Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amos covers it up... with a nice yet distorting blanket
I might be a bit prejudiced when it comes to Tori Amos's music, but this album definately will increase the amount if respect I have for her. The whole concept of the album is rather unique: Tori asked 12 men in her life to pick 12 songs written solely by men about women for her to interpret. She looked behind the songs trying to filter out the women trapped inside of...
Published on 11 Sep 2001 by strangelittlegirls@hotmail.com

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing in the long run
I really like Tori Amos, so I was excited that she was releasing a new album. It sounded like an interesting idea too, even though I'm not big on cover versions.
Anyway, there's some good tracks on here, and mostly it is a pretty good album to listen to. Some tracks however, such as '97 Bonnie and Clyde, are very effective the first couple of times but don't really...
Published on 26 Jun 2002 by E Parry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of haunting relevence, 29 Oct 2001
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
Initially I wondered why Tori Amos would need to produce a whole album of covers since she is such a cutting edge lyricist herself but then I reviewed her work so far and realise that in concerts she has always worked other writers/singers songs.
This album is a shock in that she has chosen such a varied selection and the premise is the woman's voice in these notably male songs ~ a good catch-all! but to me after the first few listenings, and you can hear it again and again and hear something new each time, it is a celebration of the brilliance of modern pop music and its relevence and importance to our culture. There is little other representation of how we think and feel about ourselves outside the popular song ~ a medium that says more about society than any prize-winning novel. Thanks Tori.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic songs Amosised, 3 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
Tori Amos albums are never easy listening. Don't expect that this will be any easier on the ear just because all the songs are covers. Each song has Tori's stamp on it and are often arranged in a way that is interesting the first time you hear it. There are some standouts, notably '97 Bonnie and Clyde, which is much scarier than anything eminem has ever managed. however, many of the tracks on here are instantly forgettable. If you are looking to discover Tori Amos for the first time, start with "To Venus and Back" - the live CD showcases her best work superbly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The least accessible Tori record but there are some gems, 25 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
This is definitely the most difficult and odd Tori Amos album created. I have never heard any of the original versions, but these do scrub up reasonably well I think. I thought the best tracks were the melodic ones, like Strange Little Girl, I Don't Like Mondays and Real Men. The rawness on Heart Of Gold and Raining Blood was a little overpowering and some just weren't memorable (Time, Rattlesnakes, New Age). I am sure this record will grow on me and it isn't all bad anyway. Her remake of `97 Bonnie And Clyde is a particular standout and if Amos had written it, it would have probably been deemed her masterpiece. The most difficult track for me was Happiness Is A Warm Gun, because I found it incredibly hard to listen to it for the duration of ten minutes! I hope that Tori Amos' next album will go back to her early 1990s days and maybe give it an extra touch (just not dance music!) Another covers album could bring her credibility down a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, not enthralling, 22 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
I have to admit I was disapointed when i first listened to this. I thought there were a couple of standouts, but that most of the tracks didn't make it as cover versions. But, this album is a grower. It's an oddity rather than a stunner and we have to accept it for what it is. But defintely one for the fans and for those of a feminist persuasion. In my view the standouts are Enimen's '97' Bonnie and Clyde' which is a considerable improvement on the original. Bob Geldof's 'I don't Like Mondays' is given a sickly sweet treatment which makes it far more sinister than the original. Tori's version of 'I'm not in love' is brilliant and brings out the vicous depths of the song. It really is a nasty piece of work. The final 'Real Men' is also really good. I think the rest is not so good, and the covers of Tom Waits's 'Time' and John Lennon's, 'Happiness is a warm Gun' in particular fall flat. But it depends on your perspective which is the whole point of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange Little Idea..., 3 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
... or a bad one perhaps. On this album, Tori covers twelve 'male' songs from a woman's perspective... and doesn't really pull it off. Other than the sublime Time, the stripped down Real Men, the underrated Enjoy The Silence and Bonnie & Clyde '97, a chilling cover of the Eminem track, Strange Little Girls meanders along, making little impression whatsoever. Get back to singing your own material Tori, you and covers just don't mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing album of covers., 19 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
This is the first of her albums that I actually dislike. In the past she has sung many wonderful covers but here none are an improvement on the originals. The main problem is that Tori sings here as though she is under heavy sedation or half asleep. Her voice lacks the usual sparkle and the album as a whole lacks the original melodies we have come to expect. Tori Amos albums usually reward repeat listenings but I fear there is little more to discover here. Hopefully this is a blip in her recording career. If you only buy one Tori Amos album buy any one except this and you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Nov 2004
By 
Ez (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
Tori Amos' music has never really been quite mainstream, and this album is probably for fans only. While there are some good tracks on this album, very few are memorable. One that is is "'97 Bonnie & Clyde", written by Jeff Bass, Mark Randy Bass and Marshall B Mathers II. The lyrics are from the point of view of a father speaking to his daughter after he has obviously killed his wife, and the two of them get rid of the body at the beach. The disturbing lyrics are accompanied by haunting strings and an eerily suitable military drum.
"Rattlesnakes" brings in the theme of guns with the line "a girl needs a gun these days on account of those rattlesnakes". "Happiness is a Warm Gun" continues this, and is a well-produced song. Voices speak of John Lennon being shot and the amendment dispute of arms in the USA, featuring the voices of both ex-President George Bush and his son, President George W Bush. Written by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, it's a bit of a lengthy track, and the addition of Bösendorfer piano (which is well-used in Amos' earlier work) nearing the end brings a lift into the music. Whether it's just a coincidence or not, it seems rather fitting that the song following that in order is "Raining Blood". This is a track that could easily be used in a film soundtrack, as in just after a murder and perhaps hiding a body.
The album has a spooky atmosphere overall, with very sinister and foreboding music and lyrics. But there are some lighter tracks, such as "Strange Little Girl" and "Real Men". The latter is easy to sing along to, with clever lyrics and a reasonably upbeat Bösendorfer melody, and is quite enjoyable.
The major downfall of the album is that the tracks are all covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The album that should never have been, 28 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
No matter how much you read into how it all came about, the reasons etc., it really boils down to the fact that it's a musical version of watching paint dry. I am a huge Tori fan but this album should never have been released, at all. If you want to see how it should be done then buy Tori's "Midwinter Graces" album, preferrably next Christmas as it kind of fits better at that time of the year. Midwinter Graces is an awesome result, combining traditional carols and her own twist on things but as for Strange Little Girls...ok, if you're pushed to spend cash on Justin Beiber then buy Stange Little Girls instead, it's a tad better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When i first saw the front artwork..., 7 May 2009
By 
Mark C. (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
....a voice inside me whispered urgently: "Run! Run! as fast as you can! Go hide in the hills and dont look back!"

well, yes I eventually came back to the city and listened, but now know that in fact, I do have a guardian angel

The pure GENIUS that lurks inside of her -and I really mean that-must have gone on a 6 month maternity leave while she was recording this

I hate giving backhanded compliments, but this CD.....
l y l, still
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strange, 4 Nov 2002
By 
ethan e woehrling (wayland, ma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Strange Little Girls (Audio CD)
I have to say I was VERY eager to hear this album , as i really like to hear my favorite artists cover each other.
Unfortunately the album is very disappointing. The predominant style of the songs is "the same song, but played on a piano". There were exceptions to this rule though - Heart of Gold being the most obvious.
I wasn't familiar with all the songs, and i have to say the ones i did not already know did not stand up on their own. The concept of turning a "man's song" into a "woman's song" did not work out, the several pictures of Tori dressed up as the woman from each song failed to relate, and unfortunately "'97 Bonnie and Clyde" and "Enjoy the Silence" are just appalling. The cover of "All the Madmen" by Bowie is also noticably abscent.
To summarise, some of the songs are ok, but most are not, and that's not good enough from someone with Tori's talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strange Little Girls
Strange Little Girls by Tori Amos (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews