Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lara's back!
This is the best Tomb Raider game ever. I bought this following the purchase of Tomb Raider 3. TR2 comes in one of the best 10 games ever. It combines adventure elements with action and features some of the coolest weapons I've ever seen in a game. The pleasure in blowing apart a T-Rex by shooting two grenades at it from the grenade launcher is unmatchable. For some...
Published on 6 May 2003 by sam solomi

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tomb Raider, yet again
It's Tomb Raider. The sequel to the original classic includes much in the way of similar gameplay, although there are some absolutely fiendish puzzles!
I would recommend that you do not buy this game if you already own any other Tomb Raider game as the content is much the same (jump, roll, land, swing, miss ledge, fall, die, load ...) as any of the others in the...
Published on 19 Aug 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lara's back!, 6 May 2003
By 
This review is from: Tomb Raider II (DVD Packaging) (Video Game)
This is the best Tomb Raider game ever. I bought this following the purchase of Tomb Raider 3. TR2 comes in one of the best 10 games ever. It combines adventure elements with action and features some of the coolest weapons I've ever seen in a game. The pleasure in blowing apart a T-Rex by shooting two grenades at it from the grenade launcher is unmatchable. For some reason, I keep thinking some strange forces of nature are going to bring this beast back to life!
GRAPHICS: This is the only significant downside to the game. However, I feel reluctant to make a point of this because the game was released atleast 5 years ago. Don't get me wrong, the graphics engine is not so bad that it will ruin gameplay, but I would love it if Eidos could release a patch to solve this.
GAMEPLAY: First of all, the weapons are great as as mentioned earlier. They range from Lara's trademark (but rather pathetic) pistols to the brilliant Uzis and M-16s. Lara makes a lot of enemies throughout the adventure to use these tools on. She will have to blow away tigers, thugs, snipers and many more. Additionally, Lara can drive a variety of vehicles, the most magnificent of these being the machine-gun armed snowmobile. Using this, Lara will leap off mountains an even do a spectactular stunt into a ice-cold river to escape mercenaries! Something fairly important (that I have not mentioned yet) is the game's plot. I don't wish to give it all away but I will tell you that it revolves around a race to find a mysterious artifact. This is the Dagger of Xian, which gives it's holder the magical power of a dragon.
FINAL VERDICT: This is worth buying if you want to play a good shooter, adventure game, puzzle game, etc... Even if you a not a hardcore fan of Tomb Raider, buy it anyway - it's very cheap nowadays!
BUY NOW AND HAVE FUN WITH LARA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lara Croft Is Back, 19 Feb 2006
This review is from: Tomb Raider II (DVD Packaging) (Video Game)
Wow, this game is absouletly brilliant. The scope of Laras world is really brought to life through the Fun gameplay and interesting Locales. The game itself is massive and really captures the feel of Tomb Raider.
Gameplay
Lara Croft is of on another Globe trotting adventure this time after the Dagger of Xian. However rival forces threaten the excistence of Mankind and Lara Croft must draw her weapons once more and let loose. The gameplay is excellent. A great Mix of puzzling adventure and Action. From the very Beggining you are drawn into the world of Lara Croft, which is an immerserve experience. Each level offers new challenges and different Enviroment to explore. Which is great about the Game is Lara's Home or Croft Manor. Here You can stay at her country Home as long as you want to practise the skills you will need in the Field. Gameplay gets 5/5
Graphics
Im not going to comment to much on this, considering the game was made 9 years Ago the Graphics system is pretty good, Each enviroment does have an authentic feel to it which draws you into Lara's World. Even though the Graphics are not Great, that doesnt mean that this game isnt.
Sound
Excellent, even if its just the background sound effects or the Sometimes chilling Music. The sound system in TR2 is absolutely Top class. Each enviroment has different Moods, wether it being the sunny streets of Venice, or the bowels of a sunken Ship, or the Tombs of An ancient artifact.
This game is an absolute gem which should be treasured forever as one of the revelutionary games there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tomb Raider, yet again, 19 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tomb Raider II (DVD Packaging) (Video Game)
It's Tomb Raider. The sequel to the original classic includes much in the way of similar gameplay, although there are some absolutely fiendish puzzles!
I would recommend that you do not buy this game if you already own any other Tomb Raider game as the content is much the same (jump, roll, land, swing, miss ledge, fall, die, load ...) as any of the others in the series. However, if you don't, Tomb Raider 2 is probably the one to get, as it was made before the programmers got truly complacent with the cash-in-sequelitis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best of the series., 26 Nov 2002
This review is from: Tomb Raider II (DVD Packaging) (Video Game)
I own the first 4 Tomb Raider games and this is probably the best. The storyline is atrocious in each of them but this has the best gameplay and secrets. It's enjoyable enough, and linear enough that you don't really have to remember what's going on.
The good points: clever, imaginative, level design. Some good music. A good variety of weapons. The last boss is also quite cool! The controls are simple to use, and movement is fluid.
The bad points though: as I said before, no storyline whatsoever. Bad guys (ordinary humans with no armour) take ridiculous amounts of bullets before dying. No real incentive to find the secrets (each secret is a jade, gold or stone statue - the very hardest ones have ammo too as a reward).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tomb Raider 2 - PC Game, 16 Dec 2002
This review is from: Tomb Raider II (DVD Packaging) (Video Game)
This is a good example of it's genre and the game Tomb Raider should have been. Although not as good, both in plot and enviroment, compaired to Tomb Raider 3 and 4: it is still a contender. The story is slightly better thought out and the game runs more smoothly - making it better than the first. Whilst Laras 'guns' are still not yet refined (so they're still actually pointy) you can give Eidos a pat on the back for cashing in on teenagers obsession to be Indeana Jones and appeal for anything well equiped - all 500 polygons. Oh, and for making a good game. Plus you can buy it second hand for under a fiver and even less from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars this game sucks socks, 8 April 2009
By 
Paul Sheerin (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider II (DVD Packaging) (Video Game)
.when i was playing this game i started to enjoy playing it but soon it started to have glitches and flaws in it.the puzzles are very frustrating .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomb Raider II (DVD Packaging)
Tomb Raider II (DVD Packaging) by Sold Out Software (Windows 95 / 98)
£2.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews