Customer Reviews


30 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album from the heart, 19 Jan. 2002
By 
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
Whilst being new to this kind of music, I was amazed at the spell binding voice of this truely talented singer. Having caught Mariza on an episode of Later with Jools Holland I was instantly mesmerised by the haunting and intensfying voice that she has. The true power is evident in all the tracks of this album, but it has to be tracks 7 and 8 which are my favorite, moody, melodromatic and true masterpieces. I cant wait for another album of this amazing female artist and I only hope that she becomes better well known in the international market and not get lost in her homeland of portugal. A country that must be truely proud of this patriotic singer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect introduction to fado, 12 Feb. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
This album was my first introduction to fado. I bought it after reading a review of one of her concerts, played it once, and was an immediate convert to fado. I no longer listen to any other kind of music. Having seen her in concert recently, I can testify that she remains one of the greatest of the novos fadistas, and with Misia and Cristina Branco moving away from fado, and Dulce Pontes making only occasional forays into the genre, Mariza's is now the greatest female voice in the business (with Camané and Gonçalo Salgueiro the greatest male singers). This album has several great tracks, notably O Gente da Minha Terra, an Amália Rodrigues classic that no-one else, to my knowledge, has recorded since her. The live album has a fine version of the Amália standard, Que Estranha Forma de Vida, with some very curious phrasing. There is, perhaps, a lack of saudade and tristeza here, with more up-beat numbers than one might expect to find on the average fado album, but that may help some newcomers find their way. It certainly helped her win the 2003 BBC Awards for World Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undoubtedly the new Queen of Fado, 29 Mar. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
This is the CD that introduced me to fado, the most beautiful and moving musical tradition I have ever heard. For weeks after buying it, I had it playing almost round the clock: the initial impact does not wear off. Since then I have bought several fado CDs by singers like Misia, Cristina Branco, Mafalda Arnauth, and others, all of whom are quite wonderful. But Mariza seems to me to be in a different league, even Ñ dare one say it Ñ from Amalia Rodrigues, whose style she follows. Listen to the two versions of O Gente da Minha Terra to hear her pulling out the stops, and at the same time deminstrating her extraordinary vocal control and her ability to modify her performance to suit instruments and place. Notice, for example, the difference between the WOMAD performance (on disc 2), which is very upbeat, and which starts with a lukewarm audience ('Mariza who?') and ends with them shouting for more; and the main disc, which is more sober and employs a full range of fado styles, conveying a sense of saudade, tristezza, and anseio.
Over many years, I have enjoyed Edith Piaf, the Egyptian singer Umm Kulthum (one of the greatest divas of the twentieth century), and India's Lata Mangeshkar, but I have never heard a voice like Mariza's. Her second album is on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 10 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. Stuart Robert Harris "Vivir Con Arte" (Norwalk CT 06850) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
Mariza is an extraordinary figure who sings "Fado", the soul(ful) music of Portugal with a range of technical virtuosity and emotional authenticity that is breath-taking. When I saw her live in Bristol in the autumn of 2005 I found myself totally at the mercy of her voice and gestures. She's a masterful singer and outstanding performer. She uses the full dynamic range of her voice, from hall-filling to whisper.

Compared with the flamenco of neighboring Spain, fado has less sheer rhythmic drive and complexity, and less raw excitement. On the other hand, singing in fado is more nuanced - not "full-on" all the time. The instrumentation too is more delicate, with the standard classical guitar plus the distinctive, silvery sound of the fado guitar. Fado is also melodically and hamonically richer - it has tunes that you can hum, albeit with some tricky changes.

Fado em Mim has an excellent variety of pace and mood. I love minor-tinged, dramatic, sadder stuff such as "Loucura" (Madness) and "Que Deus Me Perdoe" (May God forgive me) but the lighter-hearted pieces are a delight too - the classic "Oica La O Senhor Vinho" (Listen here, Mr Wine) and Maria Lisboa.

DON'T BUY THIS if you like your music strictly Anglo-Saxon or easy-on-the-ear-mellow. But if you're willing to be enchanted and carried away to another world, this is just the ticket for you. Listen, and marvel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for something different?, 4 Nov. 2003
By 
Jonathan Hare "jonahare" (Oslo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
Some months ago I fell asleep listening BBC World Service only to wake in the wee small hours entranced by a female vocalist singing in a style different to anything I had heard before (god bless you Charlie Gillett). This was my introduction to fado and Mariza and may many of you share this discovery. This is passionate music and repeated listening reveals how finely crafted it is. I've recently seen her in concert and entrance the audience so don't hesitate - buy the CD and, if you get the chance, buy a ticket too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for your collection, 8 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
A must for all discerning collectors of fine music. This lady's voice reaches the soul, in turn it is whimsical, strong, throbbing and angelic.......The collection of songs on this c.d. gives her the opportunity to show us her wide vocal range. Fado is the Portuguese variation of the 'blues' - if you like 'bluesy' music you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my goodness!, 25 Aug. 2003
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
I only discovered Fado music very recently, despite having connections with Portugal. And my introduction was soley with Marizas album "Fado Em Mim". There are not many words i can use to describe this album, maybe prehaps fantastic, fabulous, outstanding. This young singer has an AMAZING vocal range and beautiful voice, in some songs (for example Primavera on Disc 2) my skin goes goosepimple-y at some of her fabulous notes! I know very little Portuguese (bar "hello", "how are you") but this is of little importance when you hear this ladies vocal talents.
I cannot begin to express how worthwhile this album would be to anyones CD collection, BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariza, 27 April 2003
By 
T. R. Smith "Tom Smith" (Belmont, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
This is an excellent young singer who has one of the most distinctive and expressive voices to emerge in recent years. She expands the Fado genre into the 21st century and she is capable of singing with both passion and pathos.
The songs she has chosen are a blend of delicate poetry (Maria Lisbona and Terra D'Agua) and longing (Chuva and O Gente Mina Terra). She sings them with the passion which resembles that of Edith Piaf and there are sometimes traces of an accordian against her voice which reinforces the comparison.
I have no doubt we shall be hearing a great deal more of Mariza especially after her triumph in the Womad Awards. Regardless of language she is a singer who will stir your emotions and is rewarding to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's amazing, just amazing, 20 May 2003
By 
MM CRO "miguel cro" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
words cannot express what this lady does to fado. she makes it so alive, mainly through her enormous talent. all tracks on this album are terrific, and the live (extra) c.d is amazing. I highly recommend this album to anyone with taste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 12 Feb. 2004
By 
MR RONALD W BRIERLEY (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: FADO EM MIM (Audio CD)
This 2 CD set consists of a studio CD and a concert CD. These have different appeals. The first is an example of unbelievably exquisite music and musicianship. The second is a jovial collection of entertaining pieces with a little audience participation. Accepting that, at the given price, the second CD must be regarded as a freebie, is there a better example of such a thing anywhere? All in all the 2 CDs form a 'must buy' for anyone purporting to have any serious interest in music. The first could not be bettered and the second could not be a stronger partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FADO EM MIM
FADO EM MIM by Mariza (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews