Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars53
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.76+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2008
How can this album have so few reviews? I'm astounded! I remember when I first heard a selection of tracks from the record on Radio 1 prior to its release. Quite justifiably I had expectations of something similar to `Garbage' and `Version 2.0' and so I was totally unprepared and yet very impressed by the new musical avenues Garbage chose to explore with their third studio album `Beautiful Garage', which is an album of the absolute purest grungy pop quality and easily my favourite Garbage offering to date.

This record might not be an example of Garbage at their darkest, but listening closely to the lyrics of many of the songs on this album you can tell that it's easily the most melancholy (themes of depression, suicide etc) and yet when combined with such unique instrumentation, resounding beats and rousing music the end result is something infused with a raging, positive energy and isn't in the least bit gloomy.

But then I felt it all went wrong with the tracks chosen to be released as singles and to represent this totally unique album. Track 2- `Androgyny' (8/10) was an obvious and probably a very wise choice for the initial single release- catchy, almost over-produced, but very mainstream. Where as `Shut Your Mouth' (7/10) I felt was just too obvious. It's solid, but somehow uninspired considering the exceptional variety of songs on the album. And then just when you think the record company will take a chance and prove to everyone how powerful a punch this album really packs- they go and release track 7- `Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!)' (6/10), which is catchy, but basically fluff.

It's the experimental tracks (and the best in my opinion) that really deserved to be released. Songs such as track 3- `Can't Cry These Tears' (10/10), which completely blew me away the first time I heard it- as close to a ballad as Garbage will ever get- it's a soaring, intoxicating, unforgettable tune. Track 5- `Cup Of Coffee' (10/10) is a slow one, I admit, but it's undoubtedly my favourite song on the album- haunting, touching, with an inspired final line. Track 11- `Nobody Loves You' (9/10) (clearly James Bond-influenced) and `Untouchable' (9/10) are classic Garbage, but with high production values they stand out in the crowd.

Yes, there's a generous helping of the good old Garbage we know and love, but this is still the record I always associate with Garbage at their most experimental, their most daring, and ultimately their most successful. It's also the most enduring album in the Garbage catalogue for me personally.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2001
This is a pop album.If your expecting the Garbage of old you will be dissapointed.If however you approach this album with open ears you will be reworted with intelligent pop songs with strong hooks in a contemporary production.The guitars are lower in the mix this time, but the new direction makes the album more fun to listen to.Though the album is not a masterpiece-it is surely worth getting into- that is if you like spikey pop....
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2001
The third Garbage album contains all the hallmarks you would expect - pumping electronica, wailing guitars, samples played backwards - and yet it trancends their previous work. Manson's vocals seem to have more breadth than anything she has previously recorded - from the whispery 'So Like a Rose' to the shouty ending of 'Silence is Golden' and everything in between. What the previous album (Version 2.0) lacked was a few delicate tracks, something Garbage handled so well on their debut album with 'Milk'. This new collection has several slower moments - the gem being an absolute masterpiece of a track with 'Cup of Coffee', a haunting tune concerning rejection. The usual up-tempo rock-pop tunes are here as well - 'Shut Your Mouth', 'Untouchable' et al. Varied and quite brilliant!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2005
I was very undecided about this album and the direction the band had taken with it at first and indeed, for a rather long time. However, I now appreciate it for what it is, which is a great pop record.
First off though, there are a couple of tracks that do nothing for me. Opener Shut Your Mouth sounds slightly forced and the lyrics are pretty weak.
Also, Untouchable is just terrible. The wah-wah effect used in the chorus just makes me cringe.
Apart from that, there are some excellent moments on here, such as the brilliant 'Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!)', the funky 80's groove of 'Till The Day I Die' and the moving 'Drive You Home'.
'Can't Cry These Tears' is also a song of note. Shirley uses a falsetto vocal for the first time, and it sounds like it could've come out of a musical. Still, it's oddly compelling.
Ultimately though, it's Garbage's worst album to date. That may make it sound bad, but it's only because the other albums are so damn good.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2001
When I first got my hands on this LP I was a little disappointed, it didn't instantly grow on me like the first two did - but I thought OK, keep listening. By the time I had played it a couple of times I was hooked. This is very like Garbage and yet it's not, it's difficult to put your finger on it, it's like their music has grown. The weakest link on the LP is actually the current single 'Androgony'. Favourite tracks are the opening belter 'Shut Your Mouth', 'Cup of Coffee' - with it's heart pouring lyrics which everyone can relate to at some point - do I smell a potential single here? 'Parade', 'Breaking up the Girl'. There may be a heavy mix of influences on this record from Blondie, Chrissie Hynde and Phil Spector but this is definitely a Garbage record and it's just beautiful!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2001
From the opening track "shut your Mouth" this album bites, grabs you by the neck and says "I'm here listen to me!" What strikes me about this album is a group who know what they are doing, Shirley Manson's voice sounds as beautiful as ever and the production is excellent without feeling over produced. Their is no lack of expirementation on the album as well, it's not just a group wheeling out the same tunes again with differnt lyrics, Garabage are a group knowing what they are best at but willing to change the boundaries everytime they do it. This was never going to be an album where you say "is this really Garbage?" But this is still a very fine album that begs to be listened to again and again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2009
This is my favourite Garbage album and probably their most accessible too.

They emerged in the 1990s as one of those difficult to pin down trendy bands that NME loved. Not quite guitar-based enough to be indie, not quite electronic enough to be dance, and certainly with the gothic-like crooning of Shirley Manson it could hardly be considered pop.

But the truth is Beautiful Garbage is probably about as pop as this band will ever get. There's the trademark crunching guitars mixed with synths and beats as per usual in the Garbage world. But the abundance of actual tunes is what elevates it for me. You could close your eyes and stick your finger in the tracklisting anywhere up to 10 and you've got a potential single.

And as many have already stated, each song is refreshingly diverse. I particularly love Cup of Coffee, downbeat, moody and haunting as Shirley sings of her obsession over an ex-love. Cherry Lips is electronica come cheeky pop and it's nice to hear an upbeat fun-sounding Garbage song.

Parade has massive anthem-like guitars with a singalong chorus that's absolutely infectious, sort of like a companion to version 2.0's "When I Grow Up".

And the closer, So Like A Rose, is actually sublime in its simplicity, a slow lone guitar that builds into a dazzlingly delicate explosion of sound. It really is beautiful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2001
Version 2.0 was a good album, Beautiful Garbage i would have to say is better.............
As many have pointed out the sound tends towards pop on numerous occasions but this certainly is not a bad thing. Version 2.0 had much of the same, Beautiful Garbage is a diverse experience.
Starting off with Shut Your Mouth was not perhaps the best of decisions, to me it is one of the weaker songs. This said it is also like the 'Garbage of old', angry and tough in sound.
Highlights on the album, of which there are plenty come in the form of the excellent Cherry Lips (the best song on the album in my opinion), the haunting chilled sounds of Cup Of Coffee and So Like A Rose, the pop sounding Untouchable and Breaking Up The Girl and the truly beautiful ballad, Drive You Home. Most of the album is good and varied. Till The Day I Die, Parade and Androgyny being pleasant but nothing to make them really stand out in an album of good songs. The few let downs come in the form of the sickly sweet, tacky Can't Cry These Tears, the headache inducing Silence Is Golden and the somewhat dull Nobody Loves You.
Taking Garbage to another level and with loads of possible future singles this album is a must have!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2003
While many fans wanted to hear a clone of their debut, I managed to appreciate the new album from Garbage for what it was: terrific pop with a hell of a lot of attitude. The ballads are more haunting, the production is more clever, Shirley's voice sounds better than ever, and the tunes stand up to the test of time. 'Cherry Lips' is innovative both lyrically and musically, 'Can't Cry These Tears' is majestic and empowering, and 'Cup of Coffee' is eerie and encapsulating. 'Parade' is a windswep, pulsating rollercoaster which instantly energises you; 'Nobody Loves You' on the other hand, is a much slower, chilling rollercoaster which takes devious twists and turns as Shirley preaches doom and gloom before wailing like a banshee. Perhaps the best song however is the magnificent 'Silence Is Golden' which, with its crashing guitars, is possibly their best ever 'angry' song. The range of styles, subjects and instruments contained on this LP makes this an enthralling album which is very enjoyable to listen to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2001
This album is without doubt the band's best yet !(and I consider the previous album to be full of top quality songs) The content is brilliantly well balanced "Shut Your Mouth" -strong punchy opener, "Androgyny" staccatto start -leading to a must-play-again chorus, "Cup Of Coffee" (my favourite track)-gorgeously sad ballad -Shirley has searched her very soul to produce these achingly moving lyrics. "Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go)" happy-go-lucky number. "Untouchable" -tango-style with a wonderful back beat to it and the last track -"So Like A Rose " -again Shirley has come up with some powerful lyrics -this one's about the death of a child. If you like any of garbage's previous work -you will adore this one -a must buy.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)