Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail the Swedish godheads!!, 10 Oct 2001
By 
Mr. G. J. Pugh "pugler" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morning Star (Audio CD)
Morning Star lulls you into a false sense of security with its subtle piano led intro. Then it hits you. Riff after riff cascades out of the speakers, enveloping you in the awesome 'Swedish' guitar sound (back after a slight break). Every track on here is superb, from the brutal opener 'Chief Rebel Angel' the epic 'Bringer of Light', the sense of dynamics on this one is immense, 'Ensemble of the Restless' and 'About to Die', the band are faster on these two than they have been since 'Clandestine', right to the slow but extremely heavy closer 'Mental Twin'.
No fillers here.
If you're looking for comparisons then this is the closest thing to 'Wolverine Blues' that the band have released. That's not to say this recording is a regression, it boldly strides forward on it's with a true style and identity of it's own. If you liked 'Left Hand Path', 'Clandestine' and 'Wolverine Blues then you'll love this.
More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Metal collection should be without this album !, 14 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Morning Star (Audio CD)
Song one "Chief Rebel Angel" starts off with a slow bass and piano intro which is soon crushed by an eruption of power that gets this album up and running BIG style ! The song is an all out, no punches pulled, riff heavy mega blast of wonderful Entombed. You notice how LG Petrov's voice sounds extremely angry. It's a great start.
Track 2, "I For An Eye" is incredible. It's just so murderous and heavy. Jörgen's bass rumbling in the background, Peter's drumming is fantastic, the guitars are laid on thick and Uffe and Alex do themselves proud with riffs, licks and solos so brilliantly put together.
"Bringer Of Light" starts slow n' heavy, with a fantastic chorus of voices in the background as LG screams over the top. So far, so good !
Track 4 is "Ensemble Of The Restless". It is FAST !!!!! Wooooooo !!! I can hardly stay on my seat listening to it ! I haven't heard this kind of speed from Entombed since.....well.....way back.
"Out Of Heaven" is very different. It has an impressive main riff and one hell of a rhythm. It just grinds and pounds and is utterly brilliant.
"Young Man Nihilist" and "Year One Now" are both fast and heavy numbers.
By now you could be suprised. You'll have realised how brutal this album is. LG's voice is so angry and screaming.....the guitars are so crunch heavy.....it's almost like Entombed went back a few albums. There is so much of earlier Entombed in here, and yet at the same time it is a progression from "Uprising". It's really hard to describe.
"Fractures" is awesome. It is heavy riff heaven, with a glorious guitar solo and everything you could wish for in an Entombed song.
"When It Hits Home" and "City Of Ghosts" are fantastic - ten songs so far and not a dull moment. Every song is heavy, every song is filled with the heaviest riffs you'll ever hear. These boys are kicking my butt big style !
Track 11, "About To Die" is quite simply the fastest Entombed song I've ever heard. It reminds me of Slayer to a degree. You've got LG singing "DIE !!!!!" over the top of a complete hurricane of pure brilliant thrash metal. This is an onslaught. What a rush !
Final song, "Mental Twin" is another slow and extremely powerful song. It winds the album down beautifully, a masterpiece.
I'm serious when I say that this album took me by complete suprise. It is so good. It is so heavy and fast and angry.
A winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is truly a masterful piece of work, 4 Sep 2001
This review is from: Morning Star (Audio CD)
I already have this album and I know how great of an album it is. You reading this review should make an intelligent decision and purchase it and listen for yourself. Disappointment is a word that will not be in your vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album and superb artwork,, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Star (Audio CD)
Entombed's Morning Star is the finest post -Clandestine album in they're discography to date. The album first came out in 2001, and is a fantastic masterclass of death and roll:- with a light sprinkling of thrash metal. I find this considerably more energised, engaging and focused listen than the likes of "Same difference or Uprising" and it is certainly a much more brutal experience than "To Ride". I feel this album is much closer to the likes of "Wolverine blues" and also has a great mantlepiece of artwork to boot.

The album initiates with the immediate classic "Chief Rebel Angel" memorable and catchy lines are the order of the day with this one leading next into the perfect bloodgeon of "I for an eye", "Ensemble for the restless" gives a positive nod to one of Slayer's fast paced thrash metal, and "When it hits home" returns a sense of metal aggression and harsh riffs. The production I feel is a little bit light and thin, but the music inside is absolutely top notch. There is an abundance of inspired songwriting and charged metal sounds and ultimately holds it's own.

This is classic Entombed, and further highlights why Entombed have been such great innovators and genre pushers in the metal music business over the years, and it greatly showcases the excellent results that result when they get it all right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Morning Star (MP3 Download)
i totally agree with the guys below awesome stuff, class album !!! you will love this album from start to finish and you will listen to it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give it up again for the Swedish gods!, 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: morning star (Audio CD)
as always, the Swedish gods Entombed strike with the best release of 2001! A bit more Old School this time, this is their heaviest album since Wolverine Blues! pure aggression!
This album pretty much takes off where Uprising left, but takes a sharp turn to the heavy! buy or die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A vulgar display of ENTOMBED", 10 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Morning Star (Audio CD)
huh, this piece of music is just superb. the best swedes in the world never cease to amaze us from album to album with a new sound. This album's basis still lies somewhere in Uprising, but it still is totally different.... It's powerful, it's fast, it's in your face!! jewels like Ensemble of the Restless, About to Die and Chief Rebel Angel help us understand the new direction in which Entombed is progressing, while classic pieces such as I for an Eye, Year one Now and When It Hits Home give us Entombed's well known excellent groove. This is really a superb piece, probably the best of 2001, though tracks 5 and 12 are not so good in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entombed - Morning Star, 13 Oct 2007
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Morning Star (Audio CD)
Entombed's first three albums are classics and will be fondly remembered and held in high regard for a long time by metal fans the world over. For what its worth, seven albums into their career, I would almost go so far as to say that they have a new addition to their collection of classic albums.

Not to sound over-enthusiastic, but Morning Star is of as high a quality as any balls-out classic album. The music is incredibly memorable and the band seem to be in a particularly creative and energetic mood so ultimately Morning Star just comes across as a genuinely exciting record; the solos are blistering, the production is good and the vocals make LG Petrov come across as some sort of ferocious and snarling beast at times. It is everything one could want from an Entombed album in terms of quality, even if it doesn't meet a particular era of Entombed that you like's particular style.

The album opens up with 'Chief Rebel Angel,' an energetic song full of Devil's Advocate references, that opens up with an eerie acoustic twang and some brief keyboard before bursting out into one of the coolest and catchiest songs of the band's already impressive career. With the strong opener down, the record simply doesn't let-up from that point on. From the crushing 'I For An Eye,' and the explosive and instantly guitar soloing 'Young Man Nihilist,' to the slow and sinister sounding 'Mental Twin,' this album is an excellent and varied collection of well written, well produced and expertly performed Metal.

Overall, If you like Entombed this is really something that you ought to check out. It is chocked full of catchy choruses, brilliant guitar solos and crunchy riffs. The album is consistent enough to please the side of you that craves straight up metal and also varied enough that it is able to hold your attention with a good mix of tempos, timbres and lyrical tones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great album, up there with Wolverine, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Star (Audio CD)
A great album, up there with Wolverine Blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phwoar!!!, 10 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Morning Star (Audio CD)
just found this on my door mat when I got in from work tonight ... can't make up my mind if I like it more than Uprising yet, but it's certainly never been off my CD player yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morning Star
Morning Star by Entombed (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews