic piano playing!, 17 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
A terrific album! It's as if there never was a Five, or Three or Two for that matter. It's clear that it's really only been Ben Folds One.
This is emminently listenable and driven by the strength of Folds piano playing - in one breath delicate, moving and soaring, in the next aggressively punctuating his sardonic and humourous lyrics. The lyrics are honest and human. Folds speaks to us like only a handful of extraordinarily gifted song-writers: Colin Moulding and Andy Partridge of XTC, the guy from the Eels, Lloyd Cole and, I'm ashamed to admit it, but early Billy Joel from the 70s.
Gotta agree with Amazon reviewer; there's not enough good pop/rock out there that's got the piano as its centrepiece.
Personal faves amongst these tracks is Annie Waits, Still Fighting It, The Ascent Of Stan and Losing Lisa. But really there's not a bad song here.
This is a ultimately a personal and triumphant record that deserves to be added to your collection.
It would be great to hear this on radio. Radio 2 or even Xfm, are you listening?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent album from Ben Fold-Pianist extraordinare!, 6 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
This is by far the best record I have heard this year. Although I have always liked the "5", I found this album ensured that I became a real fan. Every song on this record is nothing short of fantastic, from the superb "Annie waits" to the beautiful, sad "Luckiest". Every track on this album has its own story, and each is excellent in its own right. Particular stand out tracks include the first track "Annie Waits", "Zak and Sara", and "Fred Jones II", the sequel to "Cigarette" on "Whatever and ever Amen" (an excellent Ben Folds 5 album). The title track "Rockin' the suburbs" is far from weak, and is an excellent break from the (beautiful) melancholy that consists most of the rest of the album. On first listen it comes across as an technically superb album, with some excellent hum along tunes. After a few listens, however, you begin to pick up the lyrics and see where its real genius lies. I would recommened this Cd to anyone, from existing ben folds fans to people who've never heard anything by him before but want something a bit different- and will surely become fans after listening to this record. I cannot recommened this album enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely stonking CD!, 20 Feb 2005
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
Compared to the Ben Folds Five records this is very much a studio album. This isn't the sometimes raw sound of his old band, this is the sound of a brilliant musician buffing a great set of songs until they positively shine. It's kind of cruel to point it out, but on this showing Ben Folds doesn't miss his ex-bandmates. He plays most of the instruments on this CD and demonstrates a mastery of them all. Even more than his work with BFF these songs have a personal touch and power than can really strike home. But above all, this collections of songs demonstrate that Ben Folds is a gifted composer and he can still rock a piano like no other
I'm loathed to pick a favourite ("Still Fighting It") and honestly can't pick a weakest track. There are no fillers here! Yes, the title track is a bit of a joke as Ben has a dig at American angst rock (despite what some bizarrely say in other reviews here, he's not talking about himself), but it's still a great track!
If you loved Ben Folds Five you'll more than likely love this. Personally I think it's every bit as strong as BFF's amazing first album. Ben Folds can and has gone on from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant debut from top pop writer, 14 Jun 2005
By 
B. Marwood (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
Having established a reputation as a talented writer of pop songs with his former outfit Ben Folds Five, Folds' debut solo album may take some people by surprise with its tender nature. 'Rockin the Suburbs' is essentially a collection of songs about personal anguish, from the girl waiting patiently for her date who never shows (Annie Waits), through to tales of religious exploitation (Not The Same) and unstable girls reliant on other people (Carrying Cathy). These songs are all light in sound, piano-led ballads most reminiscent of old BF5 songs like 'Brick', for some this will be a disappointment and certainly the first time I heard it I didn't find it instantly accessible.
On first play though there is one standout track, as just as the songs of one-night stands with girls who look like Axl Rose seem firmly in his past, Folds returns to familiar pop ground with the title track 'Rockin' the Suburbs'. Upbeat and poppy, with guitars and synthesisers, Folds offers a biting critique of the noticeably less talented of today's top stars. Although he doesn't name names, the remarkably clever styles of songwriting make it obvious who he's taken aim at: "Dunno how much I can take/Give me something I can break" is a good line, as Folds imitates thoroughly-whinging nu-metal meathead Fred Durst, and the bass solo at the end clearly takes a chunk out of KoRn. As all this is going on, Ben even manages to namecheck the people who *are* worthy of credit (Quiet Riot, Michael Jackson, Jon Bon Jovi).
To say that the best track on the album harks back to BF5 days should not take anything away from the rest of the album. Once you've heard the album through a couple of times, there are 5 or 6 brilliant songs here they just take time to grow on you, and I would easily recommend it to any Ben Folds Five fans or anyone into piano-led music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I heard this album and was "Not The Same" again..., 14 April 2009
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
OK, I'll put my cards on the table. For me, "Rockin' The Suburbs" is one of the greatest albums ever made. It remains one of the most loved and most played albums in my collection of thousands. I first discovered Ben Folds when the debut "Ben Folds Five" album came out and I heard "Where's Summer B." on the radio, bought the parent album and loved it. Since then, I have followed Ben's career closely and nothing has touched my life nor impressed me as much as this absolutely amazing album.

Performed largely by Ben himself, with only a couple of musicians adding cello, guitar and vocals to a handful of the songs, Ben's first solo album proper since leaving the Five behind is a masterpiece. It's excellently produced as well. From the sound of the piano lid opening before the first chords of "Annie Waits" to the last few notes of "The Luckiest", this is the sound of an artist exercising complete creative freedom, singing from the heart and making perhaps his most expressive album to date.

It is very difficult to pick out the best moments of this album. How can you choose between the beautiful, creative and yet heartbreakingly sad music and lyrics of "Carrying Cathy", the maddeningly brilliant piano solo of "Fired", the tremendously catchy "Losing Lisa", the kooky, fantastically-written tale of freshly-found-love of "Zak and Sara", the hilarious "Not The Same" or the tender, very human song dedicated to his Son, "Still Fighting It"? You know, I could go on, they`re all incredible songs. There's probably only one song on this album I don't absolutely love and that's "The Ascent Of Stan" - and that's merely rather ordinary, rather than being a bad song.

Nearly everything on this album speaks to me. "The Luckiest" is probably one of the greatest and yet most unusual love songs ever written. For me, Ben writes best when he's happy, when he is in love with love and life itself. His writing is at its most powerful when he attempts to convey joy, sadness and tragedy to us. This album is packed full of humour ("Fired" and the great title track, for example) and yet there's no evidence of the overtly sarcastic or near-nasty Ben which sometimes makes listening to his work uncomfortable and provokes my girlfriend into calling him a jerk. "Rockin' The Suburbs" is about as close to a perfect album I've ever heard - and you should hear it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and fair, but im a fan of the legend Ben, 15 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
Well, with this its "As you were". Not a great deal different from the Ben Folds Five days, which i suppose is for the best, they were superb, as is this.
Its solid piano effect from track one, through to the end, rarely varying from a well worked formula, until the title track Rockin' The Suburbs, which is almost off the wall, adn as good as a kick in the teeth at 'rap homies'.
The mood of the CD goes from happy and upbeat, Annie Waits, through to sad, mellow and reflective, The luckiest. It also seems to go through all the emotions in between.
This CD's taken up residency in my CD player, one of the best Cd's ive heard for a long time, so crack one open for Ben.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Folds is a music legend, 18 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
Any fears that the sad split of BFF would be for the worse are totally dispelled by this masterpiece of an album. With little more than his voice and a piano, Folds creates 12 entirely different tunes and melodies. For slow, sentimental ballads look to 'The Luckiest' and 'Still Fighting It', while strains of the late BFF are present in the title track 'Rockin the Suburbs' and 'The Ascent of Stan'. 'Gone' and 'Fired' are two of the strongest tracks but none of the 12 dissapoint. Rarely has an entire album been so warming to the ears. If this album was any better, it would be TOO good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' the Suburbs Indeed!, 10 Aug 2001
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
Ben Folds' clear mastery of songwriting is evident in this beautiful debut ('Fear of Pop' not withstanding). The music is a balanced mixture of the personal bitter-sweet lyrics and melodies that were the Trademark of Ben Folds Five and 'Rocked-up' potential pop classics that demonstrate his keen understanding of the audience. Tracks like 'Gone' and 'Not the same' could well be Folds' Finest works. With help from the likes of John Mark Painter (of 'Fleming and John') and the frontman from Cake, John McCrea.
Believe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few slices of musical genius here..., 18 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rockin' The Suburbs (Audio CD)
I didn't know exactly what to expect of this album, only having heard the title track on the radio. This is a great tune, but it only contributes to an absolutely wonderful album! If you appreciate song writing as it should be, buy this album now!
The other songs are quite different from the single, but are similar in a few ways: clever lyrics, and expert piano playing. In fact, they all include at least a slice of musical genius! Personal favourites are "Zak & Sara", the brilliant "Fred Jones Part 2", "Not the Same" and one of the few songs which has every truly touched me, from a first listen, "The Luckiest".
It's not perfect, but I'm willing to place a bet here (not for money, of course - I only have enough disposable income for a few CDs a month!): If you like decent music, with thoughtful, and sometimes, very amusing, lyrics, you'll like this! So, buy it... now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rockin' The Suburbs
Rockin' The Suburbs by Ben Folds (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews