Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars79
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2003
If you are a big fan of Ken Dodd's music then this CD is for you. 24 original hit singles. It shows all of his best UK hit singles from 1963 to 1975 it is kind of an definitive collection of the EMI years and it is fantastic. From happiness which was a top 50 hit in 1964, tears which was number 1 for 5 weeks in 1965, promises which was a number 6 hit in 1966, to wherever you are which went to number 21 in 1975. Trust me costumers your money will be well spent on the very best of Ken Dodd. This is the only CD to find all of his original hits
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2004
The funnyman from knotty ash is 100% perfection of this album.
This will take you from Happiness to Tears in this wonderful of origional recordings.
Although missing ' Love is Like a Violin ' and ' Hold My Hand '7
and novelty recordings such as ' Come and join us ' ' Nikky Nakky Noo ' and ' We are the Diddymen' for an excellent price put this on and you'll never want to take it off
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2002
This funny man is perhaps best well known for his comedy shows which, alas, do not contain enough of his excellent songs. This CD contains many of his most popular songs from many years back and is simply lovely to listen to. Even if you are not familiar with the music of Ken Dodd you could not fail to enjoy this CD at an extremely good price. This man surely brings pleasure to so many and here you can appreciate the musical talent which has entertained so many people over so many years.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ken was best known as a comedian but in the sixties he made some wonderful, easy listening pop music and had a string of British hits. Very few reached the top ten but his style appealed to fewer people than the music of the Beatles and the Rolling Stones so that's no surprise. There are no novelty songs here - this is straight music of the highest quality.
He had three hits for Decca including Love is like a violin, which made the UK top ten, but those hits are not here. This compilation focuses on his most important years as a singer, with what is now EMI but was then Columbia (confusing, because the American Columbia label was a completely different label and is now part of Sony).

Ken's first three hits for Columbia (Still, Eight by ten, Happiness) were all covers of songs written by Bill Anderson, a top country songwriter of the sixties who also had significant success as a singer. All of them made the UK top 40 although none made the top 20. Of course, there's no hint of their origins in Ken's versions, with their orchestral backing. After those songs, Ken only had one more hit with a cover of a country song. Just out of reach, recorded by Patsy Cline in 1958, became a top thirty UK hit for Ken in 1972.

By far Ken's biggest hit, Tears, spent several weeks at number one in the UK charts of 1965 and was one of the best-selling UK singles that year. The two singles that followed it (The river, Promises) both made the top ten but there were to be no more top ten hits for Ken after that.

Ken's other hits here are So deep is the night, More than love, It's love, Let me cry on your shoulder, Tears won't wash away my heartache, Broken hearted, When love comes round again and Think of me wherever you are.

The remaining tracks are covers of classic songs - Very thought of you, Try to remember, Until it's time for you to go, For all we know, What a wonderful world, Only you, Somewhere my love and two Charles Aznavour songs - She and Old-fashioned way.
This is an excellent collection of Ken's music. If you enjoy other balladeers of the sixties such as Andy Williams and Val Doonican, you will surely enjoy this album.
33 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
Would not agree that these are his most popular songs so cannot call these the "best of" but still enjoyed it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
I simply love this, in my car, up loud and windows down. Not that loud of course. Mustn't upset the youngsters !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
A great selection of songs by Ken Dodd, some very well known to him alone, others not so familiar but nevertheless great to hear them sung in his own unique style. Ken Dodd is one of those performers you clearly hear every word he says, whether it be whilst singing or entertaining/ telling jokes/stories. The quality of sound and richness from this particular CD is also very good . I have found over the years that the playback quality of CDs can vary, not so here! I really enjoy listening to this CD and happy to gladly recommend it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
I like the kind of songs that he chooses.The type of music he sings is relaxing. The songs on this disc offer a wide range to choose from.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
some people laugh at you when you say that ken dodd has a lovely singing voice well this is their loss because of their prejudgment wihout having heard him sing just goes to show what a cruel world we live in when people only want to hear head banging music because all softness to the human heart has gone making them unable to appreciate and understand beautiful music long live ken dodd who said he is only a comic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
Bought this album through Amazon because my father wanted to hear a song he liked from many moons ago ,Love me with all your heart ,which was track 7 on advertised album playlist ,when the disc arrived i eagerly opened it to play my very ill dad this record ,only to find it is not on the reissued album ,i am very disappointed with this album and it would never have been ordered without that song being on there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)